We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2006

We stayed at the George as a Valentines treat and a relaxing getaway. The room we had was a good size...Although the decor was a little dated, the bed itself was excellent - kingsize & very comfortable - had a very good nights sleep. The bathroom, not quite so good - was rather shabby with mildew-y bits around the edge of the tub - nothing a good scrubbing and perhaps a bit of a light overhaul wouldn't solve though.

The biggest gripe I had with the place was the morning housekeeping policy... In my experience of hotels when a guest is checking out that day it is surely customary to wait until the guests have left to do the housekeeping so that the guests can enjoy the time they have left and also so that the cleaning can be completed thoroughly? Not so at the Royal George...at 8:30am we were awoken by the chambermaid trying to get in to the room (regardless of the do not disturb sign), we asked if she could come back in a couple of hours once we had checked out...half an hour later we went for breakfast(nothing special - quite small offerings), with plans of returning to the room afterwards to relax on the balcony before heading off...we returned to the room to find all of our towels taken away, the bed stripped and the door left wide open whilst all of our personal belongings were in there. Not wanting to get in the way (even though we'd paid £116 for the privelige!) we went out for a walk instead of staying in the room and when we returned the room had been finished...BUT, the bedspread had not been changed (although it could definately have done with it and we now needed to use the towels that were supposedly 'fresh' for the next guest. It all seemed a bit backwards to me really, and somewhat annoying...Not the relaxing morning I had in mind.

On a more positive note - if you fancy a good, filling meal in Tintern we had a lovely evening meal in the Moon & Sixpence pub up the road - very friendly cosy little place - just what you need after a walk up to Devils Pulpit!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SouthWalesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2005

Spent a weekend in Wales and on the way back to London stopped for some lunch in Tintern, Chepstow. The Royal George Hotel looked like a safe bet. There were some interesting Asian dishes on the menu among all the usual British offer. But it was Sunday and the only menu was the set lunch for £10.25 for two courses. However the low price is matched by low quality. The atmosphere and the food are terrible. It caters primarily for older people. The food is institutionalised pap, mass market poor quality catering fodder. There were lots of local families and retired folk enjoying their treat which is fair enough.

After the scampi (frozen) my partner couldnt face his roast beef and yorkshire pudding as it reminded him of his childhood eating experiences - a time he really wanted to forget. We beat a hasty retreat.

As he picked up his bag on the way out, to his disgust there was a furball on the carpet. The dining room smells like an old school dinner hall and the adolescent waiting staff can't keep the smirks off their faces as they serve 70's frozen (in time and quality) food.

If you are sophisticated, know the difference between farmed and organic produce, have your own teeth and enjoy the taste of real food, avoid at all costs.

8  Thank cockneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egonwho, Owner at Best Western Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Looking back at some very old reviews we feel it is relevant to tell you that this hotel changed hands in the summer of 2007
The hotel is now owned and managed by very experienced hoteliers who have tried to get Trip Adviser to remove review that were posted before 2007 without success.
Maybe one day you will return to Tintern and enjoy your visit

James McMorrough MHCIMA & Samantha Wright
Owners since Summer 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Coventry, England
13
Reviewed 20 May 2004

The chosen hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to use again if in the area. The Wye Valley was also beautiful at this time of year.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
leicester
17
Reviewed 21 May 2003

The hotel was above the standard of a three star hotel.Although expensive, the food was of high quality and nicely presented. The staff were very helpful and obliging. They allow well behaved dogs. Situated at Tintern ideal for pleasant walks along the disused railway track.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renwe8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Guenter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimo1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.4 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
6.1 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
9.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal George Hotel

Address: 466 On a, Tintern NP16 6SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chepstow
Chepstow Best Western
Best Western Royal George Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing