We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retreat in the Mountains”
Review of Tharnthong Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tharnthong Lodges
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in February. We rented the stream side house (Ngam?) that slept 6 people. We have three kids (13, 10, 9) and we fit perfectly into the home. The minute we arrived the kids were in the stream and exploring the beautiful property. We live in Bangkok and it was so nice to escape the craziness of the city and drive to the serenity of this lodge. Even though it is a hike from Chiang Mai, about 45 minutes, it is worth the drive. We ate most meals here and they even will set up a campfire for you in front of your house. There are plenty of animals to entertain the kids: dog, rabbits, birds, monkeys. The lodge itself was very "homey" and comfortable. The beds were nice and the bathrooms were very well decorated. My kids said they felt like they were in the movie the Hobbitt. What a great retreat for us, if we were not relocating back to the states in June, we would come to Tharnthong again. It was that great. Just a tip, bring tea and coffee to have in your room in the morning, there is a hot pot but no coffee supplies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here and loved the experience. The place is beautiful, family run, and a little sanctuary for both guests and the owners pets (lots of rabbits roam the property freely, as well as a few cats, a resident monkey which is penned, a cockatoo, and our favourite, a little puppy).
The room was very comfortable, although pillows were a little too soft, and the rustic style bathrooms were great. Despite amenities in the room being a little basic, we did have a flatscreen tv with usb and hdmi capabilities.
The food is good (especially the starters of chicken wings and pork ribs). Breakfast was decent. make sure you take your mosquiot spray with you and use at all times, especially at night. Even with protection, we still got biten quite a lot, but it was worth it.
A fab location to Flight of the Gibbon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlea2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Tharnthong Lodges was easily the best place we stayed in all of Thailand!

From the booking process to landing in Chiang Mai, Prim the manager, was responsive and incredibly accommodating. She arranged transportation to the lodges for a reasonable price and ensured we were comfortable with our room after giving us a personal tour of the grounds. As we had recently become engaged, Prim was even able to arrange for a professional photographer to come take pictures of us on 24 hours notice. The grounds of the lodge made the perfect backdrop for our special pictures.

The restaurant is a local favorite, which should be a testament to the quality of the authentic Thai dishes. Although you are miles from the city, they do not take advantage of you with the pricing (no more than 200 Bhat per dish). The restaurant offers traditional Thai dishes as well as a selection of popular Western meals, the "American Breakfast" and "rice porridge" specifically were our morning favorites. All the food we tried was excellent and the service from Patty was impeccable.

We stayed in room View Doi 1 facing the creek. The room was spacious and clean. We especially loved the "forest-like" stone shower. We also had access to our own private outdoor area with furniture placed to lounge around and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

WiFi was slow, but you are in the mountains. So be prepared to disconnect and really give yourself a chance to relax!

We felt safe throughout our stay at the lodges, which was very important to us. We especially enjoyed the bunnies roaming the grounds freely, the monkeys who were full of personality, and the parrot who assumed the role of mascot for the lodges.

Overall, we will be staying here again and recommend these lodges to anyone ready for real relaxation in a picturesque jungle setting.

Room Tip: Couples should choose View Doi 1, which is bigger and faces the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTechTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our 2nd visit n we are still loving this place. Stayed 5 nights here in choy doi house (good for 7 stayers). We are totally mesmerised by the charm n its old kampong style. Listening to bird chirping, rooster morning wake up call, insects sound, mosquitoes kisses, the postcard scenic, therapeutic waterfall sound, stream river running music, fresh air delicious food accompany by attentive services from the lodge team complete this place with a definite 'yes' for traveller who appreciate simplicity and nature.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

As most posters say, the place is surrounded by dense forest and A River Runs Through It ;)
It is located a 45 min drive from Chiang Mai city.
The rooms have each a distinct pattern/character. Ours was pretty large but some features needed fixing (electrical appliances), but overall, nothing serious.
The restaurant is serving good food. However, at lunch time, minivans dropped several groups of tourists, customers of the nearby Flight of the Gibbon, I guess. The charm and tranquility of the place suddenly vanished for a couple of hours.
But I would gladly return to try other rooms..
Forgot to say that the service was very friendly.
ps: construction works were under way; not very noisy but do not really fit with nature immersion; you may want to check for this if you travel by the end of 2012/early 2013.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kermit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

A wonderful location, nested in a small valley across a stream, this resort offer many different accommodations in houses of different size. Very nice stile with fridge, microwave, sat tv. A bit wet and old, but we stay in the middle of a forest. Internet very weak or non-existent. Very good restaurant and cafeteria, with good cheesecake and homemade tiramisu. Staff and manager very helpful an polite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angiud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We've had a wonderful stay at Tharnthong, undoubtedly the most beautiful place we have ever been, the scenery is so luxurious, peaceful and relaxing, every minor detail of both garden and house decoration is so tastefully studied. We rented the Tharnthong lodge which i think can accommodate up to 9 people, the lodge is even more spacious than what it seems to be on the pictures, with a lot of privacy.
Restaurant food was great too and staff was so professional, delicate and nice, just as Prim (the manager who designed this place) was. Many thanks Prim for sharing your paradise with us!
The children even cried on the trip back to Bangkok, so sad not to be able to stay longer at Tharnthong. See you next year for a longer stay this time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabbitlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae On
6.9 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Monkeaw
Monkeaw
#9 of 19 in Mae On
1 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mai Siam Resort
Mai Siam Resort
#1 of 4 in Mae On
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Sabai Sabai Retreat
Sabai Sabai Retreat
#3 of 19 in Mae On
11 reviews
0 mi away
La Bhu Salah
La Bhu Salah
#8 of 19 in Mae On
10 reviews
6.8 mi away
Malila HomeStay
Malila HomeStay
#10 of 19 in Mae On
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharnthong Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharnthong Lodges

Address: 99 / 1 - 3 Moo 8 | Huay Kaew subdistrict, Mae On 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae On
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mae On
Price Range: £27 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tharnthong Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tharnthong Lodges Resort is situated amidst the mountains in Mae Takhrai National Park. Surrounded by truly stunning and breathtaking scenery with clear streams, colorful wild forests and waterfalls, you really feel that you have arrived in paradise. The weather is cool every morning and evening throughout the whole year. There are fully furnished lodges and also rooms available to rent for any number of days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tharnthong Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharnthong Hotel Chiang Mai
Tharnthong Lodges Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing