We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a guest house!!!!!!”
Review of Moira Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moira Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just arrived back in Manchester after a weekend stay with my partner in Moira Guest House from the second we arrived late on Friday night we were greeted my Tim who was so helpful, friendly and polite but this was just the beginning of our stay here where the service was excellent the room we were given was outstanding so tastefully decorated in line with the age of the building. We were also able to use the free wifi throughout our stay which is I know you are charged for in other places. We opted both mornings for the cooked breakfast which was cooked to perfection (thanks Tim). So to sum up can't recommend Moira Guest House enough for excellent service in a friendly village setting

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

A beautifully restored Georgian house with superb bedrooms ideally set in the heart of Moira village...but what really sets this guesthouse apart are its fantastic staff...attentive, friendly and willing to go the extra mile for any of their guests...nothing is too much trouble, oh and not forgetting a fabulous breakfast served with a smile!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had the good fortune of booking a room at Moira House for one night. It was outstanding - they went out of their way to accommodate our request for a ground floor for my 84 year old Mom. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The guest house is warm and inviting, especially with the fire in the lounge. Tim was wonderful in hosting our stay there....even went himself to the pub down the street when my Mom forgot her purse - outstanding!!! Would recommend it in a second!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Enjoyed two night's stay at Moira's GH in May 2013, during a work trip that took me to several places around Northern Ireland.
This lovely Guest House is by far the best accommodation I've had on this trip.
Nice wee town (with an excellent Indian restaurant as well), Moira is in a great location, transport-wise.
The Guest House is clean, tastefully furnished and very hospitable.
The room I stayed in had everything I wanted: plenty of sockets for charging up my electronics (2 computers and a mobile phone), good wi-fi signal, tv, tea/coffee making facilities, and nice bathroom, shower featuring fine-tuning of water temperature.
Plenty of options at breakfast, with everything prepared to taste.
Gwinny brings a touch of Southern hemisphere cool to this part of the world, and runs MGH with friendliness and expertise.
Friendly, and faultless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erminchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Cannot praise this little gem enough. Booked it for one night as we were visiting friends nearby. The welcome we recieved from Nathan on our arrival was both friendly and cheerful. Our room, (Room 8) for those who may have difficulty with climbing stairs, was on the ground floor and was both modern and tastefully furnished with a very comfortable bed. More than adequate tea and coffee in the room. Again the bathroom was modern and as with the rest of the premises was of a very high standard in the hygiene stakes. Fresh towels with shampoo and shower gel supplied in abundance. Free wifi was an added bonus without the "botheration" of committing to email addresses for advertising purposes. The breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent and cooked and served by Alison. The food was quite obviously cooked to order - and it showed!!!. Recently we stayed in a very well known hotel in Belfast and I can assure all that they would learn a thing or two about producing a traditional Irish breakfast here.

Well done MOIRA GUEST HOUSE !!!

Room Tip: Room 8 is on the ground floor and very accessible from the rear of the premises were car parking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishEyesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, Owner at Moira Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you very much for these very kind comments...We've let Nathan and Alison know how impressed you were and hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Phil and Gillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Found this hidden gem via late booking for a business trip but was delighted with the warm welcome, beautiful guest house and relaxing rooms with super breakfast. Only minor drawback is noise from traffic at the front of the house but the management have thoughtfully provided earplugs in the room. Also lots of good eating places within a few steps from the house. Definitely want to return on holiday and soak up the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the house if you are a light sleeper due to noise from main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVauditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Due to a sudden change in plans we were in N.I. with no where to stay. Thought I knew Moira well never realised that this gem of a guest house was there. A lovely place to stay. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable and the staff were fantastic. The breakfast the next morning was exceptional. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moira Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moira Guest House

Address: 65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range: £73 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moira Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished Georgian Property is in the heart of the historic village of Moira, Lisburn and is within walking distance of restaurants, boutique shops and award winning bars. 10 excellent En suite rooms with Powerful showers, Free Wi-Fi and a breakfast to remember..Moira Village is an excellent base to explore Northern Ireland and is just 15 minutes from Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Moira Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moira Guest House Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing