We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at ballycanal this last summer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballycanal Self Catering
Ranked #2 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bretagne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at ballycanal this last summer”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Ballycanal manor is very well situaded. You are near the train station and you can go where you want. The owners Christina and Theresa are very nice and the place is lovely : the cottages and B and B too. You can have a very good cooked breakfast in the B and B if you want. I have a very good memory of my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    6
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I revisited this cottage after a wonderful experience this year. When my wife accidentally locked her keys in the car (and of course the cottage keys were in it too), she went way out of our way to help us get into the cottage, made several phone calls to the AA and rental car service, drove us to the park, etc. Cottage #3 is very bright and roomy, with great views and large and well-equipped kitchen. It is perfect for a family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here as we had a wedding in the area - the area itself is very small with not much happening there are a couple of nice shops but it really is kind of blink and you miss it! Not very many b&b s here so choose this one as it was 4 star - bit of a mistake. The curtains were not fitting properly actually hanging off in places and the carpet was just old and tired as were most of the fittings. The grout in the bathroom could do with a refresh as it just looks really bad. We stayed in the main house - very mousty so very glad that we just arrived showered and went to the wedding! I would rate this as a 2 star b&b.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the Guest House and to be honest that was enough. It is OK but far from as luxurious as I had expected from their website.One of the curtains was hanging off the wall, the heating only seemed to come on for about 10 minutes twice a day at inappropriate times and the bath and shower gels were in dispensers - very tacky.

On the plus side the staff were nice and the breakfast wasn't too bad,there was a good well functioning shower and it was quiet in spite of being not far from a busy motorway.

The proximity to the railway station was great (Bangor-Portadown line with subsequent connections to Newry and Dublin).

Unfortunately if you don't have a car it is a good mile's walk into Moira village (worth visiting once!)There is a nice gift shop and bakery and a couple of interesting 'boutiques' but the fish and chips I had from the 'traditional' fish and chip takeaway were rather tasteless.There is also a Boots, a SuperValu and a Centra supermarket.

The Cottages, though a bit expensive, are better - large, bright, backing onto the river/canal where you can go for walks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballycanalmanor, Manager at Ballycanal Self Catering, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review we appreciate all comments from our guests.

I was however disappointed to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us in the guesthouse. It is unfortunate you did not bring any of your concerns to my attention whilst you were staying with us. If I was made aware of the above problems I would have happily resolved them there and then for you.

The timings of the heating can be adjusted quickly and very easily. I have in the past adjusted heat settings to suit individual preferences of guests.

Upon check-out of your room we noticed that a single curtain hook had broken which caused the tail end of the right hand side curtain to hang loose. The curtain was not like this upon check-in and it was fixed the day you checked out. I apologise that this was not spotted sooner, again had we known this had happened we would have immediately fixed it.

Moira village is an award winning village which is very popular as a day trip destination for residents throughout Northern Ireland. We have always found tourists very much enjoy the village especially during the summer when the flowers are in full bloom...the coffee shops are also a favourite with many visitors!

Our self catering cottages on average cost as little as £17 per person per night this includes heating and 20% vat. Previous guests of the cottages have both commented and reviewed our self catering cottages as 'excellent' value for money.

We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding the quality of service you received and indeed the quality of breakfasts. All the team at Ballycanal work very hard to make our guests experience as enjoyable as possible and it really pleases us to hear all our hard work pays off. Many thanks for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I recently cycled from Glasgow to Co.Leitrim in Southern Ireland and stayed over at the Ballycanal Guest House for one night on route. It has a really homely atmosphere and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. After a hard day on the saddle, the superb bed in particular helped me to unwind and prepare me for the next leg of my journey. Similarly, the quality of the hearty full Irish Breakfast was excellent. Moira Village is only 10 mins walk away along a safe pavemented road, and is well worth taking a wander up to. The House itself is situated in fine countyside with lovely views and walks along the canal. Undoubtably, I will be back and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballycanalmanor, Manager at Ballycanal Self Catering, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all comments from our guests and it greatly pleases me and my team to hear a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay and is happy to recommend us.

Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future and many thanks for your business.

Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We chose Ballycanal because it was close to Edenmore Golf & Country Club where my cousin was having her wedding. We booked in for 3 days/2 nights in the self-catering cottage & my brother & his daughter were booked into the B & B. We received very friendly welcome by Theresa's sister & were given our key to the cottage (we had turned up early & the cottage was ready...excellent). The cottage was very spacious & lovely & clean, we were totally made up with it. Having 2 young boys with us, we were made up there was plenty of space outside for them to play.
Location was fab: just off the motorway & easy to find. Its only a short distance into Belfast, although some of our family live in Lisburn, which is a thriving city with plenty of shops, cafes & pubs too & is only a 20 minute drive (another reason we chose Ballycanal). Moira train station is close by (and no we didn't hear any noise) but we hired a car so didn't need to use it. Moira itself has a pub.... The 4 trees (oldy worldy) & an excellent Italian called the Ivory, which is not too expensive. Food was fabulous & service was excellent. We were going to try the Tannery, but couldn't fit it in, due to lack of time. Friday night we tried The Bauhinia Palace (behind the petrol station at the top of the hill) chinese (take-away) again excellent. All in all thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazy1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballycanalmanor, Manager at Ballycanal Self Catering, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all comments from our guests .

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at our self catering cottages. I was also happy to hear you took advantage of our location and were able to enjoy the restaurants in the village. It's also nice to hear you got an opportunity to visit Lisburn and Belfast . I would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to Ballycanal in the future. Thanks again for your business and for recommending us.

Hopefully we will see you soon.



Many thanks for your business.

Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Spent a week in the self catering cottages and had an enjoyable relaxing break with the family. The hosts were very welcoming and looked after our every need from start to finish. Spacious rooms that easily accommodated our family of six. Beds were very comfortable and the cottage was very clean. Great location beside Moira train station, we were able to get the train for a day trip to Belfast. Moira village nearby about 15 minute walk. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torontotraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moira
2.8 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moira Guest House
Moira Guest House
#1 of 3 in Moira
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Vandees Boutique B & B
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Flatfield House
#2 of 2 in Moira
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballinderry Inn
Ballinderry Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Ballinderry
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballycanal Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycanal Self Catering

Property: Ballycanal Self Catering
Address: 2A Glenavy Road, Moira, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballycanal Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Accommodation at a 5* Location. Our 4* NITB approved Guest Accommodation and Self Catering Cottages is excellently located at M1 Junction 9, Moira/Airport roundabout. We are situated 10 minutes by car to Lisburn and Craigavon, 20 minutes to Belfast International Airport, 30 minutes from Belfast Harbour, 40 minutes from Larne Ferry Terminal. In addition we are 3 minutes walk from Moira Train Station and15 minutes walk from Moira Village.Ballycanal Manor is ideally situated overlooking the Lagan Navigation Canal. The unique canal side location provides a perfect resource for peaceful walks, fishing and cycling. Our rooms are all ensuite with free Wi-Fi access, digital plasma T.V, Sky sports and movies, DVD player and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can avail of complementary cool filtered water and use of a private guest lounge to enjoy family get-togethers and/or business meetings. Self Catering Cottages consist of five, two storey houses, built in a courtyard style and designed in a contemporary fashion providing bright and spacious living areas. The open plan living/dining and kitchen area have two sets of patio doors which lead to paved patio area with landscaped walled gardens, picnic areas with BBQ facilities and private car parking. Disabled cottage available. Room’s ensuite. Fully equipped kitchens. Awarded 4 Star NITB classification.Our accommodation is an alternative to hotel stays offering you freedom, peace and privacy, at a lower cost. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly welcome is promised. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballycanal Self Catering Moira, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing