We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden Coty
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visiting”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is a credit to the Best Western franchise. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was of the highest standard, clean well appointed and the bed made a very comfortable nights sleep. I would also like to mention that the menu's were very good, and had a good choice to chose from. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    119
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
55
192
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Royal George is an inn situated in the beautiful Wye valley. The two rooms we booked stretched down the garden in a single storey row. Rooms were spacious with a huge comfortable bed. We enjoyed an excellent Welsh breakfast. Hotel is just opposite the ruined Cistercian Abbey of Tintern. We wished we could have stayed for a longer period because the Royal George was welcoming and comfortable. We will return when we have more time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for one night(Saturday) at this hotel and found the staff and food very good. However we thought the room looked 'tired' and was very dark. It was a chalet type room. We had a few complaints about the room which were noted by the reception staff but overall we thought it very expensive £100 per night, for what was on offer.
We have stayed in other hotels and for this price we have had a much superior room.

Room Tip: be aware of the price when booking a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We normally stay here for one night on our way to Devon. The rooms are all in an annexe building but there is a king size and single bed. The decor in the rooms is probably a little tired,but they are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble and both Sammie and James made us very welcome. The standard of service is second to none; and the meals are beautiful. We are even allowed to take our dog with us. I would highly recommend this establishment as it ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: All annexe rooms look out on the lovely garden - so you could choose any one of them,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely people, especially front of house, Sammie. We walked in all muddy! She didn't mind in the slightest, gave us local advice and even printed out details for us to take with us. Lovely place, We recommend to all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lauratejada86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just had a great 2 night stay. The room was set back from the main building with a balcony with a lovely view.The room was spacious and very comfortable.We ate in the restaurant both nights as there was a good choice. It was very nice to have a pre dinner drink in the lounge whilst choosing our meals,Both evenings we enjoyed very nice meals served hot and freshly cooked. Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice.Staff very friendly and helpful.Great place to stay to explore area,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.6 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
7.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.5 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
703 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal George Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal George Hotel
Address: 466 On a, Tintern NP16 6SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chepstow
Chepstow Best Western
Best Western Royal George Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing