We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just for me and my dog”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest. The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
66 reviews
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
The compact but well equipped kitchen area.
A nice cup of tea in the morning, or even a coffee is just what is needed on holiday.
Glass of wine or beer watching the world go by. The sun is always outside the Nest
Our huge duckdown sofa, perfect for two people to stretch out after a day on the moors.
to the side of the cottage is the green on Primrose Hill, a great place to sit and watch the world
the view down towards Danby
from the hill looking down into the village
perfect walks on the doorstep
the beautiful landscape
not far to the pub
the power shower....bliss after a days walking on the moors. Perfect for two.
the mallyan spout, a must to walk and see
Goathland and a ride on the steam trains
love at the Nest
photos courtesy of a guest whom was lucky enough to go when it snowed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castleton, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HelenH191...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just for me and my dog”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely place. I visited with my dog. First holiday I taken by myself in 15 years. I couldn't of asked for a better place to stay. Was clean and tidy. Go up just a few doors up the road so I can get my logs for the wood burner and all essentials. Excellent location for visiting all of the North Yorkshire moors, Whitby, and all the lovely historical sites. My dog loved it!!! His first holiday by the seaside and I couldn't have asked for a better location. Annette phoned me after a couple of days to check all was ok and we had a lovely chat where she recommended some more hidden places to visit. All in all, a most wonderful break at a very pretty and comfortable little cottage. Can't recommend it highly enough and I will definitely be returning xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayleyab
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab cottage in the Yorkshire moors”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely few days at the nest, Castleton is a great location for exploring the moors and beaches! The cottage was cosy, spotless with everything you might need, and right across the road from the pub! Annette the owner generously put the cottage up for auction on a animal charity website, which made it even more amazing - helping a great charity and a holiday! Thanks Annette!
We particularly enjoyed Runswick Bay and the walk from Grosmont to Goathland, followed by a cosy night in the beautiful cottage. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy Yorkshire at its best with some fab home comforts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Having read the glowing reviews we were really excited and looking forward to our stay. The Nest exceeded all our expectations and we enjoyed our week more than any other holiday weve ever had. It was like a home from home and its like being in another world of total peace and relaxation; away from all the stress of daily life. At the end of our holiday we didnt want to leave! The nest itself is quaint and charming with the biggest, most inviting and cosy couch weve ever had the pleasure to relax on. The shower is marvellous after a long day spent walking and exploring the local villages with our dog, who is warmly welcomed in the nearby villages with their relaxing tearooms. He is also made welcome in the pubs and especially liked the Downe Arms with its roaring fire, guest beers and very varied menu and which is just across the road. We didnt have to bother with a coat! And that bed! What all the other reviewers have written is true. Its the warmest, comfiest bed ever but youll just have to visit the Nest yourself to really appreciate it because words arent enough. Annette made sure we had everything we needed and is the perfect host. Were going to book up again just as soon as we know when weve got another free week and to be quite frank dont see ourselves having our annual holiday anywhere else. Eleven out of ten!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
I am so glad you had such a lovely time, also that you love our Nest so much, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine F
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As near perfect as you can get”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Always been abroad for our holidays. Tried a stay at this lovely cottage and now I am converted. The cottage was lovely everything we could want in a holiday. Bed was amazingly comfortable. Location is spot on to be central to get out and about. Annette the owner was a pleasure everything I enquired about I got a swift reply.
I am so jealous I could happily live in the cottage with all the furnishings which is my taste.
Trips are easy went to Whitby on the train. Robins Hoods Bay. Staithes. Sandsend. Goathland. I truely had an amazing time and will return and will recommend to all my friends

Please don't hesitate if you look at the review you won't be disappointed just book it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soosysue
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at The Nest. It is small but in a nice way. It really did have everything we needed, which made for a perfect stay, snug and very comfortable. Comfy sofa, comfy bed and the sheets smelt delicious, we slept very well. We cooked most days and found everything we needed in the kitchen. Some very nice touches made the stay feel quite special. There are some amazing walks around Castleton, our dog loved it. Can't recommend it enough, we will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aac_Graha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at the nest for 10 days in april it was everything the owner Annette said it was and more we really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dea2013
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at "The Nest" comfy and cosy. The cottage was very clean had everything you needed and a perfect location to visit many places or if you like walking. Our stay at the cottage was just perfect and we will definitely be returning, will recommend to our friends.Thank you Annette for a super time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing