We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay”
Review of Bananas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bananas Apartments
Califorinia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

What a great place!

We stayed at Banana’s in May 2013.
After a 50 minute ( scenic drive aka got lost) drive from the airport in our much needed rental car we arrived at Banana’s, Pleasantly surprised by the location. We got out of the car and walked through the gate where we were welcomed by Tien (Tineke the owner).
She showed us our apartment and told us immediately where to go for the better beaches and the best food in town and where to shop for groceries (Super Foods by the low rise beaches). The apartment is clean and bigger than we anticipated. A/C in the bedroom. Our little patio was steps away from the pool. A little kitchen with all that you need. The cleaning lady will do your dishes every day, along with a good cleaning of the apartment. A table to dine or play cards outside of every unit. The pool is not huge but very nice to cool off because the temperature is hot and humid. The wind is your friend, except if you have short dresses. Around the pool an extravaganza of flora and fauna with nice furniture with big wooden umbrellas to get some shade. The beaches are minutes away from Banana’s. The better beaches were Catalina Beach (by car 40 seconds) and Arasi beach (1 min 35). Both beaches are Great for snorkeling and scuba diving or just to relax on the white sand. A local will rent you beach chairs for $5.00 per chair.
To avoid getting lost from the airport, get directions to the California Lighthouse. It is about 3 minutes before the Lighthouse.
After all it was a great stay at Banana’s, We already booked for next year!!!

Some important points:
Island time ;)
Rent a Jeep or you will have to pay for ATV /excursion to the Natural pools etc, otherwise car is fine.
Get good sunscreen (50+)and use it.
Get mosquito repellent , even during the day, but not necessary at the beach.
Don’t over pack , really do not over pack! (Bathing suits, hat, shorts, tank top, flip flops etc)
Get a good quality snorkel set.
On your return, make sure you do have 3 hours at the airport, as that is where you go through US customs (for US bound travelers).
Menno Hoek

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlipjeCaliforinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in may 2013 for a total of 23 days as a third vacation in Aruba. First of all I would like to say that these apartments are spacious, clean, fully equiped and perfectly located! The family that runs these apartments are the most hospitable persons I have met in Aruba during the vacations and the uear that I have lived on the island myself.

I have worked in the Holiday Inn for a year, stayed in the Riu and Occidental before and in none of these hotels you will get the service that I have encountered over here. After our first car was broken down they picked us up to bring us back home, they lent us stuff that otherwise would have cost us hunderds of dollars to buy, they even lent us their second car after our rental car (Royal Car rental) was stolen by the car rental company itself (to sue us for the new price of the car)!!! This service is unknown for any of the other apartment businesses in Aruba and if I could give them 6 stars or more I would.

The prices are low especially compared to for example gold coast villas, quality apartments or the hotels. The location is perfect with only five minutes walking distance to the beach, and still have the amazing quiet evenings located in front of Tierra del Sol. And the apartments themselves (we had size B) are very spacious with your own fully equiped kitchen, living area and porch also fully equiped. You will have a king size bed with proper A/C and a community pool (shared with the other in total 4 apartments) with jacuzzi and hammock to relax!

If you are Dutch, like we are then you should also visit their ice cream salon in Uden (Noord-Brabant) with over 36 flavors of homemade ice creams and true hospitable service.

To summarize; you will have everything you will need or even wish during your vacation here for a low price with excellent service! Try to make your reservation in advance, because of this service they have a good occupancy the whole year long!! Dont forget to rent a car to ensure maximum comfort on the island, however never rent at Royal car rental!

We wish you good luck and keep up the awesome service, we will be back for sure!

Topa & Ayo Boudewijn and Josien

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Seffutsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This place has something for everyone: quiet pools, beautiful landscape, pets for children. Best location, only a 3min drive to stunning Arashi Beach. If stopping to buy groceries on the way from the airport, get dish soap and matches - as the units are equipped with gas stoves. (I wish I knew this from previous reviews, as it would have saved us a trip to the supermarket the next day, or to knock on the owner’s door during dinner time). What makes this place unique are the hosts – best customer service ever. We could pay the whole amount upon arrival without going through the hassle of international bank transfers and even had a room with shower at our disposal the day of departure after vacating our apartment. A car is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlbaIulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I just love love love this place!!!!!! Everyone is so amazingly nice. I would recommend this place to everyone!!! Aruba is such an amazing island and I will continue to stay here everytime I go. I am in such awe of how nice and relaxing this place is. The pool is my favorite part. I love to go swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galien, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very happy that we stayed here, very nice apartment, beautiful pool and relaxation areas, you will not be disappointed with a vacation stay here. I have been home about a month and already thinking about rebooking for next year, and this will be my choice for my sixth Aruba vacation. Have traveled most of the Caribbean and Aruba is the best. Great weather, friendly people, and safe environment. Very happy with the accommodations, location, and a fair price.

Room Tip: Pool side apartment was great. Had outdoor table, chairs, and two loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemer49113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have stayed at Bananas all our visits to Aruba. Nearly 10 years later, we will return again next month. The family that owns and maintains this property have always been helpful, and welcoming. Apartments are clean and offer all that is needed for a great stay. The property offers 2 pools, much appreciated quiet from the noise of hotels, and time shares, and a beautiful setting. The location is near beautiful beaches, and a short distance from restaurants, casinos, and shopping. What more can you ask for? It is paradise....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyFamily625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just came back from perfect vacation in Aruba at Bananas apartments - relaxed, quiet and close to perfect snorkeling beaches - far enough away from high rise busy hotel areas for those of us who prefer quieter beaches and evenings. Reasonably priced for Aruba -very clean rooms, simple furnishings and lovely gardens with two pools.
Great snorkeling at Boca Catalina a few blocks away.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanne0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmok Beach
3.7 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aruba Beach Villas
Aruba Beach Villas
#1 of 1 in Malmok Beach
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
#1 of 6 in Malmok Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Apartments
La Dolce Vita Apartments
#3 of 6 in Malmok Beach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananas Apartments

Property: Bananas Apartments
Address: Malmokweg 19, Malmok Beach, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Malmok Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Malmok Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bananas is located in a friendly and quiet aria, with a pool surrounded by a tropical garden in the area of malmok beach, close to Boca Catalina and Arashi beach, perfect places to snorkel and relax on the beach..We hope to see you soon at BANANAS apartments, ARUBA (one happy island).Your host's ; Ton and Angelique, Peter and Tineke ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bananas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananas Apartments Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bananas Apartments Aruba/Malmok Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing