We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
huge duckdown sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
61 reviews
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
huge duckdown sofa
to the side of the cottage is the green on Primrose Hill, a great place to sit and watch the world
the view down towards Danby
from the hill looking down into the village
perfect walks on the doorstep
the beautiful landscape
not far to the pub
the power shower....bliss after a days walking on the moors
well stocked kitchen with all you should need to cook up any meal.
ready for christmas
the mallyan spout, a must to walk and see
Goathland and a ride on the steam trains
love at the Nest
photos courtesy of a guest whom was lucky enough to go when it snowed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castleton, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bex1301
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic little cottage. Small but very cosy and tastefully decorated. Castleton is a lovely little village with everything you need during your stay (pub, shop, tearooms).it's a short drive to Whitby which we love and also goathland (heartbeat country). Its definitely worth doing the waterfall walk (malyan spout) at goathland. Great cottage and surroundings. Would definitely visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cactus_tr...
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I had a lovely stay in this cute cottage, I picked this particular one as it was very dog friendly and we had some lovely walks along the moors, the scenery is breath taking. The cottage it's self was very clean and well equipped and nicely located, I would happily recommend.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangle20...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy mid-week escape for a busy couple”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

With just a couple of days to spare to recharge our batteries after a busy Christmas and New Year, we chose The Nest for a relaxing escape. It ticked all the boxes for us! Comfy, cosy and near to the most breathtaking scenery for bracing walks and a seaside to truly blow the cobwebs away! The friendly pub opposite and warm tearoom were very welcome. We loved all the pretty decorative touches and comfortable furniture, the cottage is very well equipped with everything you need and there is also a smart modern en-suite shower room which is a luxury in such a character cottage where most bathrooms are on the ground floor. Thoughtful details such as classic quality bicycles and a hamper are lovely touches that add to the whole experience. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and characterful cottage
Liked least: Its a long drive from here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah J
Felmersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply delightful”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Nest for a couple of much needed nights away. We run a pub so after a busy Christmas and New Year we wanted to snuggle up and have a good rest. The Nest was perfect for this; we had everything we needed and felt at home straight away.

The décor is tasteful and in-keeping with the age of the cottage, with all the furnishings and kitchen equipment of a good quality.

We would definitely like to return for a little longer to properly explore the Moors and surrounding villages. I would not hesitate in recommending this cottage to any couple wanting a cosy break in the North York Moors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: That we didn't get to stay longer :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andyboy4
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Break Away”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this Lovely little cottage for a few days recently, it is very well equipped with everything you need to make your stay relaxing.
We enjoyed using the vintage bikes to explore the surrounding area and the picnic basket was a nice touch to have a hot bovril on the moors on a blustery day. Be warned you need to be of reasonable fitness to tackle the moors on a bike, we found out we are not so fit!!!
The pub across the road Downe Arms, is great for a real ale but the food does need some improvement however I will cover this under a separate review.
The place to eat in castleton is the Eskdale Inn at the bottom of the hill very good food.
The cottage is located very centrally for the area with lots to see and do, it is also located within yards of the co op shop, post office, gallery and hair dressers.
Would I return? Without a doubt my only regret is we didn't stay long enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara K
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect bolt hole!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay here at this cosy, snug cottage. The cottage is very clean and fully equipped with everything we needed. Really comfortable bed, great value for money - would recommend without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scuthorpe
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character within the cottage & Great price.
Liked least: The mattress - I don't get along with memory foam!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing