We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
220
134
34
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
134
34
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingwye valleychalet stylesoupchepstow racesthe ground floorlounge barshort staycharming hotelsunday lunchby chancebest westernswithout exceptionreal alelovely settingstayed for one nightevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were not sure what to expect, having been unable to stay at the hotel we normally used when visiting the area, since it was fully booked, but we needn't have worried. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we experienced a very high level of service, with a very friendly greeting from all staff at reception and in the bar and restaurant. Although not a luxury hotel all the amenities were of a high standard. We had a large bed, with plenty of pillows. The bedroom was well equipped, with lots of drawer and shelf space and Wi Fi access. Very interesting menus, with the ability to 'mix and match' from the restaurant 'a la carte''and pub style menus. There was a full breakfast menu, with generous portions for those wanting them, but with personal requests attended to promptly. A hotel to be thoroughly recommended, and all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

In August my wife and I were taking an evening drive through Tintern. Just on the off chance we called into the Royal George Hotel. The moment we walked in we were met by a pleasant young lady, we were directed to the spacious rather elegant lounge. Ordered a few drinks and placed our meal order. A young lady escorted us thru to the restaurant and we were served our meals very promptly. We were very happy with the meal. We were very impressed with the decor, The owners have taken great care to make the hotel look slightly "oldy worldy ." whilst still maintaining that old fashion feeling that is lost in many Hotels. All of the staff were very pleasant , polite and very attentive. Our feelings were obviously shared by many other people, the Lounge was very busy.. Will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a Best Western hotel this particular example is situated in a glorious location overlooking Tintern Abbey and the river. The main building is charming, the rooms are in an annexe and are more motel style, clean and featureless, must say that it is first time I have slept in a bed with sheets and blankets since the 20th century.

We had booked because of the advertised being dog friendly. The two rooms we utilised were indeed reserved for dogs but the hospitality did not extend to the main building so we could not eat or drink at this hotel despite being charged additional £20 for the hounds, must be they have to Hoover twice.

Otherwise pleasant and unremarkable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eddy_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just spent two days at the Royal George whilst visiting the Wye valley. I can't praise the place and staff enough. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean. Every detail is taken care enough. The restaurant food was to die for and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Thanks a million.
Barry from Kinsale.

Room Tip: All garden rooms are quiet well away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pats S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have had a few snacks in the bar over the last few months and they have been very good the bar is very pleasant and food first class, so this Sunday 3rd August thought try Sunday lunch fabulous will be going again soon food well presented and enjoyable restaurant cosy and inviting my only small complaint drinks a bit expensive but thats same in most places wont worry me to much as i can stick to tea or coffee.My Score is 15 out of 10

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Antony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews