We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Church Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Hill House
Ranked #1 of 3 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Memmingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife Sonja and i have stayed with Susan and Richard three times. For us it feels like walking into our own home. Richard's scrambled egg is "scrumptious".....I would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast, and will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
37
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived an hour early to drop off our bags before shopping at Freeport. Despite Sue being in the middle of cleaning the rooms, she welcomed us in and the attentive and friendly service began there. The house is a step back in time and immaculately presented. The rooms have an individual charm and everywhere you look, you find treasures from Sue and Richards travels..so interesting.
There's even a little fridge in each room for the milk! Hows that for service!!
We would divert to return here in the future and would highly recommend this beautiful place ..
A must do is Zafra Italian restaurant in nearby Finchingfield. Just ask Sue!
Breakfast is a feast to behold after a comfortable nights sleep, with nothing too much trouble! Best scrambled eggs ever!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked a night at Churchill House prior to a cruise. It was a wonderful start to the holiday. A very warm welcome, despite a rather late arrival. Lovely, quirky rooms with excellent bathroom, all spotless. We really enjoyed chatting to Susan and Richard before a very comfortable night's sleep and a superb breakfast set us up for the drive to Harwich. I should add that Susan's breakfast was superior in taste and presentation to anything the cruise company provided. This is on our list of B&Bs to revisit and of course to recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The Tudor suite is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent just 1 night at Church Hill attending a party locally, Sue and Richard were most obliging and even enabled us to have a later breakfast when they learnt of our possible late stay out until the early hours which was most appreciated. Its comfortable, full of character and we instantly relaxed. We will return next time we are in the area without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 1 night at church hill house as we were attending a wedding at spains hall.

Both sue and Richard are incredibly accommodating and can not do enough for you.

We stayed in the oak room - it was filled with character and we were instantly relaxed. We were lucky enough to have the one sunny day over bank holiday which meant we got to sit and drink tea in the gorgeous garden.

Our room had everything we needed and more.

As for breakfast.....this was extremely scrummy and Richard cooked the best bacon I had ever had and my partner certainly enjoyed the black pudding.

This won't be our last stay here, we plan to get away every now and again and knowing exactly what wonderful service we received here, it will certainly be here we will be coming back to.

Thank you very much sue and Richard, we will see you again soon xx vickie & lee xx

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kent_Girl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

What more can we add? We were recommended this B&B by the bride to be of the wedding we were attending at the nearby Gosforth hall. How right she was! An interesting 500 year old house, a warm friendly greeting,comfortable rooms and really excellent breakfasts.Susan & Richard have created, without doubt, the best B&B experience for miles around. We found everything of very high standard from quality bathroom toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and personal 'fridge in the bedrooms together with a supply of filtered drinking water down to a fresh fruit salad side dish at breakfast. we even had the offer of being driven to Gosforth hall for the function we were attending. How's that for service!! Thanks so much, Susan & Richard for a truly enjoyable stay. What a pity it was for only one night ( but hopefully not the last we will spend with you!) Angie & Ron, Michelle & Terry. Wheathampstead Herts

Room Tip: If you yearn for a four poster to sleep in it's available in the Oak room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked Church Hill House to go to a wedding at Spain's Hall just a few miles away. Richard and Susan were so accommodating and even gave us a lift back from the venue. The house is so unique and intriguing and the breakfast was yummy with so much choice and included lovely locally sourced ingredients. I would highly recommend Church Hill House :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katytravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Church Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill House

Property: Church Hill House
Address: Church Hill House High Street, Wethersfield CM7 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed a warm welcome at Church Hill House, a 500 year old listed house, opposite the ancient parish church and alongside the village green at the heart of an especially attractive village on the Essex-Suffolk borders. A choice of several restaurants within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Hill House Wethersfield, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing