We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
261
96
13
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
96
13
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadthe riverwye valleyjuicekippersamazing breakfasta lovely stayfamily suitebeautiful roomlovely placedressing gownsher husbandgarden suitefriendly hostspositive reviewsrose petalmuddy boots
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Bravo a guest house with style quaint and sophisticated. Breakfast huge choice locally sourced cooked to perfection and served with a smile.Quite simply wonderful. Location superb views and walks breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di60435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just a one night stay returning from Cornwall. The Old Rectory is very easy to find on the A466. Perfect for a visit to Tintern Abby and walks along the River Wye. Car parking is available and designated and situated directly across the road. The room was spacious with the biggest double bed I have ever seen and wonderfully comfortable. The owner Ian was friendly and courteous. You can have anything you want on the breakfast menu, it was "mix and match" and came with home-made breads and preserves. The building is old and wonderful and everything you would expect and love from these precious windows in history. I would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billyredvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have only good things to say about our recent stay at the Old Rectory. Ian the landlord was welcoming, the place is in a lovely spot, the room was beautiful and quirky and the breakfast was fantastic, having lovely thick sliced local bacon and sausages from just a few miles away, high quality home made bread and delicious fruit juices. I'm used to the best bacon available from a local farm and this met my very high standards and indeed, was one of the reasons I booked this place, having seen positive comments about the breakfast. Tintern itself is lovely and, although we only stayed one night as we were at a wedding, there appears to be no shortage of good places to eat locally and it's a well served location on a main road not far from Chepstow. I can see why a few people might not like it here, but in my book, you'd have to be very picky or suffer from OCD (the real thing, not just minor niggles) to say that The Old Rectory was anything other than charming. We are already saying we'll go back.

Room Tip: We had the larger room at the back and although it didn't have the views of the river, its own small, private patio more than made up.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights and delighted in the warm welcome we received in this perfectly placed B&B in Tintern. The parking space was useful but we then mostly walked or caught buses into Chepstow and Monmouth. The Wye Valley is such a great area to explore and our hosts had many maps and guide books to lend. The breakfasts are delicious with a wide choice at every stage of the proceedings. Do not miss the fried potatoes, cooked in a pan all of their own. Plenty of local places to eat in the evenings.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely but the one at the back has its own private entrance and an attractive en suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Perched on the hillside overlooking the beautiful Wye River Valley, this B&B is marvelous. Great walks all around on both the Welsh and English sides. We spent time just watching cows in the pasture across the winding river from our room. The breakfasts were superb and we would gladly come back for another three nights to this delightful place.

Room Tip: Ask for a River view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jayne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews