We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moira Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here one night and it was a very good experience.

I was welcomed by a very nice young man and shown to my room straight away.

The room (a twin let as a single) was a very good size and tastefully decorated and the ensuite bathroom was also a good size with a choice of bath or shower. There was a well stocked hospitality tray (much better than you get in most hotels nowadays) and nice individual toiletries in the bathroom, also a hair drier and even a clothes de-fluffer!

There was a great choice of food for breakfast, served by pleasant and efficient staff - I was delighted that they were even able to rustle up some vegetarian sausages without notice!

The guesthouse is right in the centre of the village so supermarkets, take-aways and bars/resstaurants are very convenient. If you're coming from Belfast by public transport use the express bus rather than the train as it's a l-o-n-g uphill walk from the railway station.

Only one small complaint - the shower would be easier to use if it didn't have a plastic clip on it which prevents the head being lifted down to wash hair, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed there for 2 nights the staff made us feel very welcome home from home.lovely clean rooms and everything you would ever need was provided for you . food was great.b&b was fully booked for most of my family who also were very happy with this lovely B&B.........

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I've never stayed in a guest house before, however, having heard from friends how wonderful a night away at this guest house is, I decided to try it for myself. I was so shocked when my boyfriend and I pulled up in front of a beautiful Georgian property situated right on the main street.

We were greated by a friendly Australian girl at check in who provided us with the perfect choice of restaurant and efficiently showed us to our room. The customer service I received throughout the stay was exceptional!

Rooms are extremely well laid out with all mod cons and superb tea/coffee facilities with added little treats. Bathrooms are very well equipped with great showers!

The breakfast was every bit as good as a high end 5 star hotel. Excellent choice of cooked breakfasts to suit all.

I have to say...this is a little gem of a place and I will definitly return!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeaininBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, Owner at Moira Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Glad you had a great stay with us and thanks for being so complimentary about all of the team. Come back soon...Phil and Gillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I personally called to book two friends into this guest house situated right in the middle of the village of Moira. This Victorian house has been completely renovated and retains many of the original features.

My friends arrived early on Tuesday morning and were shown immediately to their room although check in time was not until 3pm. They were warmly welcomed by Linda who was more than helpful during the two day stay. The bedroom was comfortable and tastefully furnished and the sleep quality was good.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room overlooking the main street and provided an excellent selection from a full Irish breakfast to a continental selection. The residents lounge also overlooks the main street and is really comfortable with a real coal fire burning brightly.

Linda kindly laid on coffee, tea and superb Moira Bakery scones for ten of us late morning so that the guests could meet and talk with their friends in comfort. This guest house is really a home from home experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, Owner at Moira Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon...Phil and Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and found it a relaxed, friendly and very welcoming hotel. I was made to feel very welcome, and loved the music playing during the day - reminded me of my travels around Oz (sorry to the resident Kiwi but it's meant as a compliment)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, Owner at Moira Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thanks for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I used the B&B as a base for some business trips in the area and found it ideal. The rooms were of a good size and in a good condition. Wifi was free, which was a bonus.
Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Parking is outside, but I have been back a couple of times and not had a problem.....although during the day the free hours are limited.
I would certainly recommend it for both a business and holiday stopover.

Room Tip: I have been back twice and been in the same room at the rear of the B&B. This is away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Charming guest house set in an old historic house on the main street - more like a village hotel - lovely, very clean and handy to all amenities. We ate in a lovely restaurant just next door called the Ivory - would reccommend. Excellent breakfast...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moira
8.4 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
102 reviews
3 mi away
The Vandees Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moira Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moira Guest House

Address: 65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moira Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished Georgian Property is in the heart of the historic village of Moira, Lisburn and is within walking distance of restaurants, boutique shops and award winning bars. 10 excellent En suite rooms with Powerful showers, Free Wi-Fi and a breakfast to remember..Moira Village is an excellent base to explore Northern Ireland and is just 15 minutes from Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Moira Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moira Guest House Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing