We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and welcoming”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a lovely, restful one night stay here. Ian and Anika could not have been more welcoming and generous. We had a very quiet room at the back with a private entrance. Our bed was exceptionally comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. Thank you :) Mary and Mark

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J7374NCMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    94
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
63
233
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 1 night here. We were made very welcome by Ian and Anika. Our front en suite room was clean, the bed comfortable, the view (despite the constant rain and occasional drifting mist) beautiful. The décor is a bit chintzy, but sort of in keeping with the date of this lovely old property set on a hillside overlooking the river. Free Wi-Fi is available. The room had tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was probably the best we have experienced. Most of the foods were sourced locally and organic and bread and preserves all homemade and with a wide selection of freshly prepared fruit juices. There was also kippers and Arbroath smokies on the menu. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlady and gent. Highly recommend this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for front en suite for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this picturesque bed and breakfast. Anika and Ian were incredibly welcoming and friendly and the room was lovely and comfortable.
The breakfast was exceptional with a choice like we had never seen before. All home-cooked and fresh and prevented the need for a lunch!
The bed and breakfast is the perfect place to stay for walkers as there are many beautiful walks on the doorstep. We shall definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandylangley35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for one night to visit Abbey and do some walking. We stayed in the garden room at the back which was a large room with private entrance. Ian was very helpful and friendly. His breakfast was a feast that set us up for the day. With large selection of cooked food and large selection of fruit juices. We would stay here again for a weekend away as it's so comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a must stay for anyone visiting Tintern Abbey and Wye Valley. Ian and Anika cannot do enough for guests, helping with valuable information on walks and hikes, the Abbey, Chepstow and the entire area. Best of all are the quaint and charming rooms looking out on a lovely old garden or to the river, hills and valleys beyond plus the delicious breakfasts which are truly gourmet and include homemade breads, jams, fresh, lovely eggs done in any way one chooses; in fact it is like ordering in a restaurant as they cook whatever combination you choose. Anika loaned me her waxed cloth raincoat for some of my walks as my own was inadequate for the unsettled weather. They also met me in Chepstow and helped me get to the train station as I was traveling by bus and train in the UK. I stayed three days and wished for more. The view of the Wye and their beautiful Judas tree in full bloom, my sweet room, and the great food are cherished memories. Thanks Anika and Ian!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here one night in May 2014.

Clean comfortable room with en suite. Excellent breakfast especially the Wye Valley special cooked breakfast which set us up for the day.

View out of our bedroom window of the River Wye immediately across the road gave a beautiful picture first thing in the morning.

Decor a bit quirky but would recommend for a place to break a journey. Free wifi but signal not very strong. Guest car park space across the road.

Accessed up quite a steep set of garden steps so not very suited for anyone who would find that difficult.

Room Tip: River view room offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Four of us stayed at The Old Rectory during the weekend 16/17 May for a mountain bike trip using local routes. We really enjoyed our stay, with Ian making us feel very welcome, he's a very relaxed guy and can't do enough for you with lots of advice and local knowledge. The breakfasts were superb with home made jams and fruit juice complementing a really nice range of cooked options. We were lucky with the weather with sunshine throughout, but Tintern is a beautiful place and The Old Rectory is right in the middle of it with fantastic river views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.6 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
6.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
9.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Property: Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing