We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fakkelgaarden - a hotel worth to remember.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fakkelgaarden
Ranked #1 of 2 Krusaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fakkelgaarden - a hotel worth to remember.”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Fakkelgaarden is a small hotel - 26 rooms only. Located on the border to Germany on the brinks of the Flensborg Fjord. The rooms are all of a high standard with tasteful interior and the most with a fantastic view to the Fjord. Plan to stay there, ask for room 112 - you'll not be disappointed. The lounges are very cosy. In the summertime you can sit outside enjoying the views and maybe a cold beer.
Being located in the country side, you are obliged to dine at the hotel. But don't worry, the cousine is very close to a Michelin star. The breakfast is served at your table, like the dinner, it's really good.
There is no room service, and if you need a work out or swim, you have to take your car to their sister hotel in Germany. It's a 15 minutes drive. But why not take advantage of the possibilities just outside the hotel. Either swim in the Fjord, or take a walk on the "gendarmer path" along the Fjord 30 + kilometers.
No need to say that the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only negative comment is the price for wine and spirits - it's much too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for room 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
71
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Fakkelgården didn't quite deliver. The service is excellent - very, very friendly and welcoming staff, the hotel itself is beautiful, but all in all we were slightly dissapointed. Our room was OK in size but had a sloped wall which caused banging of heads and shoulders and - for my husband - something even more enervating: when using the facilities (standing) he had to bend his upper body backwards. This resulted in him yelling "I can't see where I'm bloody aiming!" and no, he couldn't. He's 6"1'.
Dinner, which was included, was very good, but honestly it wasn't what you'd expect from a 'gourmet dinner'. Another dissapointing moment was my husband leaving the table feeling still slighty hungry, after a four course meal mind you. Same thing during breakfast, also included - served at the table. The quality was very good indeed, but the main serving (yoghurt being the first) was limited to a few peices of charcuterie and cheese nibbles, two quayle eggs with miniature sausages and the worlds tiniest rasher of bacon. Again my husband left the table feeling slightly hungry.
Both me and my husband had been looking forward to experiencing Fakkelgården, as it has been highly recommended to us by a friend, but alas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Lovely locations - nice view of Flensborg Fjord.
Good and clean room (not to small)
Good service

My wife and ate a 4-course gourmet menu, which consisted of:

Shrimps from Rømø with white asparagus and salad
Baked cod with mushrooms, peas and sauce
Fillet of veal with vegetables
Rhubarb with liquorice

The scrimps was really good, the cod a bit cooked to much - otherwise nice taste, Fillet of veal was ok and we didn't like the combination of rhubarb with liquorice.

Good breakfast.

To sum up:
The hotel gets 5 bullets. The restaurant between 3 and 4 bullets. Ergo: 4 bullets for Fakkelgaarden.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentofte, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

On our way back from Flensburg we stopped for a late lunch, even though we arrived 5 minutes before they stop serving lunch, we were greeted and treated very well. They were in no hurry or rush, and served a very well prepared 3 course lunch. Breathtaking view and one of the best days of weather we had had this year.

Followed by tea and coffee by the fireplace, with home made chocolates.

Oh yes the liquorice they sell in the reception is unbelievable good, sweet liquorice with white chocolate and passion fruit powder around it. It’s a must try too

Will love to come back when in that part of Denmark, and I will definitely give this place my warmest recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

A steep decline to the beachfront through a quiet grove of huge trees is well worth a short hike after check-in and before going to dinner. Maybe a great start on the morning sundrenched day-after staying there too, but didn't try that. Classic and romantic furniture in the room with modern touches of marble. Do eat dinner there because the restaurant is excellent.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the harbor, ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedste02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greve
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is indeed a hidden treasure for food lovers! I am pretty sure that you can’t find a restaurant in a 50 miles radius that serves so delicious meals in so perfect surroundings; the buildings dates back to the 1930’s and have unrestricted views over the Flensburg fiord.
The 6 course meal we got was perfect assembled with ingredients from local producers, and the dessert couldn’t be better! It was a traditional Danish “Rødgrød med fløde” (stewed fruit with cream) with delicious crunch and liquorice.
Go for the wine pairing (Vinmenu) and enjoy the small stories from the young sommelier; incredible knowledge and passion this young guy has. It seems like he know his guests and when to add a little more to the story and when to stop and leave the guest alone to enjoy their wine (and food).
And a good little special “feature” if you’re going with someone that doesn’t drink alcohol; Fakkelgaarden has develop a “juice” pairing menu. We didn’t try that (the rooms where offered at a very reasonable price) but it seems like a good non-alcoholic alternative!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed there for one night, with a spectacular dinner in the restaurant. The food was really good and especially the wine-menu complemented the food perfect. Noted that they offered a non-alcohol drinking menu for customers preffering this - cool!
The cheese and dessert was also very nice, but what really impressed me was that we could select which coffee beans we individually preffered. Really a nice feature!
Unfortunately we were not that hungry at the breakfast. They serve everything at your table, and only fresh food. After breakfast we drove to another hotel where we free could use their wellness-area, as a part of our stay in Fakkelgaarden.
We will definately come back for more :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krusaa
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Des Nordens
4.0 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#1 of 26 in Flensburg
185 reviews
4.7 mi away
Benniksgaard Hotel
Benniksgaard Hotel
#1 of 10 in Soenderborg
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 5 in Aabenraa
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
#2 of 6 in Glucksburg
280 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hafen Flensburg GmbH
Hotel Hafen Flensburg GmbH
#2 of 26 in Flensburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fakkelgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fakkelgaarden

Property: Hotel Fakkelgaarden
Address: Fjordvejen 44, Krusaa, Aabenraa 6340, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Aabenraa > Krusaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Krusaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fakkelgaarden 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fakkelgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing