We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal for four”
Review of The Chance Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chance Inn
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening meal for four”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful evening meal The service was wonderful and a warm welcome started the night off well. Scallops were perfect, salmon was wonderful with lovely leek sauce, the slow cooked beef was out of this world. There was nothing we could fault and would rate this as 5* (but not 5* prices!!). Highly recommended and will most certainly be back for more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heather6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auchmithie ,Scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“What`s happened ?”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

From a restaurant with a very varied menu it is now changed completely . The menu itself is just a bit of typed paper with the most uninspiring choice of food imaginable . Scampi , macaroni , steak pie , haddock etc . Not one thing to get the taste buds excited . Even so what we did have was well prepared & good size portions . Service was excellent with friendly & attentive staff . A drastic revamp of the menu is called for to return it to its former status .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnieegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5 star food in a pub!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Fantastic service - the food was cooked to perfection and sauces were homemade and delicious. I ate three courses despite being fit to burst! There was a huge choice on the menu and the gentleman serving us was keen to receive feedback, all of which was good! We had to roll back to our lodge! Highly recommend visiting this pub, fantastic value for money and a friendly welcome. We will be back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 612Steve_G_12612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous High Tea!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had the Sunday High Tea. It was excellent and really good value for money. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayweek95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High Tea at the last Chance saloon”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Well really the 'Chance Inn Inverkiellor, brilliant food and service were the order of the day.
High tea consisted of a round of toasted breads (full grain, pan etc.) a main course of choice, withe tea or coffee and cakes to follow.
The meal size was substantial (my wife requested a smaller portion) steak and ale pie, whilst I opted for the days roast, both superb. This was followed by an assortment of cakes with the tea and coffee and not to expensive as previous posts have stated. Great outing

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mastersus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chance Inn also viewed

Inverkeilor, Arbroath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing