We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have made us feel any more welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Hill House
Ranked #1 of 3 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have made us feel any more welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My sister my niece and I stayed at Church Hill House last weekend on a trip back to visit all of our childhood haunts. From the minute we arrived Susan could not have done more for us! After a long day we arrived and were given a very welcome cup of tea in front of a beautiful log fire. Susan was very friendly and shared her great local knowledge about restaurants etc. The rooms were cosy, warm, clean, comfortable and contained everything we could possibly want. Susan even went the 'extra mile' and taxied us to and from our restaurant, very much appreciated, thank you. We had a fantastic breakfast to send us on our way - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
36
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

From our arrival on a chilly September afternoon, where we were welcomed with tea in front of a roaring log fire, to our departure the following morning, nothing was too much trouble for our host Susan. Rooms were clean and cosy and beds very comfortable. When we mentioned we were booked into a restaurant that evening in the neighbouring village, Susan even offered to drive us there and back so that we could have a drink - service well beyond the call of duty!
With a delicious breakfast with lots of choice, I cannot fault this charming and friendly Bed and Breakfast and hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My mother, my aunt and I stayed at Church Hill House last weekend. Every aspect of the place and our hosts exceeded our expectations, we were greeted warmly with tea by a log fire and looked after amazingly well throughout our stay. The rooms are fascinatingly unique in their decoration; very homely and the beds were comfortable. We had everything we needed in terms of provisions and facilities and Susan was a wonderful host with great knowledge of the area.
Breakfast the following morning was delicious with an excellent menu to choose from to suit everyone's tastes.
A wonderful part of our weekend away and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I took my 90 y/o grandfather, father and I to Wethersfield, England so we could see Grandpa's WWII Airbase. Church Hill House was recommended to us through friends and we could not be any more delighted. Susan and Richard feel like part of our family! They were the most gracious hosts! We could have chatted for days! This 500 year old home is so unique and precious! I can not begin to tell you how wonderful a time we had with Susan and Richard and they showed us Finchingfield which is a beautiful village near by and introduced us to the Sunday Carving Lunch! There is a church across the street with beautiful grounds and graveyard. The English Breakfast and treats they served were delicious!! They even made me a rhubarb crumble because I had eyed it at the Sunday Carve the day before but was too full to eat it at the time. I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americanflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Susan and Richard are excellent hosts and we enjoyed our stay very much, Our guests from Moscow were highly impressed. The interiors are just brilliant and clean to a 5 star standard. The people in village are extremely friendly and nice. Great place to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushegh-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent a night here to attend a musical tribute in shalford for my beloved brother. Susan and Richard were so friendly and helped enormously with our last minute booking.

Nothing was too much trouble for them and they welcomed us into their beautiful home like long lost friends.

We adored the room we stayed in and learning about the history of their beautiful home. We stayed in the Oak Suite. we fell in love with the room and the fresh milk for tea and coffee was such a special touch. The bed was beautiful and the room so quiet. We adored Chester the cat and fel very honoured when he visited us on arrival in our room.

Once settled in susan and Richard privided us with refreshments in the lounge and we chatted for ages, really felt like my dream of a home from home.

Not having to worry about parking was a bonus, reserved outside the house. Wonderful.

We wish we could have spent longer with them but our one night went so quickly. Best sleep I have had in a very long time.

Breakfast was huge and absolutely delicious. Very relaxed. We could have stayed at the breakfast table all day.

Sadly, we had to leave. We will certainly be returning in the future and look forward to doing so.

beautiful and well worth a visit if in the area.

Room Tip: Both suites look beautiful and have individual character, on the website. Very hard to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CACGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

My partner and I spent an unforgettable 2 nights at Church Hill House. We attended a wedding at Spain's Hall on 18 November and arrived the night before. Everything was perfect from start to finish, right down to the weather.

The owners, Susan and Richard, as many reviewers have noted, were more like old family friends than hosts. We arrived very late (around 11pm) and were welcomed with warm smiles and cold beers.

Breakfast the following morning was delicious and the Green & Blacks hot chocolate was to die for. We were warned about the church bells, but they too were delightful and simply enhanced our village experience.

We stayed in the Tudor suite and couldn't stop talking about how lovely everything was. It's the little touches that made it all so magical: the wooden beams, sloping floors, log fire in the lounge and of course the secret mini fridge hidden behind a picture on the wall.

Our only regret was not having enough time to explore the local area. To be truthful, we could've gone out, but we couldn't drag ourselves out of our warm, cosy room! Hey hum, I guess we'll just have to re-visit. And d'you know what? I can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Show Prices

Been to Church Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill House

Property: Church Hill House
Address: Church Hill House High Street, Wethersfield CM7 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed a warm welcome at Church Hill House, a 500 year old listed house, opposite the ancient parish church and alongside the village green at the heart of an especially attractive village on the Essex-Suffolk borders. A choice of several restaurants within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Hill House Wethersfield, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing