We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“One visit isn't enough!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Foxes Reach cottage front blue bench pic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foxes Reach cottage front blue bench pic
The Hot tub is gorgeous in summer or winter Foxes Reach comfortable sitting room with woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
56 reviews
Foxes Reach cottage front blue bench pic
The Hot tub is gorgeous in summer or winter
Foxes Reach comfortable sitting room with woodburner
Foxes reach comfortable sitting room
Sitting room nook
Cosy woodburner
Foxes Reach very well equipped kitchen
Foxes Reach dining room waiting for guests
Dining room set up for a family
Dining room awaits arrivals
Kitchen dining room. The cook is not isolated!
Foxes Reach master bedroom
Foxes Reach upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom
Foxes Reach single back bedroom
Single bedroom ( one of two, each has a TV/DVD)
Double bedroom
Foxes Reach butterfly room.JPG
Foxes Reach single
Spacious single bedroom at Foxes Reach
FR loungers
Cosy in the snow
Really well equipped laundry and boot room.
Laundry room off courtyard is convenient for wet swimwear!
Laundry
Summer lunch
Limestone tiled downstairs shower room
Downstairs shower room also has basin and wc
The hot tub in the garden
International Birds of Prey Centre makes a fab outing
Canoe  or raft on the scenic Wye
Fantastic walking from the doorstep
View down to Tintern from Devils Pulpit on Offas Dyke
Autum colour in Catbrook
Torchlit Carols in December at Tintern Abbey
Offas Dyke offers amazing walking
Puzzlewood is always popular with families
Raglan Castle is great to explore
Sunshine guaranteed in the curtyard!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tintern, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suzanne P
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One visit isn't enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What with busy lives work, kids, life. What a tranquil cottage. From the moment we were greated by Malcom and shown around to leaving on the Saturday we had a fabulous week.. The cottage was lovely, cake,wine flowers in all the rooms and dog biscuit for our pooch, clean and tidy, garden was in bloom. Hot tub was inviting. The peace and quite (even with two teenage boys) was lovely. The loudest noise was the bumble bees doing their thing. If your looking for some time out, relaxing, dog walking and some good books you couldn't ask for a better place. Although there was plenty to do should you want to go exploring the area. We certainly will be going back..

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cottage,garden,hot tub,peace and quite
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful area,spotless cottage, pet and child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We so enjoyed this cottage.veryclean from top to bottom , pretty inside and It had everything including a number of useful extra things for our young children (cot, stairgate, plastic beakers etc) We liked that the owners took trouble to check the hot tub for us each day, We have been to other places where this was not done.The garden was tranquil and our elderly spanial loved it. He found a new lease of life chasing squirrels in the woods too. There s much more to do than we expected. Chepstow museum and its castle were musts as was Tintern Abbey. We took the owners advice and enjoyed a good meal at the Anchor in Tintern , it also has a good childrens area, and Sunday lunch at the Fountain was nice.
Our time here turned out to be too short and so we have already rebooked.
Thank you for the layed table and the cakes when we arrived.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the attitude of the owner( helpful)
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloversth...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location, cleanliness could be better.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just returned from weeks stay in May 2014. House is nice with good facilities and great hot tub, however, we found general cleanliness an issue, had to clean fridge before putting anything in it and there was a build up of dirt around sides of freezer, dishes were also dirty and glasses and cutlery were sticky and had to be washed before use. TV remotes also greasy/sticky and sky one didn't function correctly. Having said this we had a nice week and only saw owner when we called to ask for hot tub to be serviced. Bedding and upstairs was cleaner. We were a party of 2 with dogs. The garden is great for the dogs and very pretty and utility room extremely useful. Downstairs may be cramped if cottage is at full capacity. Great location for walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2014
We are really glad that most things were excellent for these guests and we have already apologized to them for the things they have identified which we had overlooked. They left us feedback after departure but until we found that we were not aware.
We had an absolute nightmare day on their arrival day and had to get extra helpers in to assist at short notice . It seems that despite our very best efforts to be perfectly ready we missed the matters our guests have pointed out. It should not have happened and it is pretty rare that anything gets past us but this time it seems to have done and we are sorry. We do wish they had alerted us while they were here. Like all our guests they were personally greeted on arrival with wine, flowers , tea and cake, and and this personal welcome is part of our effort to do anything which will help enjoyment of the holiday. They knew we would be coming to the garden to see to the hot tub on 6 of the seven days of their stay. It is correct that we didnt see them although we did do this . We knock on arrival but if there is no answer we dont intrude, and as there is no need to go into the cottage we just service the tub quietly and leave again.Many guests are not even sure we have been and this is how we try to arrange it. As we try to be unobtrusive in this so we could also have corrected these matters unobtrusively and willingly but at a mutually agreed time since it would have meant going indoors. They did call to ask us to top up the hot tub as the level had dropped a little more than expected ( which we did) and we do wish they had likewise asked us to remedy these things .
The major advantage of using a family business is the willingness to be available and to do your best for guests. We would not knowingly have left anything less than perfect but since it happened we would far rather have put it right on the spot than have correspondence afterwards -simply because there is nothing we can do now whereas an hours willing remedial cleaning would have made sure everything was right at the time.
As they did enjoy both the cottage and the area we so hope they will come another time and let us make it up to them
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliottof...
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the Wye Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful weekend stay at Foxes Reach. The cottage was clean and as well equipped as anywhere else we have ever stayed. What stood Foxes Reach apart was the lovely welcome from Fiona and the the most peaceful of locations. Tintern and the whole of the Wye Valley is beautiful and relaxing but when at the cottage even that seems a world away. Equipped with a hot tub this is a wonderful place to get away from it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimelord
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Second visit, even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We needed to be in South Wales and were lucky enough to be able to book Foxes Reach again. I would not normally submit a second revue but this place has proven to me that the standards are consistent.

It is not the easiest place to find but that is part of its charm and the directions given by the owners are very precise. I am sure that, if we were lost and called them they would by outside directing us.

It was so nice to walk back into this property again, everywhere was spotless and the owners told us to let them know if we needed anything.
This property, and the owners are fantastic. The property is so well equipped but, even if I could think of something I needed that was not there I know the owners would supply it.

I can't stress enough the care and attention to detail that has been lavished on this property.

There are four bedrooms, a bathroom and a shower room. Televisions all over the place, including Sky on the main one. Internet throughout the building.

Being November it was a little chilly outside but it was great to relax in the outdoor hot tub and then come back in to the cosy lounge with the wood burning stove.

The kitchen was better equipped than ours at home with utensils for every purpose (including some mystery ones).

At first one would think that, to describe your property as Five Star seems a little pretentious but, in this instance it is fully deserved. Keep up the great work and, hopefully we will be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the log fire.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs381
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage but hate to say grubby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I booked this cottage for my partner and also two friends to celebrate their 20th wedding anniversary. Was very impressed with the cottage on line. Website could be better, but that's just my opinion as not very easy to find something simple, such as the postcode.
Communication was good with the owner she was always very prompt with her responses.
On arrival ( after getting a little lost as the directions didn't make a great deal of sense, but the mention of the post office house helped us) the owner mr Wilton greeted us who was already in the cottage with a beautiful fire ready for us which was gorgeous! The fire really is a big selling point! The cottage felt quite chilly but to be honest it was very cold outside, the radiators were on so we were happy that the owner had made efforts to warm the cottage up. We were really touched by the two bonio biscuits waiting for the two dogs, and also a bottle of wine and vodka for us, also the welsh cakes and the lovely fresh flowers.
Mr wilton showed us around the cottage, I was keen to know how the heating worked, as there is nothing worse than being cold. Mr wilton advised us that there was a crack in the kitchen window which needed fixing and that he had booked in for someone to fix it at 10am on the Monday (after we check out)
Mr wilton then left, and we began sorting our bags. The bedrooms were lovely, although the one room without a radiator was very cold. We then started sorting dinner out, and we began to notice several plates and bowls that had muck and dirt on them, also the cutlery was filthy. The rug in the lounge was also quite grubby with marks on it.
That evening the heating had stopped working, the cottage was very cold, I called the owner that evening and he came over, he said there was a reset button that he had pressed and had managed to get it working again, he advised us that an engineer would come out the next day. The bedding was all clean and the beds very comfortable. The next day my friend was in the shower and the heating engineer had arrived, suddenly the hot water had completely ran out due to the heating engineer turning it off, needless to say she had to wash the remaining shampoo and shower gel in the sink with kettles of water.
That evening we were going to sit down at the table which was all laid out beautifully. However on closer inspection the candle holders were very sticky and grubby, also the mats and the cutlery already on the table, so we washed everything. Also the plastic cover on the table was sticky, so we removed it to find the heat mat underneath was covered in what looked like dog hairs that had been there for sometime.
Again that evening the heating packed up, I had to call the owner late that night. He told me how to reset it again.
The following morning, the hot water ran out again before we had all showered.
Throughout the stay we noticed that things were very grubby,the floor in the lounge had a layer of dust on it next to the sofa, and also the sofa had dust all along the back of it.
All in all the cottage really is a little gem and the hot tub is a huge bonus, there are lots of great little touches all over the cottage, and the utility room next door was very useful indeed. But unfortunately the cottage just wasn't clean, I'm so surprised as reading other reviews they say how spotless it was. Perhaps the cleaner just missed a lot of things before our stay. My guess is that things like the plates, cutlery etc that guests use are not checked before the next guest stays, and the assumption is that they would of been cleaned properly.
The heating problem,well I guess it's just one of those things, but the constant worry of being charged for using more than the allowance constantly loomed over us, what the timer is set on isn't enough for -1 nights.
On the day we checked out, we were contemplating have a cup of tea before we left and the owner turned up at 9.30, half an hour before I check out, so therefore it just felt like we should leave. This really was quite a shame to top the weekend off with.
If the cottage could just be given a thorough clean and the heating sorted then I would strongly recommend this to friends, so I will assume that this will be done and say I would recommend again.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: The dirty plates, cutlery and broken boiler
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for this review. We are glad that you enjoyed most things about the cottage and especially the hot tub. We sincerely apologize for the issue with the boiler. It was working perfectly at your arrival time, as you say the heating was on for you when you came, and it only went wrong quite late that evening ( you called us at about 10.45pm ) We got the engineer to it as fast as possible on the Saturday morning. Sorry but he didnt know there was someone in the shower when he had to turn off the boiler ( and therefore the hot water) to work on it. The boiler is outside -and you didnt tell him or he would certainly have waited for your friend to finish! We did apologize on your arrival but once again we are also really apologetic about the cracked kitchen window which was done by the people before you. We were very upset about this as I am sure you can imagine however mercifully it was only the inner pane of the double glazed unit so it was safe and weatherproof but not to our standard. The reason we came round on the morning of your departure was to accompany the men who came to repair it and to prevent them from chasing you out early! Their appointment was for 10 am ie at your departure time but they were slightly early, probably as we had made such a fuss of getting an urgent repair.

We are concerned that you were anxious about the quantity of oil included in the rental but there was no need to be. The meter is clearly visible and as the included amount is generous, only in snowy type weather do people usually exceed what is provided and even then by very little. Since you had brought your own supply of firewood, which reduces oil consumption of course by keeping the cottage warm,this was particularly unlikely to occur. However, because the engineer had drained a little oil in the process of servicing the boiler the amount actually used by you was uncertain and we did not even think of charging you but waived this immediately so you had no extra to pay.

Lastly what can we say about your comments about cleanliness. We are horrified and will speak to our cleaning team. We do wish you had mentioned this to us when we twice spoke to you regarding the boiler as we would have recleaned immediately. As you have seen from the many other comments this is not our usual standard.

We would like the opportunity to show you that our cleaning is rather better than you experienced We are glad that you would recommend us and we want you to be able to do it wholeheartedly! In the event that you would like to make another booking with us please do so and we will look very favourably at the cost to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Hyde
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing