We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
610
120
48
24
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
610
120
48
24
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamar valley the main house tasting menu fine dining amuse bouche birthday celebration large balcony coach house michelin star country house special occasion lobster fabulous views hotel restaurant petit fours drawing room superb food
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2015

The hotel is set in beautiful surrounds with spectacular views. However, only four of the sixteen rooms are in the main house so if the weather is wet be prepared to run for it when going to the restaurant. There are four classifications of room and during bad weather the smallest rooms are too small. However, if you are prepared it is a very relaxing location

Room tip: Avoid the smallest rooms.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear P L,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the Horn of Plenty.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay – although sorry that we were not able to provide better weather.
We look forwards to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

My family and I celebrated Christmas on 23rd December at the Horn of Plenty. The hotel is set in a wonderful situation, with lovely views. It is comfortable and attractively decorated. There were 10 of us, including 3 children, and we were made very welcome from arrival. Lunch was superb, and service was friendly and well-paced. After lunch we adjourned to the library to exchange gifts - we had exclusive use of the room and spent most of the afternoon there. The whole experience exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to visit again.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Jan B,
Thank you so much for your delightful review and kind compliments. It was a pleasure having you all celebrate with us!
Exceeding expectations is exactly what we strive for, and we are thrilled to receive this feedback.
I will certainly enjoy sharing your comments with the entire team.
I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

It was a lovely planned birthday treat for Hubbie. Staff were attentive and food simply wonderful. The views were pleasant even though weather was rainy and cloudy . The room was comfy and had all you would need and my husband being a coeliac was no issue and menu could be adapted. The only down side was house keeping and that we found out another couple celebrating had a personalised menu and extra complementary treats and we were disappointed by the view and would have loved an upgrade given day two there was only a few people staying. Overall lovely place and we would like to return .

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LVG39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear LVG39,
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to the Horn of Plenty.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed both the food and the service, though sorry that your husband was not made to feel more special on his birthday.
When we are notified in advance, we always try to do something special to help celebrate special events such as birthdays and anniversaries. Having checked your booking, regrettably it appears that we did not have a record of your husband’s birthday. We have now added this information, so if you choose to book again next year, we will know in advance and will commit to making the occasion extra-special. Sincere apologies for the disappointment caused.
We very much appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Horn of Plenty again.
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We booked their special Sunday deal which included dinner, a room and breakfast. On arrival we were promptly shown to our room in the annex on the ground floor with lovely views across the fields. The room was large and modern with all the mod cons. The bathroom was particularly amazing. The dinner menu was personalised and all the food was very tasty. We had a very comfortable night's sleep and a lovely breakfast the next day.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Jade P,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Horn of Plenty.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
The team and I hope to welcome you back for another delightful experience, in the very near future.
Best Regards,
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Stayed here last week on my birthday. What a great find. Our room was one of the best we have stayed in. A newly refurbished coach house. The main house was beautifully dressed for Xmas. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Our dinner was outstanding. The hotel is proud of its kitchen and so it should be.....this is NOT ordinary hotel food. The venison was simply superb. Very full wine list and we drank by the glass from a good selection.Had to leave early and they served breakfast for us before their usual opening time. Again all beautifully done..scrambled egg to die for. This is a return trip definite in the diary

Room tip: Coach house is lovely
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark59heather61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear Mark59heather61
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.
Christmas is certainly a very charming time to visit the Horn of Plenty.
I am so happy to read that we were able to help make your birthday celebration a memorable one.
I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback onto the entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews