We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of San Clemente” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best of San Clemente”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Palmazul is surely the classiest place in San Clemente, with lovely views of the ocean and a great pool. Staff bend over backwards to be helpful and usually succeed, if one wants to adjust a dish in the restaurant or needs something special, like an extra bed in the room. We four stayed more than a week and our nine-year-old was very happy here. Over-the-top honest, kind and cheerful staff.
There's a bit of a playground and swings as well as the pool. The poolside bartender is excellent. The menu is mostly seafood and it's all good, although quality varies from day to day. The beach at low tide goes on forever--we'd walk it for two hours every morning and there's always something interesting going on.
Didn't try the spa because the prices scared me off after the wonderful deals at Vilcabamba, but in the real world the prices are more than okay..
You can rent a bike to tool around the three settlements, San Clemente, San Alejo and San Jacinto. However, the bikes need some work to improve safety and comfort.
Palmazul is not cheap. You sign your food to the room number and our bills, when we got them, were out of sync with the menu prices and what we actually signed for. Be sure to sign every chit so that it's easy for the staff and for you to come to agreement. And they will. Just point out any discrepancies and they will be fixed.
I missed the hullabaloo of the New Year's weekend except for one night, which was pretty awful. There's nowhere to hide from a fiesta on the deck below as all the rooms open onto it, and the sliding doors don't shut out the racket. Noise went on for three nights, as late as 4 a.m., with a wedding, a birthday, and New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: Ask about events that will happen during your stay if you are concerned about night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We appreciate your review! you are welcome to Palmazul always!
Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    43
    12
    13
    2
See reviews for
72
35
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

The hotel is located on the the beach in San Clemente. From the pool you can walk straight down on the beach and walk as long as you want on this nice, quiet beach among local fishermen and seabirds. Every room has a balcony overlooking the sea.The rooms have a basic good standard and are nice and clean. This is our second stay in this hotel. We visited the Palmazul 4 years ago and many things have been improved since then. The food is very good in the restaurant with a nice view to the sea. The pool area has a wooden floor and a nice bar.Overall the atmosphere in this hotel is relaxed and charming, and the the staff is very friendly. 10 minutes walk from the hotel is the little village San Clemente, a typical laidback, authentic and friendly place. We will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked in for three days but stayed for six! We would have stayed longer but our flight back home left the next day.
Our room overlooked the beach and the ocean and we left the balcony doors open at night to listen to the sea - then when we woke up we swam in the beautiful pool or dashed down the beach into the waves. Magical!
San Clemente is a fishing village and it is fascinating to watch the fishermen pulling in the nets in the morning and the frigate birds and pelicans and the odd dog sharing the catch! The people are so genuinely friendly and I felt safe to walk on the beach early on my own.
I am surprised at the previous couple of reviews. The hotel was perfectly clean, the beds very comfortable and there are lovely loungers all around the pool. There are deck chairs and hammocks on the beach. The hotel does keep the beach clean between the ocean and the hotel but they cannot be responsible for the whole beach and the odd plastic bottles etc do wash up. The hotel is not brand new but everyting works and is well maintained.
It was a quiet time of year that we were there but when we went to the poolside bar a member of staff appeared almost immediately and mixed excellent cocktails.
The company who owns this hotel, Columbus Travel, are great to deal with and we also had a fabulous four days in their excellent Amazon Jungle Lodge, La Selva.
The food was delicious, the staff and service were very good and we are planning to return - soon I hope!

Room Tip: We had room number 15 but I think they are all good so long as they are on the ocean side of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We want to spend a little bit Holiday in Palmazul after a long journey, but we can't believe our eyes. A hotel, from the first view really nice, but the second view for example on the rooms were, that the Design is old, stagnant and it seemed to be grubby. On the beach there aren't any loungers, 20m on the left side finishes the Beach and there are houses. Also the Beach seemed to be Dirty. The staff were friendly, but the result was nonetheless: we changed to another hotel: Casa ceibo, that was great!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heikemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Me, Jessica Meza, owner of Palmazul personally received the beautiful couple Haessler Muller from Germany, as the day before we had a wedding at the hotel, and the guests were just doing their check out, so our receptionist was busy at the moment they arrived.

Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch aber Ich kann es noch nicht richtig schreiben und Ich war sehr froh Ich konnte ein bissche mit diese besucher ueben! so I explained them that the room assigned for them was not ready yet (because of the wedding) and I assigned them another one that was ready, our staff took their luggage to the room and about 5 minutes later they came to my office to say they don’t like the room or the place and that they wanted to leave.

I helped them to find another place, organized them to pick them up and offer them free drinks.

The full name of our hotel is Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa as our hotel is decorated with the work from Ecuadorian artisans, I understand it doesn’t look like a Hilton it’s because it has its own and unique character and of course not everybody will like our style.

In our profile I am attaching 3 pictures of the ocean in different times of the day, some are taken by our clients so these are not the best quality but they can show to our future visitors that in our beach as in every beach in the world the tide changes every 6 to 8 hours, and in our beach the water once a year can come up to the swimming pool! it is nature and there is nothing we can do about it.

Houses around the hotel, yes of course, no comments about that.

It is sad that the hour this lovely couple spent with us, waiting for their pick up, was not enough for us to show them all we have to offer and that Palmazul is not all about the style of the room but the charm of the people and the beauty of it’s landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente Ecuador
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The only positive rating for this hotel is the location, on the beach.. pool bar and restaurant was rarely open , drinks and food (if available) was over-priced, bartender didn't know how to make mixed drinks..rooms were okay but security was non-existant. Spa ?? saw no spa unless its the massage room with a massage table. Plus it was rainy season with millions of mosquitoes and the tennis courts were either flooded or covered in mud

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The manager was the best and it is right on the beach, I played my gutiar in the bar and we had such a nice time, I recommend it for sure!!!!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricacowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Palmazul and loved it! The room was very comfortable, great linens, roomy, and an ocean view off our balcony that was to die for. All the public areas are open to the outdoors, as the weather here is perfect all the time, and no bugs, just a gentle breeze. The pool, the bar, the restaurant with an accommodating chef, the beach, were all you could want, we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
10.4 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
12.5 mi away
La Piedra Hotel
La Piedra Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
20.0 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 14 in Manta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
21.0 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#3 of 14 in Manta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmazul Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Property: Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Address: Av Quito s/n | a 500 metros al norte de calle principal via punta Bikini, San Clemente, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmazul Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, a sun-kissed shoreline awaits right outside your window. Enjoy service that seems to read your mind, and indulge yourself in our superb Cocomar Restaurant and Arena Spa. Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa welcomes you with beautiful gardens and a mix of distinct architecture that blends seamlessly with nature. The rooms are decorated not only with products made by Ecuadorian Artisans; but also with a sumptuous view of the sea; as well as having a mini-bar, balcony, elegant faucets, and amenities from L´Occitane. The hotel also boasts a semi-Olympic pool, bar, hammocks, tennis court, and exit directly to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmazul Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmazul Hotel & Spa Ecuador/San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing