We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Small Country House Hotel and Restaurant - Ever”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Small Country House Hotel and Restaurant - Ever”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Both the hotel and restaurant were the best we have ever stayed and dined in.

The service unparalleled the calmness of the ambience was amazing, we felt we had been there for days and it was only 2 or 3 hours.

The food was exquisite and though only a small menu it had changes each day.

We will not only totally recommend it we shall return

Room Tip: main building had biggest rooms with best views rooms 1-4 of 5 were best in views and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    95
    34
    18
    2
See reviews for
86
409
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

One of the many pleasant things about the Horn of Plenty is although this charming Hotel is very secluded, the approach roads are wide almost to the front door. We arrived hassle free on the very warm and sunny afternoon of the 8th March for three nights. Once again we were greeted by the owners and their friendly and professional staff. Our room was so very comfortable and as ever, such attention to detail. We walked over Dartmoor with our dog, and visited the nearby historic market town of Tavistock. We watched the sun set gloriously far down over the distant Cornish hills and mine stacks from our balcony, before dining on the tasty and succulent dinners created by Scott and his team. Bliss! Sincere thanks to you all.

Room Tip: As my Husband is slightly disabled and we love having our dog with us we find the ground floor Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

As we arrived early we were seated in the nice lounge area, unfortunately this filled up with other arrivals & when the rest of our party arrived there was no where for us to sit for drinks before the meal & it took a bit of organisation to get us finally seated at our table!!

The food was very nice, although with the mains the accompanying vegetables were rather small although very nicely prepared!! The service for a 2* rosette AA restaurant was rather remiss, with the servers getting orders placed wrongly on 3 occasions!! The final straw was having a lovely New Zealand Neudorf Pinot Noir & pouring a final glass & getting severe sediment in the glass!!

So my return after Peter Gortons passing was not a good one!! The food was nicely prepared but both quantity & quality were not what I was hoping for & unfortunately the front of house service let us down!! All I can say is room for improvement!! I wish them well as the property, atmosphere & food are all very good just need some training to a young serving staff!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

From the first phone call and enquiry to the last glass of champagne it was beyond expectations.
Julie and all the staff look after you and your guests every need and to an exceptional standard. The ceremony , location, dining experience and accommodation were all sublime and divine. This hotel has it all and the staff give their all . You made our memories priceless . Thank-you.. And we are hoping to come back for a visit . Lynzi and Colin x

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank izzybunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have had several enjoyable meals here, often taking advantage of special offers. Sadly the new style "special offers" which consist of 3 courses with no choice whatsoever have driven us to pastures new. Yes, there is always the a la carte option but then the offer is not so special! I have never previously encountered a no choice at all menu and hope that this practice does not spread.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilyanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Another year and another Valentine's weekend thoroughly enjoyed at the Horn of Plenty.
Having travelled through terrible weather we arrived in the sanctuary of the HoP to a warm and friendly greeting (especially so for our dog!). We then settled into the comfort of our room, having a dog the garden rooms are ideal. Scott and his team produced wonderful meals on both nights of our stay with the six course Valentines dinner being a delight.
Over the we have recommended the HoP to several friends and all have enjoyed their visits with top marks being given for the comfort of the rooms, the superb dining and attention given by all the saff.
We look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have had the pleasure of visiting the Horn of Plenty on a number of occasions for lunch and dinner. Every visit has been spot on with amazing food and a staff team who could not do enough to make our experience perfect. This time we thought we would stay the night for the valentines meal. The room was brilliant, and in fact we were upgraded as they had a room available and this was a lovely extra for us. We stayed in the garden rooms and had everything we needed. All the little touches had been thought of and the bed was really comfy. The staff were very helpful with our requests, and even enabled us to have our cheese course in our room when we requested. At dinner, even though there was no wine flight prepared, we were quickly helped with matching wines to the taster menu. Brilliant.
All in all we cannot fault what is now our favourite hotel. Julie has gone above and beyond our expectations on all occasions we have met with her over the last 18months and we are developing a real home from home feel for the place. Thank you to Julie and her team for creating such a special place that we always know will exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPower2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Property: Horn of Plenty
Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Devon/Gulworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing