We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stunning location great attention to detail excellent service , only critisism , not enough vegetables , but certainly worth a visit and we will definitely go again the food was interesting and full of flavour with plenty of choice , looking out over the tamar valley was beautiful and peaceful , a lovely establishment to relax and be pampered

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    97
    35
    18
    2
See reviews for
87
418
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here recently and had a superb evening meal and overnight stay, where everything was great.

This was let down at breakfast when you firstly have to decide on having either the cereals and fruit OR full English breakfast. Most upmarket hotels I've stayed in, give you the option of picking and choosing from both.

My partner and I went for one of each, and both were very disappointed. The jugs of fruit juices ran out and were not refilled until requested. The fresh fruit on offer to accompany the cereals were minimal to say the least (no fresh fruit salad here!) and the cereals were the Kellogs mini boxes.

The cooked breakfast consisted of a single rasher of bacon, one sausage, half a tomato and three small mushrooms and a small bit of black pudding.

Now bearing in mind that cereals weren't available with this option, to say it was meager was an understatement!

The evening restaurant staff were wonderful, but the breakfast staff generally didn't seem to care - we were never offered more tea and had to ask twice for more milk (which we ended up getting ourselves from the cereal bar jug). Toast also had to be requested from the staff when it wasn't forthcoming.

This really turned a wonderful overnight treat into a less enjoyable event, and not currently one we would consider re-booking when there are so many other up market hotels available who don't skimp on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimM750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Owner at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Kim M

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal and your overnight stay but very sorry that we let you down over breakfast.

Guests are welcome to mix and match between the buffet and our freshly prepared menu from the kitchen, and almost all our guests do that. I apologise for any communication which led you to believe you had to make a choice.

Our range of cereals includes Dorset Cereals, Muesli, Granola as well as Kelloggs. Our Full English Breakfast includes 2 rashers of bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomato, grilled mushroom, fried bread, beans and an egg. We have just introduced a delicious fresh mixed berry salad with natural yoghurt for Summer, alongside a fresh pineapple and melon platter and our ever- popular Belgian waffles with blueberry compote.

I am sorry too that you were disappointed in our service at breakfast. It’s a rare criticism indeed – many of our team have worked here for over 20 years, and we regard our staff and our service levels as key strengths.

We are at a loss to explain how we appear to have got everything so wrong during your breakfast, but very much hope that you will visit us again so that we can demonstrate our normal excellent standards of breakfast food and service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We thought the hotel and its views absolutely stunning and breathtaking. The grounds have a wonderful serenity and beauty. It was real hidden gem.
The food was delicious and I have never tasted such exquisite lobster bisque. The staff were warm and welcoming. The room was very tastefully decorated and was light and airy with a gorgeous view.
A place I would love to return to again and again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Arrived Saturday afternoon to thick fog and rain, so no views of the surrounding countryside. Room was in the Coach house, rather small, with cramped bathroom, large comfortable double bed, no rubbish bin, drafty windows. Restaurant service excellent but very limited menu. Food well cooked but tiny portions. Certainly not worth £50 a head. Breakfast was an extra and good quality, but again there wasn't much of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grubsupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just back from Dinner, Bed and Breakfast at the Horn of Plenty. Not our first visit and not our last. Dinner was excellent, service and front of house staff friendly and relaxed. Good room and superb bed. Breakfast was as good as it gets. Only two very minor points - fresh fruit rather than tinned for breakfast would have been a big improvement and £45 for a bottle of Cloudy Bay which is available at around £21 is a bit steep. That said we are all booked up to take the whole family in the summer.

Room Tip: Room 4 is large with super bathroom - you can lie in the bath and look out at the surrounding countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Having stayed at the Horn of Plenty on a number of occasions for D, B & B - always excellent value - we thought we would try the 'Supper Club' with a 5 course fixed menu and accompanying wines. With each course introduced by the chef and the wines especially chosen and presented this turned out to be a really entertaining gourmet evening. The delicious breakfast the following morning only served to reinforce our view that, purely on the basis of the restaurant, this is a hotel we will keep returning to. When you add the elegant accommodation and, above all, the genuinely friendly welcome and 'nothing too much trouble' service the Horn of Plenty can justifiably claim to be one of the top country house hotels in the South West.

Room Tip: The garden house rooms allow dogs but ask for one on the ground floor - stairs and dogs don't al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonabbots2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We came down for a few days mid-week to stay at this gorgeous hotel, having seen an offer they were doing on D,B and B. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, helpful, kind and every single one had impeccable service skills. There was a minor problem in our bathroom which they fixed straightaway and as a result gave us a discount. The room was warm and comfy with luxurious touches. The food was quite simply outstanding. We were amazed at the complexity of the cooking and presentation, and found it all delicious. And the breakfast was wonderful too. Great location for walking our dog anywhere we liked, stunning views and it really was a very special stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheychappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,263 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Property: Horn of Plenty
Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Devon/Gulworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing