We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Total seclusion in 2 acres of landscaped gardens and your own south facing, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Total seclusion in 2 acres of landscaped gardens and your own south facing, private garden
The comfortable and contemporary Barn still echoes it's origins with it wooden beams and barn d Relax in your own south facing rose garden with lime stone sun terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Total seclusion in 2 acres of landscaped gardens and your own south facing, private garden
The comfortable and contemporary Barn still echoes it's origins with it wooden beams and barn d
Relax in your own south facing rose garden with lime stone sun terrace
Stunning magnolias and endless views for total relaxation and breakfast on the terrace
Stroll around Sandhill House's horticultural treasure trove gardens or relax in the water gardens
Spring at Sandhill House and the Tamar Valley
King sized bed with luxurious satin stripe white linen and electric blanket for additional comfort
A Host of Golden Daffodils
Sheer relaxation in peace and quiet, away from it all
Treat yourself to a full cooked English breakfast in the historic manor house
A small but perfectly formed kitchen with combination microwave including oven and induction hob
Beautiful slate walk-in shower and limestone floor with underfloor heating for your total comfort
The most wonderful south facing garden with sandstone flags perfect for a coffee, cool wine or beer
Scented flowers around the French windows enhance the serenity and calm
A rare scented rhododendron, King George, escorts you to your front door in Spring
There are roses here for 12 months of the year!
Wander the 2 acre landscaped gardens but for sure you will end up on here wondering at the view
Relax and enjoy the formal gardens with a good book or just soak up the history
On a clear day you can see forever - the stunning Tamar Valley
The Hidden Valley has so many well kept secrets.................................
The scent of roses, lavender and sweet peas..........................
The Fairytale begins...................
The Barn nestles in the gardens of the last undiscovered great house of Cornwall - Sandhill House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gulworthy, Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
birmy2011
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in September 2017

What can I say we come here every year this was our 5th or 6th visit. We come and celebrate our anniversary with our 2 gorgeous Old English sheepdogs, The barn is perfect for all our us,the garden is much loved by our dogs especially Daisy our youngest she loves it, it's enclosed so she has a run round the rose bushes :) , she's deaf so this is perfect for her. We always have a fantastic time and visit lots of places as this is a great base. Tavistock is lovely and going on the train to Plymouth is a must. Mary & Andrew are just the perfect hosts, & a lovely couple we refer to them as our friends. we love coming ... see you in 2018
Love Darren, Sue Holly & Daisy

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Well! We are blushing all over! What a truly lovely review but we are just so glad that you really enjoy your very well deserved, and hard earned holiday.. We love you coming to stay with your wonderful dogs, as the most caring and thoughtful guests and very much look forward to seeing you later in the year. In the meantime, roll on Summer!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia W
1 review
“A week in Cornwall & Devon.”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Received a very warm welcome. Had a great week. Pouring rain for a couple of days but The Barn was cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that you found the Barn cosy, providing all that you needed for a peaceful and relaxing holiday, and acted as a great hub to explore beautiful Cornwall and Devon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron W
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a super week.The Orchard Tamar barn is well equipped,well appointed ,clean and warm.Mary and Andrew are excellent hosts and helpfully advised us about local places to eat.There are good walks from the barn and further afield as well as interesting National Trust properties.The barn is very private and is a great place to holiday with your dog-walks in fields from the door.Can thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorit A
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place with a lovely garden. Very dog friendly.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay. The weather was beautiful and we had our breakfast in our private and secluded garden, sitting in the sun.
The bed is very confident., with white linen. It is very quiet here and easy to visit Dartmoor as well as Cornwall. Tavistock is 10 minutes drive from the barn.A lovely little vilage with shops and a market.
We recommend staying in the barn.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so delighted that you have really enjoyed your August holiday in the most peaceful and hidden part of Cornwall. We also glad you found lots of lovely walks for your little girl - I think her legs are much shorter now than when she arrived! Many thanks again and we hope that you might return again one day - perhaps in the Spring when the Barn's garden is a cloud of daffodils, and the main gardens being a riot of Spring flowers, with the whole Tamar Valley being awash with cherry blossom and the bright, bright leaves of Spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob-Krimp...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Thé place to stay in Tamar valley!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Dear Mary & Andrew. Thanks for a warm welcome and interesting talks. We had a lovely stay in your barn and a supurb farewell breakfast in Sandhill house. We felt a bit sad to leave after a week as your house and barn are situated in a beautiful natural and interesting cultural, historic environment. While away from home we were still connected as the WIFI in the barn is good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Barn & privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and friendly welcome to this beautifully converted barn”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I cannot praise Mary and Andrew enough for their warm welcome. A nice bottle of chilled wine and cream tea were waiting for us after our long drive.
The communication from Mary before we left was second to none and all we had to do was arrive, ready to holiday!!
We took our two little westies who settled in well and it was a bonus to be able to leave the door open knowing there was a secure garden for them to explore.
The barn is lovely and very well equiped with everything we needed and is very clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowrhi
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very warm and welcoming retreat”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner and I holidayed here with our little dog and our 4 month old daughter back in May. The cottage was beautiful and very clean with excellent amenities but above all the owners were accommodating and extremely welcoming.

I would highly recommend the Tamar Orchard barn to family and friends it was a great base for exploring Devon and Cornwall and the pictures really don't do it justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing