We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at self catering cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballycanal Self Catering
Ranked #2 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at self catering cottage”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very helpful staff and beautiful setting. Attended a wedding nearby and stayed at the cottage with a small group of friends. Clean linen and good showers - two en suite rooms suited us. Also good provisions in the kitchen/dining area. Very spacious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I would highly recommend the Ballycanal Self-Catering Cottages for anyone traveling through this area. I recently spent two weeks visiting with a friend in the Swan Cottage and was impressed by the cleanliness, location and friendliness of the staff. Christina was above and beyond helpful when I was making the reservation and also when it came to helping us take a side trip to Scotland. She made phone calls and printed out schedules without hesitation. Genevieve was also extremely friendly and helpful and both were interested in making sure everything was going well on our end.

The cottage was bright, comfortable and the perfect location for our needs. Walking into Moira was an easy and enjoyable experience. The train station was just a quick walk away and made getting around so easy. Also, having an outdoor area to sit and chat during nice weather was a bonus.

I was also able to invite my friend's family over for dinner one evening so having cooking facilities was much nicer than meeting them at a restaurant because it made for more relaxed conversation. They were also impressed with the cottage and will happily recommend it to anyone they know who is traveling in the area.

Again, we can't thank you enough for your hospitality and concern that we were having a nice, relaxing holiday. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Breakfast skimpy and overcooked.
Room servicing not consistent.
For the money, shampoo and a biscuit is not too much to ask.
All surfaces are sticky- too much chemical cleaner I think.
Not value for money or very satisfactory.
I will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sapper534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I booked a cottage for a wedding stay for single occupancy (couple) recently. We got a single occupancy rate. When it turned out a relative had nowhere to stay, we sought to get full occupancy of the cottage. Upon enquiring I was told it would be an additional £50 per night. This brought it to £25 per night over the cost for the cottage per night that I was originally quoted. When I challenged this I was told that the cottage was charged by occupancy, which isn't what I was told upon enquiring about the cottage originally. Only when I said we'd be leaving was I offered the cottage rate instead of occupancy rate.

Nowhere are prices stated on their website. It seems they make it up as they go along.

The cottage was also littered with signs that told you how they wanted the cottage managed to the point that there was a sign telling you not to use larger pots on the front of the hob. Very odd. It was also cheaply furnished which isn't consistent with the rate of £110 per night and I had a dressing table mirror in my bedroom held together with blu tack that I couldn't use for risk of it falling apart.

Annoyingly there is also an electricity deposit for the card and electricity is charged. The setup seems to be done as cheaply as possible to the point that it impacts on the enjoyment of the place. This, coupled with the charging experience, and silly signage, made me wonder if we aren't one big inconvenience rather than guests. We even had to buy bin bags to throw garbage away and we ran out of toilet paper after one night when we'd booked for 4 nights. And one bedroom had not even a bar of soap in the bathroom.

We have stayed all over the UK in self catering apartments and there is usually some form of welcome: a pint of milk, a small bottle of wine, a bit of something. Instead there seemed to be leftover groceries from previous occupants.

The lack of welcome, basic items, and haggling over money made this a sad experience. I was so looking forward to getting away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaxFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,287 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,482 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Ballycanal Manor on a friend's recommendation. We arrived at the B&B at 5 pm and the place looked deserted! Nobody was there to greet us and a note was left on the door with the keys under the mat. Not your typical B&B where the owners either live in the house or have someone greeting guest arriving at "normal" hours. I totally understand if we arrived before 6 am or after 10pm, but 5pm in the afternoon? We then proceeded to our rooms (2 couples) to change, shower and go out to dinner. The owners then showed up (around 630ish) and were nice enough to guide us to where we had reservation for dinner later that evening. Very nice younger couple with a couple of young kids.

On our return to the B&B (around 11pm) later that evening, we proceeded to the living room, had some drinks and watched a movie. Again, the place was deserted and felt a little creepy. And I say that because as we were enjoying the movie (around midnight), some man banged at the window real hard and totally scared the living hell out of the four of us. I then opened the front door and 5 people that were part of a wedding party walked in telling us that they were staying here and lost their keys!??? They tried to reach the owners (in vain since it was past midnight) and waited in the living room with us. We then felt "intruded" on as they were all real drunk from their evening and proceeded back to our rooms. We could barely get any sleep that night as all of them were just very loud and obnoxious. It is obviously not the owner's fault that they lost their keys and that those people had no manners, but nonetheless, you expect to be able to have a good night of sleep when you pay over $110/night for a B&B.

The next day, after a very good breakfast, the owners were in a hurry to head to church and were rushing us with the payment (around 10am, even though check out was at noon) even though they said; no rush! But it felt like that song; You don't have to go, but you cant stay here...kind of deal! We then paid our dues and left with a very sour taste in our mouth after spending a wonderful time in the south of Ireland, where the hospitality was at a different level!

So in recap, the rooms themselves were nice, the breakfast was very good and the owners were nice, but it just felt like they had no idea on how to run a B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Beautiful location with great views. Lovely, warm welcoming staff who will do anything for you. Lovely accommodation with comfortable beds and lovely seating areas. The perfect place for a family holiday. We will definitely be booking to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SL3ACHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craigavon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My new daughter-in -law booked the Ballycanal guest house for the night of her wedding as they were getting married nearby, unfortunately two days before the wedding she received a phone call to say there was a double booking and the room was no longer available, luckily the Seagoe Hotel offered them the bridal suite at the same price Ballycanal were charging. Well done Seagoe, but never the less we feel Ballycanal were not very professional .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moira
3.2 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
25 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
2.8 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moira Guest House
Moira Guest House
#1 of 3 in Moira
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lismaine Cottage
Lismaine Cottage
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballycanal Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycanal Self Catering

Property: Ballycanal Self Catering
Address: 2A Glenavy Road, Moira, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballycanal Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Accommodation at a 5* Location. Our 4* NITB approved Guest Accommodation and Self Catering Cottages is excellently located at M1 Junction 9, Moira/Airport roundabout. We are situated 10 minutes by car to Lisburn and Craigavon, 20 minutes to Belfast International Airport, 30 minutes from Belfast Harbour, 40 minutes from Larne Ferry Terminal. In addition we are 3 minutes walk from Moira Train Station and15 minutes walk from Moira Village.Ballycanal Manor is ideally situated overlooking the Lagan Navigation Canal. The unique canal side location provides a perfect resource for peaceful walks, fishing and cycling. Our rooms are all ensuite with free Wi-Fi access, digital plasma T.V, Sky sports and movies, DVD player and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can avail of complementary cool filtered water and use of a private guest lounge to enjoy family get-togethers and/or business meetings. Self Catering Cottages consist of five, two storey houses, built in a courtyard style and designed in a contemporary fashion providing bright and spacious living areas. The open plan living/dining and kitchen area have two sets of patio doors which lead to paved patio area with landscaped walled gardens, picnic areas with BBQ facilities and private car parking. Disabled cottage available. Room’s ensuite. Fully equipped kitchens. Awarded 4 Star NITB classification.Our accommodation is an alternative to hotel stays offering you freedom, peace and privacy, at a lower cost. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly welcome is promised. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballycanal Self Catering Moira, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing