We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Week Away”
Review of Wye Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wye Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Tintern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for a week at the end of September. Hotel in excellent position for touring.
We had a really enjoyable holiday break. Hotel accommodation was very comfortable and food excellent. I have a gluten intolerance and owners of the hotel went to great lengths to make sure my choice of food was not limited. I had a full selection of Dinner choices in the evening and had gluten free cereal and bread with the usual breakfast options. Food cooked with lovely fresh produce. We also enjoyed our Real Ale in the evenings and also good company in the bar. Very Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We didn't stay at the Wye Valley Hotel, but were recommended it as a place to eat. There was a good selection of dishes on the menu including at least three vegetarian options, and as we are both veggies gave us at least a few options to choose from (and none of them were vegetarian lasagne!). The portions were generous and all seemed like good home-cooked food. There was also a good range of deserts, including a very tasty pecan tart. The bar was well stocked with some local beers and ciders, and for a hotel the prices were very reasonable. Usually we stay clear of hotel bars and restaurants for eating and drinking, but this has made us think again!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Recently returned from a 3 night weekend stay at the Wye Valley Hotel. We received a very friendly welcome and had room No8, a clean, spacious and comfortable room. The hotel was conveniently located to explore the surrounding area without having to drive. The breakfast was excellent, a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and of course Full English, cooked just right. We had two evening meals here and the choice and standard of food was excellent and very good value for money. The prices for food and drinks here are very reasonable, unlike some of the other places we visited! On the whole a nice place to stay and would definitely stay here again/recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oilyrag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at The Valley Hotel Sat 1st Sept 2012 for 3 nights,it was a wonderful short break,hotel and food was excellent.We had the Family room,that was a surprise,really enjoyed the extra room (husband has slight mobility probs) so that was an added bonus.Even the weather was lovely,will be going back asap.Lovely host's and Hanna was such a dream of a waitress, she gone back to college now,but a lovely lovely young girl,so helpful,and ALL the staff where excellent,nothing too much trouble.We are retired so a short break like this highly recommended.We will reurn when next possible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggieStonehouseglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It was a sudden arrival - (previously booked with another hotel but didn't have the facilities we required) only room available was a suite - bedroom with sumptuous bed plus tv , lounge settee chairs plus a larger tv,, kitchen sink and bathroom.Excellent
Minor distraction - background noise from bar below spoilt the 'quiet' but ended at about eleven pm.
Room gave lovely view outside the front of the hotel, and at the back (welcome contrast to the 'other hotel') - captivating by a neighbours cat sunning itself on the roof!
Breakfast - quality furnishings, varied serve yourself - had strawberries & blueberries, and the the full breakfast - best sausage I've had for many years!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights with friends. All our rooms nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast (recommend full cooked), and excellent selection of drinks at the hotel bar - do try the Wye Valley beer.
Would certainly stay again, and found it good value for money in beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Legal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions, the last being may this year.

I have to take issue with the revue regarding dogs in the restaurant.

Yes dogs can be taken in the bar and food eaten in the bar, and when we have been there our dogs and many others with their owners have enjoyed the good food on offer.

Dogs are allowed in the totally separate restaurant and I fully support that.

The couple that left because a dog was in the bar missed a good meal and need to out more. Just about all the pubs have a dog welcome policy and would certainly loose custom if they did not.

My dogs are well behaved and cleaner than many humans and having 3 (make that 4, new arrival) grandchildren we are pleased that we as a family can eat in such places.

Room Tip: Sory about the scores for pool and fitness cant get the dot to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andychainBewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#2 of 28 in Hay-on-Wye
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Valley Hotel

Address: Tintern NP16 6SQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tintern
Price Range: £86 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wye Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Wye Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wye Valley Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing