We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One foggy November night”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One foggy November night”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived in thick fog and rain but the warm welcome, lit fires and comfy sofas soon made us forget how miserable it was outside. Really lovely, warm ,clean, comfortable room on the first floor of the cottages outside the main house. Fabulous evening meal; different, interesting, beautifully presented and full of flavour. Attentive and friendly staff. Will return again!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SnorklersOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    101
    36
    19
    3
See reviews for
88
427
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I had heard about the Horn of Plenty over the years but never got around to visiting. We live in South Devon and when friends suggested it for a Birthday lunch we readily agreed. We were blessed with a gorgeous day but what a lovely location - easy to find from Tavistock and only one small lane - so easy for nervous drivers! What can I say, staff, food and ambiance exceeded all expectations. With a special lunch menu the prices were incredibly reasonable and no wonder the restaurant was full - and this on a Wednesday in November! There was a great buzz about the place and the menu was seasonal and tantalising interesting. Absolutely fab, can't wait for a return trip - another birthday in 10 days time.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here but from what we saw of the public rooms I am sure the bedrooms are of an eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jancadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We first stayed here 11 years ago - although it didn't seem that long ago! We had very happy memories of that visit and were not disappointed this time. The hotel is in a fabulous location with fantastic, far reaching views across the Tamar Valley from the restaurant and from our room. We were able to wander around the gardens and notice the changes that have been implemented. The staff are superb; welcoming, friendly and efficient and keen to ensure that we had everything we needed (Even down to re-booting the wireless router for us on one occasion1). Our room was as clean, comfortable and well equipped as we remembered; the beds are huge and so comfortable, and there is plenty of hot water for deep baths and showers at any time! which is so welcome when the weather is typically Novemberish. We especially appreciated the locally sourced food which is prepared and presented to a very high standard and enjoyed the creative flavours and presentation each evening - and the breakfasts in the morning too as we felt well fed NOT over-fed! We found the wine list innovative and well priced. We visited on a special deal and felt that the hotel offers tremendous value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 are upstairs in the main house and offer wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is our second visit and second time of having the taster menu. It was again absolutely amazing. The courses are innovative with a fusion of flavours and every item from the canapés to the desert is an explosion of flavour and a delight. My only criticism is the wine menu which lacks a half bottle option. The hotel rooms are bright, contemporary and well equipped and the staff are all very happy to make your stay special. An absolute gem of a place and highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful, remembered our names from our one previous visit some months ago and even asked after our children (who were in absentia). The room was lovely, clean and finished to a high standard, the bed was very comfortable and the bath water hot. The location is lovely and the view over the valley during the day from the restaurant is amazing.

What really stood out was the quality of the food. It competes with the finest michellin starred restaurants in London, we had four meals there and each one was exceptional. The choice wasn't overwhelming, which I consider a good thing, the presentation was absolutely beautiful and the combination of flavours imaginative and well thought out. I particularly recommend the taster menu, which was outstanding. This place has to be on its way to michellin star, and if it isn't, it should be!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two honeymoon suits, they're absolutely gorgeous, the freestanding bath in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCustomer927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We first came for a meal at this hotel when we were on honeymoon in 1972, where we met the original owner. He was a retired opera singer, I recall, who decided he wanted to go into the restaurant business, and he entertained us with stories of the estate agents who kept on offering him Fish and Chip shops. They were clearly not the sort of establishments he wanted. But above all he provided wonderful food.

Forty years on and the children having left home some years ago, we are able to travel again on our own and have come back several time to the Horn of Plenty. Its had quite a few owners since it began business, but it still maintains the high standards set by its founder. To us its a rather special place and the yardstick to measure country house hotels by.

On several occassions we have stayed here on our way to or from holiday cottages in Devon and Cornwall. This year we went to Spain, and came back on the ferry from Roscoff to Plymouth so we could stay at the Horn of Plenty and visit RHS Rosemoor. All our visits have been most enjoyable and many of our thoughts are echoed in the reviews of the other people who have enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Speak directly to the receptionist to find the best deal they can offer you for your chosen dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericbrownbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is a fantastic small hotel with incredible views over the Tamar Valley. The accommodation is beautiful and so comfortable, with everything maintained to a high standard. The food is amazing and there were no problems catering for my complex dietary requirements. The staff can't do enough for you and with such a tranquil setting, you can't fail to have a wonderful and relaxing stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but rooms 3 and 4 (the suites) are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
326 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,093 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,300 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
495 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Property: Horn of Plenty
Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Devon/Gulworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing