We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecoming in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Homecoming in Wales”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Although we had never been in Wales, it is the land of my ancestors, so a long awaited trip. Anika and Ian made our visit so special in every way they could. From the online advice before coming about renting a car at "Wye Knot Rental" in Chepstow, travel tips, to the gracious welcome, beautiful cozy room, lovely pastoral river view, oh-so-comfy bed and advice on local activities. And anyone who stays here will comment on the glorious breakfasts! Loved all the choices and delicious favors. The Glamorgan sausage was new to us and we loved it! A-1 hosts and lovely B&B. we would love to come back!

Room Tip: We loved our river-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    94
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
231
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We arrived and were promptly greeted by the wonderful Innkeepers. We were shown to our room and we were pleasantly surprised with how spacious and lovely it was. For our son to have a room of his own while still being in our suite made for a much more relaxing evening for my husband and I. No whispering so that our son could sleep before we were ready for bed.

The breakfast menu was delightful and the quality and taste of the food simply divine! The home made jams were so creative and fun to try. The vegetarian cake was my favorite meal of our entire trip!

We will be back to visit as soon as our travels take us to Wales again! Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0l0rad0MountainMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms are all different with great linen. Relaxing after a great day's walking one is welcome but a great host in Ian and hostess in Anika. However, the veritable array of foods and drinks at breakfast was so diverse, tempting and home made that it was a shame we were there for only one day. I had, our of the four of us staying, the presence of mind to request a homemade bread rhubarb jam/marmalade sandwich which we enjoyed en route to Symonds Yat. Is staying in Tintern, this welcome should not be missed! A must.
Rose, Dave, Valerie and Kevin + Fly and Jodie.Jersey

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After cycling from Bristol to Tintern via Beachley, the king size comfy bed in our river view room was more than a sight for sore eyes. In the morning a huge and delicious breakfast with extensive choice and the option to try a bit of everything set us up for the rest of the day.

Lovely couple and was very impressed during our visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a super one night stay at the Old Rectory.

Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was a fantastic choice of teas and coffees etc.

A hot bath with plenty of hot water available was so welcome after walking from Chepstow, and although we had an en-suite bathroom, there were fluffy white bathrobes provided.

We ate at the Anchor in Tintern that evening but would have been quite happy to eat at the Old Rectory especially as we had use of the cosy guest sitting room downstairs.

An added attraction was the puppy, (and her mum) and Anika and Ian were fantastic hosts, who made us feel very welcome.

Breakfast was excellent especially the Glamorgan sausages and the Arbroath Smokies.

We'll certainly come back and stay when we're down that way again..

Room Tip: Our room at the front on the first floor had fantastic views of the River Wye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Located walking distance from Tintern Abbey and affording charming views of the beautiful Wye valley, the Old Rectory is a Victorian B and B well worth your consideration. Ian is a fabulous chef and a fountain of information on Wales and the Wye. Unfortunately we missed Anika, as she was out of town.

If you have the gumption to read through 17 pages of almost uniformly positive reviews, you will gather that the setting is peaceful, the food is ridiculously outstanding and the rooms are charming. This is all very true, and I will add that the bed is very comfortable as well. You also might note that a few reviewers complain about an odor, especially downstairs.

Before reading any further, please re-read my comments above and note that I am rating Old Rectory as a 4 and that a place would have to be nearly perfect to rate a 5 in my book. Also, please notice that the vast majority of people over dozens of reviews do not mention it. That said, here is my take on it:

It is undeniable that the odor exists, but equally obvious that most reviewers don't find it worth mentioning in light of everything else that the place has to offer. Some have suggested that hypersensitivity to household odors is an American trait, so in the interest of full disclosure, I plead "American" from the outset. To be honest, I am one of those people who, for whatever reason, found the odor overpowering on arrival. My wife and I prepared ourselves for the worst, only to find over the course of our stay that we had already experienced it. Everything else--everything--was marvelous, and we only got to meet half of the dynamic duo.

Personally, I think that the description of "pet odor' may be errant. The owners had a young and exuberant puppy who occasionally broke jail and ran out into the public area. As I love dogs, I naturally picked her up and found her smell unoffensive. My wife commented that the smell, while having a note of animal, also seemed to incorporate an element of smoke as if from a wood or corn-burning furnace. It is definitely less pervasive upstairs.

The Old Rectory is indeed an old and quirky house, but I did not feel that it was unsanitary or unhealthful in any way. I was perfectly comfortable eating and sleeping there. Some previous reviewers have commented on pet stains on the carpets. I found none. The carpets in our room bore only the stains of foot traffic that one would expect from a place that caters to those who enjoy walking through verdant valleys.

I don't think a 1790's house is ever going to smell like a Holiday Inn, nor should it. I think if Ian and Anika ever correct this issue (which again, is a non-issue for many), they will collect an endless series of 5's on this and other sites. Prospective owners should know about it and factor it into their decision. The owners should know about it as they are good and honest folk, and clearly (from previous reviews) accustomed to scents that some guest find striking.

In gruesome and perhaps tiresome honesty, I think it is all that separates them from a perfect offering.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anika-Ruby, Owner at Tintern Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely review. We don't have a problem with your mentioning the residual odour in the downstairs area. We have been discussing our dogs as almost all of the negative cooments relates to them. Although they are rarely out there when guests are around there does appear to be a residual effect. We have buyers for 3 of them who are all good well respected breeders, but quite honestly we are too busy with the business to be good dog owners now. They don't get the care and attention they deserve. Therefore in the near future we will be rehoming them and dealing with any smells downstairs. Hopefully we will get a 5 across the board on your next visit.

Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Forgot to post pictures of this wonderful property where we stayed 2 nights in May and had our best breakfast of our UK trip and warmest hosts. Ian and Anika are people you want to meet and converse with about history and Welsh culture.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anika-Ruby, Owner at Tintern Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thanks guys,

We look forward to your return some day.
Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.6 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
6.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Property: Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing