We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with friends”
Review of Wheelers Cottage

Wheelers Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alderholt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheelers Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Alderholt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our fourth stay with Sarah and Roy and as usual the welcome we had was outstanding.11 staying was a large nos for breakfast but it was as usual excellent nothing is too much trouble wheelers cottage is totally faultless the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in and we can't wait to go back thank you Roy and Sarah

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed just one night at Wheelers Cottage and really enjoyed it. We were welcomed with home made cakes and coffee and shown to our beautifully decorated room which was spotless with a really comfortable bed. In the morning we had one of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Home made bread straight from the over. Home made jams and marmalade, starter of fruit, Greek yoghurt and honey followed by a superb full English made with home grown and locally sourced ingredients. All in all it was Excellent and we will definately return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v8disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I stayed in this beautiful cottage for 1 night in July. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a combination of delicious home-made food by the owners. Hospitality was excellent. I will definitely visit again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We make frequent trips to Hampshire; we live in the West Of Scotland and have family in various parts of Hampshire, so need several "homes from home" to be close to particular branches. One branch is in Fordingbridge, so we looked for somewhere less than 10 minutes away and lucked into this little gem. It's a lovely place with small, but perfectly formed, rooms featuring all the en-suite facilities you expect. The heart-shaped, clearly home-made biscuits on the tea tray alerted us to the quality of the food which lived up to that promise...and some!

Fresh eggs from their own hens and excellent local bacon and sausages are finished off by Sarah's extraordinary baking. Every morning a fresh surprise of warm, freshly-baked cakes, muffins and loaves.

We'll be back, we hope, many times!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The best b&b ive ever stayed at, dont think you could beat it. When we arrived we were greeted with coffee and homemade scones and jam, what a welcome! Lovely room spotlessly clean, even provided with homemade ginger biscuits. In the morning we had the most fantastic breakfast with eggs fresh from the hens in the garden, along with smoothie fresh poppy seed bread and welsh cakes. Great location not far from Fordingbridge which has a variety of shops and a great pub with reasonably priced good food. Will definitely be returning to this great b&b and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent 5 nights at Wheelers Cottage and wished we could have stayed for longer. Can completely understand how Roy and Sarah have won awards for their breakfasts - they can provide you with anything and everything. The room was immaculate, the bathroom spotless and the hospitality faultless. Located in a picture perfect village with a field of cows as neighbours, Wheelers Cottage provided us with a perfect base for a relaxing week in the New Forest. Thoroughly recommend Wheelers Cottage and hope to return again if we're in the area. One word of warning...be prepared to gain a few pounds whilst you're staying here - the breads, cakes and breakfasts are out of this world!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at this wonderful B&B. We first stayed at Wheeler's Cottage in June 2011, two months after Sarah and Roy had opened. We were so impressed that first visit, that as soon as I had the dates for a family wedding in this area, I knew exactly where we would stay. And we were not disappointed.
From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with a cream tea, the homemade biscuits which appeared in the room every day, breakfasts with homemade bread, conserves, cakes. And this morning rhubarb fool made with rhubarb fresh from the garden. This is truly an exceptional B&B, where everything is done to make your stay special.
As our wedding anniversary was the day after the wedding which we were attending, we decided to stay an extra night, and having told Sarah this on the phone, we were amazed and delighted to find that Sarah had made us an anniversary cake. What a lovely personal touch.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are comfortable, with good en-suites and lovely soft towels.
Being on the edge of Alderholt, the breakfast room has a lovely view overlooking a field with donkeys, but it is also very close to Fordingbridge where there are several places to eat. There is so much to see and do in the area, with the New Forest, the cathedral city of Salisbury, and the lovely beaches of Dorset to mention just a few.
Having family in the area means we have a good excuse to return again before too long.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wheelers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelers Cottage

Address: Wheelers Cottage Sandleheath Road, Alderholt SP6 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Alderholt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alderholt
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheelers Cottage is a fully refurbished cottage (4 star silver award Apr 2011) situated just outside the village of Alderholt. Perfect for exploring the New Forest and Dorset countryside. The cottage is also ideal for those wanting the big cities of Bournemouth, Salisbury and Southampton which are all close. Breakfast is the start of your day so why not enjoy our award winning menu all freshly prepared for you by the chef using produce from our garden including eggs from the girls, all other ingredients are sourced locally and are organic where possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing