We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Moira Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moira Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Found this hidden gem via late booking for a business trip but was delighted with the warm welcome, beautiful guest house and relaxing rooms with super breakfast. Only minor drawback is noise from traffic at the front of the house but the management have thoughtfully provided earplugs in the room. Also lots of good eating places within a few steps from the house. Definitely want to return on holiday and soak up the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the house if you are a light sleeper due to noise from main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVauditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
29
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iver Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Due to a sudden change in plans we were in N.I. with no where to stay. Thought I knew Moira well never realised that this gem of a guest house was there. A lovely place to stay. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable and the staff were fantastic. The breakfast the next morning was exceptional. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was really taken aback by this guest house, can't rate it highly enough. Staff, room and breakfast was excellent. I was so surprised by the size of our room, lovely bay windows overlooking the main street, which was so quiet too, on the saturday morning. Breakfast was very relaxed, served to us at our table in a very airy room again with lovely views of moira's main street. The hosts were, pleasant, happy and attentive, even offered us the use of the living room when we checked out which had a big range of books, dvds and a radio. We would love to have stayed on but had people to see the next day. Hopefully we'll be back again soon :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0le1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Myself and a friend stayed in the Moira Guest House whilst visiting a friend who has recently had a baby. The staff of the guest house couldn't of been more accomodating, one member of staff even offered to go to the local gagrage for us to get ice for our Baileys later on in the evening after we had returned. Breakfast on the Saturday was excellent, we didn't need lunch on the Saturday and on the Sunday when the power went off in the street the two members of staff on duty delt with cooking breakfast and all the associated problems of no electricity superbly. The room number 7 twin room was clean, comfortable and warm. The bathroom was clean and looked modern. Overall have had a fantastic stay and weekend, complete value for money. The only negative comment i have to make and not a fault of the guest house is the noise you can hear from the nearby pub on a Friday and Saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joloumcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed in this Guest House for 2 nights when visiting for a funeral. I found that the manager and the whole staff were very caring and thoughtful. They made our stay very comfortable and they all tried to make us feel welcome. They provided super breakfasts ! We will go again !
H. Elsdon

Room Tip: Family room at front great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I have stayed several nights recently and I cannot speak highly enough about the place. Friendly and extremely helpful staff, quietly and tastefully decorated I really thought it was great. Special mention must be made for the delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol_boy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

..we stayed for only one night with my two small children under two and my mother at this guest house, but wished it was longer!! It was a great location, very handy to motorway and had a brilliant pub across the road that served fabulous food. The manager was excellent and couldn't do enough for us to make our stay more comfortable, they were very accommodating with the kids and we enjoyed a top quality breakfast in the morning. Rooms were of a very high standard and modern. Can't recommend this place highly enough 5stars!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moira
1.8 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.7 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lismaine Cottage
Lismaine Cottage
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moira Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moira Guest House

Property: Moira Guest House
Address: 65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moira Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished Georgian Property is in the heart of the historic village of Moira, Lisburn and is within walking distance of restaurants, boutique shops and award winning bars. 10 excellent En suite rooms with Powerful showers, Free Wi-Fi and a breakfast to remember..Moira Village is an excellent base to explore Northern Ireland and is just 15 minutes from Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moira Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moira Guest House Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing