We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky find”
Review of The Fat Gherkin

The Fat Gherkin
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Moira
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funky find”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I love the thought that has gone into the decor here - it has a really fresh and modern but friendly vibe. Maybe it's a little hipster, but that's a good thing! There is a great range available on the lunch menu, and the coffee is very good. Friendly staff and a relaxed vibe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“no food at lunchtime!!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Called in for a bite at about 2:30/2:45 to be told there was no sandwiches left. I had wrongly assumed dishes like sandwiches or panninis were made to order and food would be served until near closing time - 5pm on this day. I was offered a tray bake - not what you'd call lunch.

The girl behind the counter was nice enough about it but I got the impression she couldn't be bothered making an effort, so we made a quick exit vowing never to go back.

We have been here before but have recently preferred McCartney's. This most recent experience has confirmed why. If you are willing to plan your day around when the Fat Gherkin says you should eat then feel free but I'd rather go to a place that understands the concept of customer service. No wonder McC's is busy and the Fat G was full of empty non-cleared tables.

My advice .... avoid it and cross the road for better food, better staff and better choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark_NIron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never tire of this little restaurant!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been to The Fat Gherkin on many occasions and decided that we needed to treat ourselves to lunch again here last Wednesday. The staff are very welcoming and cheerful and the food is absolutely brilliant. The Thai Bacon & Potato cakes are fantastic - you get two of them and your choice of salad - I always choose the broccoli and hazelnut salad! Again, the food was delicious! Looking forward to the next visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favourite!!:)”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff, amazing food and excellent atmosphere! This restaurant is flawless whether you're stopping by for lunch or a quick catch up over coffee :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong (UK exPAT)
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A beautiful coffee shop that serves fantastic breakfast, great coffee and superb staff.

It has a great buzz, tasteful decor and wonderful menu !

Simply Perfect ..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Gherkin also viewed

 
Moira, County Down
Moira, County Down
 

Been to The Fat Gherkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing