We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Siam Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai Siam Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mae On
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feeling like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We don't know where to start. Everything was just great about our stay in Mai Siam Resort. The garden is huge and beautiful. The bungalow is spacious, well designed and clean. Food is great. But best of all are the hosts. They really make the difference and I cannot remember having experienced that anywhere else before. Eric and Pranee were around the house most of the times, always available for their guests. They are great fun to talk to, feel like friends you have known for a long time. They do everything for their guests. You can choose what to eat for breakfast and they will buy it in the supermarket for you. They set up a large paddling pool for our kids in the garden. They always gave us a lift whenever we needed transport. They even borrowed us their children seat for the car when we left for a tour into the mountains. This was definitely the best place of our 2 months holiday in Asia! Thanks a lot, Eric and Pranee!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EimsbTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
127
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I began our Thailand honeymoon with 3 nights at Mai Siam. It was the perfect way to unwind from the crazy hectic month preceding our trip and we were greeted by Eric and Pranee and their wonderful staff. The bungalow was immaculate and while, yes, the resort is located outside the city, transportation and getting to and from all of our activities was never an issue. It's a gorgeous property in a very very quiet, quaint area of Chiang Mai and we are happy to have had the opportunity to begin our big trip with a stop here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCGrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you are looking for a different experience in Thailand then this would be it. Not knowing quite what to expect to say we were blown away at how welcome we were made would be an understatement.

Pretty bungalow accommodation in lovely grounds were the ideal tonic and a great way to relax after a long year without holidays. From collecting us at the airport to our trips around the countryside transport was never a problem and there are some fabulous things to see around Chaing Mai.

What can I say about Eric and Pranee your most gracious hosts. Food to die for served in a gentle and soothing atmosphere. With only 3 bungalows on the property it's not crowded and lots of personal attention. Family and staff all pitch in, that only adds to the laid back feel.

Out of 15 days in Thailand I can honestly say that the 3 days spent at Mai Siam were the standout. Do yourself a favour give this resort a go.

Jeff and Sally Queensland

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Multigrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our stay was wonderful from the start. Eric picked us up at the airport, and drove us back to our bungalow on his lovely property. Once at his property, we met his wife Pranee. She was equally as nice. Well at the resort (more of a bed and breakfast - lovely), we enjoyed fantastic meals cooked by Pranee. Additionally, Eric helped us arrange activities to enjoy in Chiang Mai. We went elephant riding, took a cooking class, spent an entire day (9 hours) touring the city (markets, temples, waterfalls, parks, etc) with his employee Po as our guide, went to the Sunday Market, etc, etc. They made us feel so comfortable, I never wanted to leave. Honestly, we enjoyed our stay here more than the 5 star resort in Ko Phi Phi that was $300-$400/night (yes, in Thailand...). Can't wait to go back!!!

P.S. We actually went in December 2010, but I am slow at writing a review...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropicaltraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Please consider staying at this establishment if you are going to reside for any length of time in Chang Mai. Eric had picked both my wife and I up at the airport and provided a very comfortable ride to our bungalow on their beautiful property. We had arrived on New Year's Eve and we felt that Eric and Pranee made us part of their family. We had a nice dinner preceded by fireworks that his daughter and friends lit. Pranee provided a spontaneous cooking class for my wife that she truly enjoyed. If you have the opportunity, have Pranee cook you a Thai Breakfast - it is better than most places in Thailand. Both Eric and Pranee were wonderful when they took us to the Sunday Street Market and waited for us to finish well into the night. They even provided a cell phone to us during this time. These two individuals provided a personal touch that I have yet to ever see from any other hotel/bed&breakfast I have ever frequented. Once again, please consider this residence if you are going to stay in Chang Mai. Some have stated that it might be well out of the center of Chang Mai and this is a downside. The truth is that you feel that Mai Siam is the center of Chang Mai once you are there. If you really want to be in the center of Chang Mai, then you should find a "conventional establishment" in downtown. But for a truly personal experience with great food and service, stay in Mai Siam.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa_J22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We recently spent three nights staying at the Mai Siam Resort, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Resort consists of three bungalows which are so spacious and clean surrounded by beautiful gardens. The Resort is about 30 - 45 minutes outside of Town but we had access to their driver any time we needed it. Eric and Pranee are wonderful hosts and we felt like part of their family. Pranee is an excellent cook and we ate there each night and were given amazing meals. We even had a Thai beakfast one morning which was so tasty. Pranee will give cooking classes if needed. One night we were surprised with floating lanterns which was a lovely way to end our stay.
We met Pranee and Eric's daughter, and their staff were always so helpful and friendly.
Thank you Eric and Pranee for your hospitality and you made our stay at Mai Siam Resort a wonderful experience and hope to get back there one day soon.
Thank you so much
Sid and Lesley, Brisbane

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Super accueil et disponibilité d'Eric qui se met en 4 pour faire plaisir et rendre service. Quel plaisir aussi d'être au calme après le brouhaha de la ville. À relever l'excellente cuisine de Pranee et le confort des chalets. Bref, que du bonheur pour cette adresse que nous recommandons vivement.
Carole et Fabrice

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thai63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae On
3.3 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
8.3 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
15.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
10.8 mi away
Horizon Village & Resort
Horizon Village & Resort
#1 of 6 in Doi Saket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Siam Resort

Property: Mai Siam Resort
Address: 46 Moo 2 Baan Nong Hoi | On Nuea Subdistrict, Mae On 50130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae On
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mae On
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mai Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Siam Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing