We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain stopped play!!!”
Review of Wye Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wye Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Tintern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rain stopped play!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

What a lovely place to stay! Unfortunately we chose quite possibly the wettest weekend since Noah and his Ark!!!! So the walking we had planned was not an option!
Thank you Barry and Sue for your hospitality we hope the flooding didn't get worse!!! We would totally recommend your hotel and hope to return!!
Clare and John

Room Tip: Ask for room 8.......obviously no swimming pool or fitness centre but there is no N/A option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clareph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    49
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
94
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have stayed several locations in and around Chepstow and Tintern, along the Wye Valley. We have been pleased with all of them, in general. But, none were really calling us back. However, the Wye Valley Inn has changed that for us. The breakfast was excellent. The dinners were excellent as well. We ate there every night of our trip, except one. And, we were not disappointed that we did. The menu changes daily, although things appear over several days. We tried something different every day. The room was clean, and the bathroom was excellent. We will visit Barry and his family again. He was an excellent host (along with his wife whose name I have sadly forgotten).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for a week at the end of September. Hotel in excellent position for touring.
We had a really enjoyable holiday break. Hotel accommodation was very comfortable and food excellent. I have a gluten intolerance and owners of the hotel went to great lengths to make sure my choice of food was not limited. I had a full selection of Dinner choices in the evening and had gluten free cereal and bread with the usual breakfast options. Food cooked with lovely fresh produce. We also enjoyed our Real Ale in the evenings and also good company in the bar. Very Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Clears, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We didn't stay at the Wye Valley Hotel, but were recommended it as a place to eat. There was a good selection of dishes on the menu including at least three vegetarian options, and as we are both veggies gave us at least a few options to choose from (and none of them were vegetarian lasagne!). The portions were generous and all seemed like good home-cooked food. There was also a good range of deserts, including a very tasty pecan tart. The bar was well stocked with some local beers and ciders, and for a hotel the prices were very reasonable. Usually we stay clear of hotel bars and restaurants for eating and drinking, but this has made us think again!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WelshHellsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Recently returned from a 3 night weekend stay at the Wye Valley Hotel. We received a very friendly welcome and had room No8, a clean, spacious and comfortable room. The hotel was conveniently located to explore the surrounding area without having to drive. The breakfast was excellent, a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and of course Full English, cooked just right. We had two evening meals here and the choice and standard of food was excellent and very good value for money. The prices for food and drinks here are very reasonable, unlike some of the other places we visited! On the whole a nice place to stay and would definitely stay here again/recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oilyrag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonehouseglos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at The Valley Hotel Sat 1st Sept 2012 for 3 nights,it was a wonderful short break,hotel and food was excellent.We had the Family room,that was a surprise,really enjoyed the extra room (husband has slight mobility probs) so that was an added bonus.Even the weather was lovely,will be going back asap.Lovely host's and Hanna was such a dream of a waitress, she gone back to college now,but a lovely lovely young girl,so helpful,and ALL the staff where excellent,nothing too much trouble.We are retired so a short break like this highly recommended.We will reurn when next possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieStonehouseglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It was a sudden arrival - (previously booked with another hotel but didn't have the facilities we required) only room available was a suite - bedroom with sumptuous bed plus tv , lounge settee chairs plus a larger tv,, kitchen sink and bathroom.Excellent
Minor distraction - background noise from bar below spoilt the 'quiet' but ended at about eleven pm.
Room gave lovely view outside the front of the hotel, and at the back (welcome contrast to the 'other hotel') - captivating by a neighbours cat sunning itself on the roof!
Breakfast - quality furnishings, varied serve yourself - had strawberries & blueberries, and the the full breakfast - best sausage I've had for many years!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.0 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Valley Hotel

Property: Wye Valley Hotel
Address: Tintern NP16 6SQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wye Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wye Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wye Valley Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing