We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under new management”
Review of The Chance Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chance Inn
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Under new management”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Food is as always very good , Beers tend to be Tennants or American trendy beers, not always to everyone's taste.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mondo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed - way overpriced”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Went to the Chance for a meal on Friday 28th 2012. Used to go there many years ago and used to really enjoy it. Booked table for 3 @ 7pm thinking that was a wise move. When we arrived there was one table of 4 and no other customers by the time we left. The room is quite large and with so few people, there was no atmosphere. There is no 'country pub charm' about this place. Many wooden tables and chairs and a few pictures on the wall.

I would like to say that the young woman serving was very pleasant and the food was well cooked.

The King prawn starter costing £5.95 consisted of 4 prawns. Our main courses were Sea Bass @ £12.50 and what was served was half a fillet about 6 inches long and 2 inches wide - hardly enough to even get the taste of it, Arbroath breaded Haddock (£10.50), once you lifted off the crumb type coating which was rather unpleasant, all that was left was a very, very thin fillet. Third main was breast of chicken, haggis and whisky sauce, which was a good portion size (£10.50).

When the waitress asked if everything was ok, I did say that we were not impressed and that I have never seen such a small peice of Sea Bass, the Chef then came out and told us that this was the size that was bought in but he would cook some more if required, he was very nice about it but to be honest, all we wanted to do by then was eat up and leave. We didn't have dessert, not when a plate of cheese and oatcakes was priced at £6.50.

All in all, unless you live in the village and don't have transport, I would not recommend eating here if you want good value for money or atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I was a little dissappointed the last time i went here. In the past it was excellent food but this time it was just average pub food not done very well. Dont thinki would go back unfortunately :(

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bar, Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

After we all had a delicious meal we went through to the cosy and very busy bar. Karaoke was up and running the atmosphere was fantastic. The ale was nice too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent high tea,margaret from dundee”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

went to chance inn for high tea i had scampi and my husband had the hugest plate of yorkie pud i have ever seen in my life .the cakes were brilliant the homemade meringues were to die for.think we both walked out about twenty stones heavier but thoroughly enjoyed it.definately worth going back you can work your way quite easily through the high tea menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glensmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chance Inn also viewed

Inverkeilor, Arbroath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing