We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tharnthong Lodges
Nearby Hotels
US$54
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Chai Thung(Doi Saket)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phurintara(Ban Pong)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Dao Retreat(Doi Saket)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
67
24
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
24
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbeautiful placechiang mainational parksmall riverstayed for two nightsrabbitchiangmai citybeautiful gardennaturegroundslandscaperelaxationsettingbirds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second visit here and arriving here I felt immediately relaxed, beautiful setting with the river running through the grounds and all the various animals and wildlife. The kids loved it. We had a car this time and also went to the nearby hot springs. As a place to relax in the jungle this is it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoffWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Wowww!!!
The lodges are located in a magnificent setting.
The lodges are spacious and comfortable.
Nature, Jungle, river, rabbits, parrot are the words to summarize this place.
The food and the service were excellent.
Very close to the Omega (Flight of the Gibbon)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It shouldn't be overlooked that Tharnthong has an excellent walk-in restaurant, open to non-residents. It's a lovely place to go. We have gone there a few times at weekends to have a good lunch and relax. The food is very good indeed and the service really cannot be faulted. The staff are friendly and attentive and will make you feel right at home.

(Caveat: This is one of those places that likes to bring the rice long before the main dish is cooked, so if you like your rice hot, you need to ask them not to bring it before the rest of the meal)

There are lovely surrounding gardens, woods, waterfalls and features to spend a relaxing and pleasant afternoon in, close up to nature and it's also 'child friendly', with the appropriate parental supervision. Rabbits run freely around the environs and provide great entertainment for young children.

Hard to fault this wonderful place and well worth a drive of 40 mins from Chiangmai city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photopical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest that was to long for us.
we booked tharnthong 2 thinking this has lots of privacy, but this room is on the first floor of a house and we did not know this. Fortunately tharnthong 3 was still free ( this is a whole house with garden ) and we moved there. The room was big with a big garden and beautiful view over the surroundings, however it is to expensive for what you get. we paid 2000 bath per nights excl. breakfast this is lots of money for Thailand standards ( we travel a lot to Thailand). The bed is extremly hard and the bathroom not very clean. However Prim the owner is a lovely lady who will help you to make your stay great. Also the rest of the staff is very nice. The food we loved! The garden is beautifull with lots of animals. During our stay they were having renovations and we were not informed about that in advance. i can recommned taking a massage, this was one of the best i had in Thailand.
3 nights was to long for us, 2 nights would have been better.
Overal we had a great stay but i would not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muhsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in February. We rented the stream side house (Ngam?) that slept 6 people. We have three kids (13, 10, 9) and we fit perfectly into the home. The minute we arrived the kids were in the stream and exploring the beautiful property. We live in Bangkok and it was so nice to escape the craziness of the city and drive to the serenity of this lodge. Even though it is a hike from Chiang Mai, about 45 minutes, it is worth the drive. We ate most meals here and they even will set up a campfire for you in front of your house. There are plenty of animals to entertain the kids: dog, rabbits, birds, monkeys. The lodge itself was very "homey" and comfortable. The beds were nice and the bathrooms were very well decorated. My kids said they felt like they were in the movie the Hobbitt. What a great retreat for us, if we were not relocating back to the states in June, we would come to Tharnthong again. It was that great. Just a tip, bring tea and coffee to have in your room in the morning, there is a hot pot but no coffee supplies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews