We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great value great location right by the Abbey which is stunning
Staff & rooms brillant we had room 35 which has a balcony, brilliant to watch the world go by
The Anglers pub by the Abbey serves the most fantastic food
Would highly recommend the hotel & location

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Block22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've eaten at this establishment on numerous occasions and I couldn't fault it once! Everything from the friendly greeting from all staff to the plentiful options on the dinner menus. The food itself is always delicious. Would thoroughly recommend the 5 bean chilli! I told the waitress to request on my behalf that I'd like it as hot as it comes. You can really tell that all meals are made fresh to order as any (reasonable) request for a deviation to the menu is accepted. Steaks are also fantastic and if you're feeling particularly peckish definitely go for the mixed grill or rather sizable lamb shank!!!
The owners of this establishment are definitely doing it right, fantastic food and great staff in such a lovely location is something to be truly appreciated

Can't wait to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelQueenOfWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went for a long week end as a surprise birthday treat for my wife. We were both delighted with this hotel. The food was excellent, an extensive menu and large portions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definatly go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 987StephenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just had a long weekend at this lovely hotel could not fault it , staff, rooms, food were excellent and the sun was shinning and the village fete was on!!. If it's peace and quiet you are after this is the place to come , we will be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank taffy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank gtcrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

did not stay at this hotel but would not hesitate to stay there in future as the setting is delightful as are the staff.
We opted for Sunday lunch, Lamb for me and beef for Jan. The meats were very tasty and plentiful with lovely fresh vegetables to accompany the meal. The pate and soup were both pleasant starters too.
Overall excellent

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LesandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.4 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.4 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
9.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal George Hotel

Address: 466 On a, Tintern NP16 6SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chepstow
Chepstow Best Western
Best Western Royal George Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing