We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    116
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
188
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

did not stay at this hotel but would not hesitate to stay there in future as the setting is delightful as are the staff.
We opted for Sunday lunch, Lamb for me and beef for Jan. The meats were very tasty and plentiful with lovely fresh vegetables to accompany the meal. The pate and soup were both pleasant starters too.
Overall excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden Coty
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is a credit to the Best Western franchise. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was of the highest standard, clean well appointed and the bed made a very comfortable nights sleep. I would also like to mention that the menu's were very good, and had a good choice to chose from. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Royal George is an inn situated in the beautiful Wye valley. The two rooms we booked stretched down the garden in a single storey row. Rooms were spacious with a huge comfortable bed. We enjoyed an excellent Welsh breakfast. Hotel is just opposite the ruined Cistercian Abbey of Tintern. We wished we could have stayed for a longer period because the Royal George was welcoming and comfortable. We will return when we have more time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for one night(Saturday) at this hotel and found the staff and food very good. However we thought the room looked 'tired' and was very dark. It was a chalet type room. We had a few complaints about the room which were noted by the reception staff but overall we thought it very expensive £100 per night, for what was on offer.
We have stayed in other hotels and for this price we have had a much superior room.

Room Tip: be aware of the price when booking a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We normally stay here for one night on our way to Devon. The rooms are all in an annexe building but there is a king size and single bed. The decor in the rooms is probably a little tired,but they are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble and both Sammie and James made us very welcome. The standard of service is second to none; and the meals are beautiful. We are even allowed to take our dog with us. I would highly recommend this establishment as it ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: All annexe rooms look out on the lovely garden - so you could choose any one of them,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely people, especially front of house, Sammie. We walked in all muddy! She didn't mind in the slightest, gave us local advice and even printed out details for us to take with us. Lovely place, We recommend to all!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lauratejada86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.8 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.5 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
7.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Address: 466 On a, Tintern NP16 6SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chepstow
Chepstow Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing