We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with helpful, friendly staff and fine foods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place with helpful, friendly staff and fine foods”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We could not fault anything. Very good value for money. Superb setting, beautiful gardens very well maintained and colourful. Lovely to sit in the garden and hear the sound of the water rushing down to join the River. Saw an Otter in the River Wye by the Abbey just before we left - what a bonus!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 688sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    116
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
188
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice Hotel opposite Tintern Abbey. Quite, though on a main road. Rooms set back behind main building, ours was on ground floor, leading straight on to the lawn. Staff very helpful, food very good, with excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tintern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What the hotel lacks in facilities is more than made up by the excellent and efficient service and the location. The food is excellent and not too expensive and the hotel is well situated to enjoy a large area of stunning countryside, castles, country homes, and wildlife, In addition, it is located in easy reach of Bristol, Gloucester, Cardiff and Newport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Hadyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great value great location right by the Abbey which is stunning
Staff & rooms brillant we had room 35 which has a balcony, brilliant to watch the world go by
The Anglers pub by the Abbey serves the most fantastic food
Would highly recommend the hotel & location

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Block22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've eaten at this establishment on numerous occasions and I couldn't fault it once! Everything from the friendly greeting from all staff to the plentiful options on the dinner menus. The food itself is always delicious. Would thoroughly recommend the 5 bean chilli! I told the waitress to request on my behalf that I'd like it as hot as it comes. You can really tell that all meals are made fresh to order as any (reasonable) request for a deviation to the menu is accepted. Steaks are also fantastic and if you're feeling particularly peckish definitely go for the mixed grill or rather sizable lamb shank!!!
The owners of this establishment are definitely doing it right, fantastic food and great staff in such a lovely location is something to be truly appreciated

Can't wait to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelQueenOfWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went for a long week end as a surprise birthday treat for my wife. We were both delighted with this hotel. The food was excellent, an extensive menu and large portions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definatly go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 987StephenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just had a long weekend at this lovely hotel could not fault it , staff, rooms, food were excellent and the sun was shinning and the village fete was on!!. If it's peace and quiet you are after this is the place to come , we will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank taffy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.8 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.5 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
7.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Address: 466 On a, Tintern NP16 6SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chepstow
Chepstow Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing