We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines disappointment”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Valentines disappointment”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

It is rather reluctantly that I/we have decided to write this poor review for what was one of our favourite restaurants, if you go out on a valentines you expect the set menu so thats not a problem, however it was clear to see that zero effort had gone in from start to finish and they were just making money. It says it all that our favourite course's were the canopies and the free bag of sweets that they put on the table. Almost every other course was pre made and lacked in any flavour (except the bitterness of the "lobster" bisque and the salt in the beef jus!) it begs belief how the menu this evening was in fact more expensive than when we went only 6 weeks ago, which we described as the best meal we've ever eaten. I wouldn't say that i won't go back, however have been left very disappointed and a fair few pounds lighter!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    97
    35
    18
    2
See reviews for
87
418
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Horn of Plenty to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday, and we certainly weren't disappointed.
The staff were amazing. Attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The rooms were spotless and each one unique. We stayed in one of the Garden Rooms and the views were breathtaking. The sumptuous bath robes and high quality toiletries were just a hint at what lay before us on the food front.

At dinner, we were presented with intriguing delicious canapés and then shown to our table. The restaurant was relaxed ,but refined, and we felt totally at ease without feeling like we were sat on top of the next table (a particular hate of mine!)
The food was outstanding in presentation and taste. Could not fault any of it.
This is also true of the delicious breakfast served in the morning.

This is a real gem of a hotel and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We have visited here for the first time today.The couple we went with wanted to try it.Well thank goodness,everything from start to finish was excellent.No hassle from the staff in fact the contrary,explained the countryside view etc even though we didn't have a window view this time.
We will return for a Sunday lunch.Again I would emphasise the helpfulness/non intrusiveness of the staff.
Thank you Horn of Plenty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles12why
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Accommodation = A*+ Food = A*+ Staff = A*+ Location = A*+
A great deal with your "Beat the Winter Blues" we will be back. Some of the best food to be had within a lovely setting. The service was outstanding and always given with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamzatzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Horn of Plenty which was a birthday treat for my husband. The stay was very relaxing and the location just perfect - the staff were friendly and accommodating and nothing was to much trouble! The dining experience was a delight, the food was excellent - many compliments to the chef!
We had a superior room with a huge balcony which gave spectacular views over the valley. Although we had a few initial problems with our room, the management dealt with them very promptly and professionally!
We would certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lovely old country house with stunning views from the restaurant. Rooms are lovely especially in the main house and ideal if staying for dinner and don't want to drive home. Food is good - we are spoilt having such a lovely venue right on our doorstep. I would imagine if you travelled here for a holiday stop you would be very happy indeed.Cannot fault - this place has everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibblerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

The Horn of Plenty is a lovely place to rest and relax. The staff are friendly and you are always made to feel welcome.

The food is some of the best we've ever tasted in all of our travels and is beautifully presented. Service is second to none and nothing is too much trouble. They really do look after you.

The rooms we have stayed in have spectacular views and leave us feeling as though we are living in the lap of luxury and a little piece of heaven (rooms 3 and 6). The beds are some of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. I would agree with the comment made re dressing gowns - please make them bigger!

It's easy to see why this little gem of a place is so popular a choice for weddings and why it was awarded the best fine dining restaurant 2012 by Food and Drink Devon.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spacegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,070 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,268 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Property: Horn of Plenty
Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Devon/Gulworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing