We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just gets better and better!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon's Restaurant

Gordon's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just gets better and better!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Been to this Stunning little restaurant with rooms a few times now and it just gets better and better every time we return. The enthusiastic family owners continue to strive for perfection. Freshly made breads to start are absolutely brilliant, then a seriously high quality dinner with dishes beautifully presented and perfectly cooked such as their signature dish of lightly curried celeriac and Arbroath Smokie veloute or Gressingham duck with artichoke ravioli and caramelised shallot puree then dessert of orange soufflé glace. A Michelin star is well overdue and talk is it will be Scotland's next, as this restaurants food is easily in the league of Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles, Three Chimneys Skye or Peat Inn Fife only at a fraction of the price!! Enjoy the wine and stay over in the 'boutique style' rooms with the added bonus of breakfast and more of that amazing bread with homemade Sevile orange marmalade.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    14
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Utterly brilliant! Not a bad word to say about Gordon's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have eaten at Gordon's quite a few times and every one is as good as the last. We often say "we have never been disappointed at Gordon's" and every time we go a little voice in my head says I hope this won't be the one that does disappoint, but it just doesn't happen.

We had a table for 4 last night, and as always Gordon and Maria excelled. Despite it being busy Maria was her usual amiable self, welcoming everyone as they arrived and keeping the service running really smoothly. The food was as delicious as it always is and how they come up with some of the gorgeous combinations of flavours never fails to amaze.

For that special occasion meal Gordon's is a must and I am so pleased that we were introduced to it.

I am really looking forward to the next special occasion to go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pinnacle of Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed overnight with friends at the Gordon's Restaurant with Rooms on the 31 Dec having booked their Hogmanay Dinner/Room with Breakfast.
Maria made us feel most welcome and having shown us the beautiful, tastefully decorated restaurant led us to our very comfortable immaculate bedrooms.
The Hogmanay Dinner and breakfast exceeded all our expectations, beautifully presented food, superbly cooked using high quality ingredients.
Maria carries out a 1st class front of house service while the Father/Son chefs, obviously very experienced, are keen to involve their clientele with their food knowledge.
We frequently stay in Country House Hotels and this is by far the best we have had the pleasure of staying in.
Worth a 5 Star rating on all counts. Highly recommended and will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“back again and again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have been a few times to Gordons and bever been disopointed... the food is top rate, just like master chef in many ways.. The timings are good and the food couldnt be better.
Its nice to see a family run restaurant doing well. They dotn aim at taking your money in and out, its all about the food.

Thank you again

From Phill & Sheila

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get any better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We went to Gordon's on Saturday night and left feeling very annoyed!!!
Very annoyed that we had left it so long to go back to this truly amazing restaurant!!!!
From start to finish the evening was absolutely superb. Maria's attentiveness around our table was faultless.
The food is of a unbelievable standard.My wife and I eat out frequently and I would find it very hard to top this wonderful meal.
If you haven't already visited Gordon's,make it a must do for 2014!!

Gav & Carole, Kirriemuir

Helpful?
1 Thank Gav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing