We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding location!”
Review of Tharnthong Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tharnthong Lodges
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went to this resort for my friends' wedding. They are from Canada and New Zealand do it was a "Western" style wedding. The staff was incredible. They really bent over backwards to make the entire stay lovely. The grounds and rooms were also fantastic.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main lodge. There are roosters around the lodge that will crow early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

A lovely place in the middle of the mountains and situated on the banks of a stream. Service was excellent and the place is idyllic for a day or two of complete relaxation. Beautiful gardens with ponds, bonsai trees, and rabbits roaming free. Further up the mountain is the flight of the gibbon zip lining experience which is also highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second visit here and arriving here I felt immediately relaxed, beautiful setting with the river running through the grounds and all the various animals and wildlife. The kids loved it. We had a car this time and also went to the nearby hot springs. As a place to relax in the jungle this is it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoffWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Wowww!!!
The lodges are located in a magnificent setting.
The lodges are spacious and comfortable.
Nature, Jungle, river, rabbits, parrot are the words to summarize this place.
The food and the service were excellent.
Very close to the Omega (Flight of the Gibbon)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It shouldn't be overlooked that Tharnthong has an excellent walk-in restaurant, open to non-residents. It's a lovely place to go. We have gone there a few times at weekends to have a good lunch and relax. The food is very good indeed and the service really cannot be faulted. The staff are friendly and attentive and will make you feel right at home.

(Caveat: This is one of those places that likes to bring the rice long before the main dish is cooked, so if you like your rice hot, you need to ask them not to bring it before the rest of the meal)

There are lovely surrounding gardens, woods, waterfalls and features to spend a relaxing and pleasant afternoon in, close up to nature and it's also 'child friendly', with the appropriate parental supervision. Rabbits run freely around the environs and provide great entertainment for young children.

Hard to fault this wonderful place and well worth a drive of 40 mins from Chiangmai city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photopical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest that was to long for us.
we booked tharnthong 2 thinking this has lots of privacy, but this room is on the first floor of a house and we did not know this. Fortunately tharnthong 3 was still free ( this is a whole house with garden ) and we moved there. The room was big with a big garden and beautiful view over the surroundings, however it is to expensive for what you get. we paid 2000 bath per nights excl. breakfast this is lots of money for Thailand standards ( we travel a lot to Thailand). The bed is extremly hard and the bathroom not very clean. However Prim the owner is a lovely lady who will help you to make your stay great. Also the rest of the staff is very nice. The food we loved! The garden is beautifull with lots of animals. During our stay they were having renovations and we were not informed about that in advance. i can recommned taking a massage, this was one of the best i had in Thailand.
3 nights was to long for us, 2 nights would have been better.
Overal we had a great stay but i would not stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muhsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in February. We rented the stream side house (Ngam?) that slept 6 people. We have three kids (13, 10, 9) and we fit perfectly into the home. The minute we arrived the kids were in the stream and exploring the beautiful property. We live in Bangkok and it was so nice to escape the craziness of the city and drive to the serenity of this lodge. Even though it is a hike from Chiang Mai, about 45 minutes, it is worth the drive. We ate most meals here and they even will set up a campfire for you in front of your house. There are plenty of animals to entertain the kids: dog, rabbits, birds, monkeys. The lodge itself was very "homey" and comfortable. The beds were nice and the bathrooms were very well decorated. My kids said they felt like they were in the movie the Hobbitt. What a great retreat for us, if we were not relocating back to the states in June, we would come to Tharnthong again. It was that great. Just a tip, bring tea and coffee to have in your room in the morning, there is a hot pot but no coffee supplies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae On hotels
5.2 mi away
Monkeaw
Monkeaw
#9 of 19 in Mae On
1 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mai Siam Resort
Mai Siam Resort
#1 of 4 in Mae On
261 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chiangmai Highlands Golf and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Malila HomeStay
Malila HomeStay
#10 of 19 in Mae On
1 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sippa Hotspring
Sippa Hotspring
#8 of 19 in Mae On
8 reviews
0 mi away
La Bhu Salah
La Bhu Salah
#7 of 19 in Mae On
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharnthong Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharnthong Lodges

Address: 99 / 1 - 3 Moo 8 | Huay Kaew subdistrict, Mae On 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae On
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mae On
Price Range: £19 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tharnthong Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tharnthong Lodges Resort is situated amidst the mountains in Mae Takhrai National Park. Surrounded by truly stunning and breathtaking scenery with clear streams, colorful wild forests and waterfalls, you really feel that you have arrived in paradise. The weather is cool every morning and evening throughout the whole year. There are fully furnished lodges and also rooms available to rent for any number of days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Atrapalo so you can book your Tharnthong Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharnthong Hotel Chiang Mai
Tharnthong Lodges Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing