We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, friendly guesthouse”
Review of Moira Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moira Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well positioned, friendly guesthouse”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed two nights whilst visiting a friend near Moira. The guesthouse is very well positioned. I received a lovely welcome on arrival. My room was extremely spacious with an excellent bathroom. There was lots of hot water. The tea tray was well stocked and there were special gluten free biscuits for me. The breakfast was excellent and again provided gluten free toast.
Very well located, easy to find and just next to a very pleasant local high street. Excellent for people travelling to and around Belfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish_Ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
30
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dromore, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Enjoyed a pleasant overnight stay here with some friends recently. I travel regularly with work and this little gem of a property would indeed rival any big brand name hotel chain. It's a beautiful guest house ideally located in the heart of Moira village just off the M1 motorway with easy access to road and rail network, along with both Belfast International and Belfast City Airports. Enjoyed a short tour of this stunning property upon arrival by our friendly hosts Philip & Gillian.
The manager Tim was also available on hand to assist with any guest requests.
The guest house was welcoming ,warm and homely and offers every possible amenity to cater for visitors needs. Rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious and comfortable, providing a quiet haven to relax and chill out after a busy day. Free wifi in the rooms and tea & coffee making facilities on hand. The bathroom was also surprisingly spacious with ample hot water and amenities.Enjoyed breakfast the next morning which was lovely - my only regret was not being able to stay longer on this visit - however I plan to definitely return again soon.
Please check it out and see for yourself ... you will not be disappointed !!
Excellent room rates for this property on booking.com
Thank-you once again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007stevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed back in April 2013 for one night on business. No issues or problems, room was big and clean. I dont often use guest houses, mostly travel on business so tend to go for hotels, however i found that in this part of the world there where no hotels close by, so myself and a colleague opted for this guest house. It had everything we needed and the staff were great and very friendly, the breakfast was super, i had scrambled egg with toasted wheaten bread which was delicious and much better than many hotels self service rubber bacon etc It was just decent freshly cooked good food, good big pot of tea to go with it set me up for the day ahead. My colleague was unfortuatly unwell during the night and still not feeling well the next morning and the girl (sorry i forget your name) showed her concern and offered if there was anything she could do to help etc All in all a good stay and yes i would stay again for sure

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbd_r1de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherlin, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a couple (3 & 2 day visit) of lovely stays at Moira Guest House. They were fantastically accommodating during both visits. Breakfast was amazing every day and the rooms, especially the bathrooms are the best we encountered during our 15 days in all of Ireland. Thank you to Tim, Lisa & the crew for such an amazing time in Moira. It was a great central location to where we visited friends and shopping in near by Lurgan, Belfast, Magherlin and Craigavon. Take care and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinna1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I visit Northern Ireland to work on a regular basis, and have stayed at many hotels etc in and around Belfast, I recently had the pleasure of staying in Moira, whilst working in the area. I was advised to use the Moira guest house, What a wonderful experience in fine hospitality, great comfortable rooms, superb friendly helpful staff, lovely food, and a superb Town to stay in. Tim the manager should be commended on his natural ability to make you feel welcome, and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area. Thank you.

Room Tip: All superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

10 of us stayed here for 3 nights for a friends wedding. The rooms were all very well maintained plus everyday our teas, coffee and treats of chocolate were replenished.

Breakfast was very tasty and just cooked to how you like it. Thank you for my peppermint tea bags, which I have since found out they were out of the owners own stock. I now have these best ever tasting peppermint teabags for myself.

We did not get a chance to say goodbye and thank you to Tim, but thank you for putting up with our breakfast demands and helping us out when we asked you, ie cabs, train times. (Room 1)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karonlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I left our kids with the grandparents and flew over to Belfast City Airport for a friends' wedding in nearby Moira. It's only 20-25 minutes and £25 in a taxi from the airport and the village itself has everything you'd need - 2 pubs, several restaurants, train station (15 minute walk- 30 mins into Belfast City) - The guest house is right in the middle of the action and next door but 1 to one of the pubs. The service was with a smile; the rooms large, comfortable and modern. The breakfast was good traditional Irish fry up with local good quality ingredients. There were several lower fat choices including poached /scrambled eggs on toast ; in fact I think they would have accommodated any requests they are that helpful and friendly. The rooms are kitted out with TV/DVD, usual toiletries and there's a good selection of books , mags and tourist info to read in reception and on the stairwells. There is also a nice little lounge to shelter from the elements and watch tv, make yourself at home whatever.
Thanks to everybody there who made this a very pleasant home from home (without the cooking, washing and clearing up)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moira
1.8 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
216 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lismaine Cottage
Lismaine Cottage
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
15 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lisnacurran Country House B&B
3.0 mi away
The Vandees Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moira Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moira Guest House

Property: Moira Guest House
Address: 65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moira Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished Georgian Property is in the heart of the historic village of Moira, Lisburn and is within walking distance of restaurants, boutique shops and award winning bars. 10 excellent En suite rooms with Powerful showers, Free Wi-Fi and a breakfast to remember..Moira Village is an excellent base to explore Northern Ireland and is just 15 minutes from Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Moira Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moira Guest House Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing