We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful get away”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just had lovely mid-week break at this small Hotel and Restaurant. This is our third stay, and despite changing hands two years ago, the place is still an absolutely treat. Warm and friendly in beautiful setting. We were very lucky to be upgraded one of the larger rooms!! Very pretty and features on the website as the lilac room.
The food and service is always impeccable.
Hoping to go back next year for another romantic night away.
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

Me and my partner (aged 28) stayed at the horn of plenty for one evening and had the most lovely time. We took advantage of the hotels Sunday saver deal and we felt we had excellent value for money. We were offered a warm greeting and showed to our beautiful room. Everything was spotless and the room was very cosy and relaxing.

We had dinner booked for 8pm and decided on the taster menu which we would highly recommend. The food was amazing! Course after course was delicious and so beautifully presented. The service was unrushed and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. We were not able to finish all our wine at the table so the staff very kindly let up take the remainder of the bottle up to our room where we enjoyed the last couple glasses in the huge and very comfy bed!

The only thing I did mention to the staff was about bringing back the wine tasting menu alongside the taster menu. I came to the horn of plenty just for dinner about 5 years ago and as a wine lover I really enjoyed the different wines with my meal which unfortunately isn't currently offered on the menu. It wasn't a problem at all though as we enjoyed a whole bottle of our favourite wine instead.

Breakfast in the morning was served up until 10am so gave us chance to have a luxurious lie in. We ate our breakfast in the restaurant over looking the rolling hills, the views from the hotel really are breathtaking. There was a wide choice of food on the breakfast menu and once again everything we had was delicious and so beautiful presented.

We had the most amazing short stay at the hotel and will most definatly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Brought my partner here for a birthday celebration. The hotel and rooms are fantastic. The quality of the food in the restaurant was excellent. We chose the taster menu and having eaten in many fine dining restaurants, in my opinion, this is one of the best and is excellent value for money! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LloydandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at The Horn of Plenty where we had a fabulous time. The hotel was warm and comfortable and set in a beautiful location overlooking the Tamar Valley. Even in November the views were lovely. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere totally relaxing (especially with a G&T in hand in front of the roaring fire). However, I must say that the highlight of our stay was dinner. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. We had expected great things from reading the reviews and were not disappointed. If you enjoy your food then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have just returned from The Horn of Plenty after a one night stay for my other half's birthday and also I wanted somewhere lovely and memorable to propose to her. I had been there once before several years ago, and was very impressed and have wanted to return since, it did not disappoint. First of all was a lovely warm welcome from Debbie on reception, our room was fantastic, from the huge 8ft bed, massive balcony with the view, lovely bathroom with a sunken bath (also with the view), we also had a nice sofa area which ended up being the perfect place for the proposal.

After a relaxing afternoon soaking in the bath, making use of the mini bar, little nap on the massive bed, we changed and headed down for dinner around 7.30, a comfy sofa and an open fire in the front lounge was a great place to read the menu, enjoy a pre-dinner drink and devour the exceptional canapes. The meal itself was faultless, beautifully presented, fantastic flavours in every course, and all with fantastic efficient service from the waiting staff. Even a simple after dinner coffee was given the full treatment with further sweet canapes.

After a great sleep, breakfast was also superb, with a great choice on offer to cater for all tastes.

A very memorable weekend for Sally and I was made even more special because of the staff at The Horn of Plenty. If its a special place you are looking for to take that special someone to spoil them, then look no further.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have room 4, at the top of the stairs above reception, huge room, huge bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_and_Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We arrived in thick fog and rain but the warm welcome, lit fires and comfy sofas soon made us forget how miserable it was outside. Really lovely, warm ,clean, comfortable room on the first floor of the cottages outside the main house. Fabulous evening meal; different, interesting, beautifully presented and full of flavour. Attentive and friendly staff. Will return again!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SnorklersOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I had heard about the Horn of Plenty over the years but never got around to visiting. We live in South Devon and when friends suggested it for a Birthday lunch we readily agreed. We were blessed with a gorgeous day but what a lovely location - easy to find from Tavistock and only one small lane - so easy for nervous drivers! What can I say, staff, food and ambiance exceeded all expectations. With a special lunch menu the prices were incredibly reasonable and no wonder the restaurant was full - and this on a Wednesday in November! There was a great buzz about the place and the menu was seasonal and tantalising interesting. Absolutely fab, can't wait for a return trip - another birthday in 10 days time.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here but from what we saw of the public rooms I am sure the bedrooms are of an eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jancadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,128 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
515 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range: £114 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Devon/Gulworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing