We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value set lunch in pleasant surroundings”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal George Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Tintern
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value set lunch in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Slightly faded hotel close to Tintern Abbey but serving good quality food. The set lunch was good value at £10.95 for 2 courses with a good range of choices, and the service friendly. We sat in the garden which was pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sadly past it's best before date!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I like the Royal George and have a soft spot for the old place. I even had my wedding reception there. I have visited a lot over the last 10 years and was saddened by the decline in the food choice and quality. The menu was quite frankly less than I would expect in a Harvester, and both my wife and I struggled to choose a meal. But, out of affection for the old girl we made our choices. Wrong choice - we should have gone elsewhere! Sadly the food was less than I would have expected from a mediocre cafe. AlanK578 must have been to a different Hotel because I think the chefs main contribution was the 3663 'Ping' touch.
The final nail was listening to the propriator explaining to an Irish lady that proper Irish coffe always has a gloop of frozen whipped cream on top.
Very sad - this was once a nice place for a nice meal, good quality food, nice atmosphere. Now the only thing unchanged is the decor.
Hope it improves - but won't hold my breath!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DessertMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good wholesome selection of food”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We arrived very late and nothing was too much trouble, as it did not matter we were the last guests at table

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Romantic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“For Food Lovers”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Brilliant Chef who delivers excellent meals. The choice of meals can be a little overwhelming, but once you get used to the menu, the quality and quantity is five star. If you want less on your plate, just ask.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanK578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal George Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tintern, Monmouthshire
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Royal George Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing