We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Special”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have had several enjoyable meals here, often taking advantage of special offers. Sadly the new style "special offers" which consist of 3 courses with no choice whatsoever have driven us to pastures new. Yes, there is always the a la carte option but then the offer is not so special! I have never previously encountered a no choice at all menu and hope that this practice does not spread.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lilyanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Horn of Plenty
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Another year and another Valentine's weekend thoroughly enjoyed at the Horn of Plenty.
Having travelled through terrible weather we arrived in the sanctuary of the HoP to a warm and friendly greeting (especially so for our dog!). We then settled into the comfort of our room, having a dog the garden rooms are ideal. Scott and his team produced wonderful meals on both nights of our stay with the six course Valentines dinner being a delight.
Over the we have recommended the HoP to several friends and all have enjoyed their visits with top marks being given for the comfort of the rooms, the superb dining and attention given by all the saff.
We look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have had the pleasure of visiting the Horn of Plenty on a number of occasions for lunch and dinner. Every visit has been spot on with amazing food and a staff team who could not do enough to make our experience perfect. This time we thought we would stay the night for the valentines meal. The room was brilliant, and in fact we were upgraded as they had a room available and this was a lovely extra for us. We stayed in the garden rooms and had everything we needed. All the little touches had been thought of and the bed was really comfy. The staff were very helpful with our requests, and even enabled us to have our cheese course in our room when we requested. At dinner, even though there was no wine flight prepared, we were quickly helped with matching wines to the taster menu. Brilliant.
All in all we cannot fault what is now our favourite hotel. Julie has gone above and beyond our expectations on all occasions we have met with her over the last 18months and we are developing a real home from home feel for the place. Thank you to Julie and her team for creating such a special place that we always know will exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPower2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My friend and I visited the Horn of Plenty for their Monday charity lunch. Having driven 60 miles, it was a pity no-one mentioned when we booked that the bridge over the Tamar in Gunnislake was closed but happily we were in good time and could negotiate the 10 miles detour to get there a few minutes late. However, the welcome was lukewarm - got the impression that staff training/induction was going on and it was more important? Anyway, the fire in the sitting room was lit when we asked and we were served lovely appetizer nibbles with our drinks. Lovely (older) waitress took us to our table in the dining room but we were both looking at a wall - well, we could get a bit of view if we leaned to the right! The food and wine were delicious - apart from my friends lobster bisque being initially tepid and replaced - and we enjoyed this, despite the room being a bit chilly and having to again hear all the training going on at the bar (and the clumsy bar persons clattering about!) We warmed up with coffee and petit fours in the sitting room. All in all, what could have been a lovely experience (certainly the food is excellent) was marred by the rather distracted overall focus of the staff? Yes, it was a charity (read cheaper) lunch but in terms of PR, I think all customers deserve to feel as if each occasion is special - sadly, I don't think we will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Duchysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Have stayed here twice now and this time we thought we would spend the little extra and go for the superior room with the balcony (room 3). We were not disappointed as the balcony is huge with fabulous views out over the Tamar Valley.
The bed was massive and very comfortable, and the bathroom is huge with lovely roll-top bath and separate shower cubicle. Shower worked perfectly with plenty of power and heat.
Unfortunately we had horrendous weather during our stay (can't blame the hotel for that) so we didn't get out to do any walking, but on the plus side it made it all the better for sitting in front of the wonderful log fire in the library,sipping tea and reading a book!
As expected, dinner was excellent and could not be faulted, you just have to go there and try for yourself to see what I mean.
Again, breakfast in the morning was superb, and made all the better with the fabulous views you get from the dining room.
All the staff were very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Go now while they still have their 'Beat the Winter Blues' special offers on, great value for money and all in all 10/10!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra then worth going for the rooms with the balconies (3&4) as the view...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful "birthday break"... food was amazing, staff extremely helpful and welcoming with a lovely room overlooking the walled garden (complete with balcony). We had booked in under the "Winter Warmer" offer (complete with open fires etc.). Loved it!

Room Tip: We had booked the garden room ... there was a bottle of cold champagne waiting and were able to toas...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGGWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is really well situated with great views, even on a wet February day. We really enjoyed the food and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The only issue was the room. While it was comfortable enough with a massive bathroom I was disappointed to find that the bath was actually quite small and not very deep. In fact I've had similar in cheaper hotels. While I appreciate that its saves water, I do like to have a decent bath in a deluxe room. We also found that the heating was either full on or off so we were either hot or cold.

These small issues aside we did really enjoy our stay and would recommend staying over.

The special £149 offer is good value

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,350 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range: £116 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Devon/Gulworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing