We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a little gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest. The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
61 reviews
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
The compact but well equipped kitchen area.
A nice cup of tea in the morning, or even a coffee is just what is needed on holiday.
Glass of wine or beer watching the world go by. The sun is always outside the Nest
Our huge duckdown sofa, perfect for two people to stretch out after a day on the moors.
to the side of the cottage is the green on Primrose Hill, a great place to sit and watch the world
the view down towards Danby
from the hill looking down into the village
perfect walks on the doorstep
the beautiful landscape
not far to the pub
the power shower....bliss after a days walking on the moors. Perfect for two.
the mallyan spout, a must to walk and see
Goathland and a ride on the steam trains
love at the Nest
photos courtesy of a guest whom was lucky enough to go when it snowed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castleton, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roy E
1 review
“What a little gem”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Nest in Castleton on the North Yorkshire moors is a perfect retreat for two people. It's warm & cosy & very well equipped. Annette has thought of everything even down to a picnic basket. It's an ideal base to explore the Esk Valley, the moors, & the East Yorkshire coast. Thank you Annette, we'll be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
Thankyou for you're comments. It's lovely to hear you had a lovely time and will return again. In summer the heather is beautiful .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss Jani...
1 review
“Very relaxing and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

After a busy Christmas it was great to get away to some peace and quiet. The cottage was very comfortable and we were able to park right outside.

Our dog loved the cottage too - especially the log burner when she was cold after running around in the snow! We don’t have one at home but may have to reconsider after these few days away.

Although compact there was nothing that we didn’t have available and we even did a bit of cooking, which is unusual for us when on holiday, but the Co-op was so convenient for supplies we could decide at the last minute what we fancied to eat.

Would definitely recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
I'm so glad you had a lovely time. I am very jealous as yet to get to the cottage when it snows. Hope to see you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmylouBe...
bedford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snuggly stay at The Nest”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Arrived late afternoon to find a delightful compact cottage .ideal for two .The sofa was so comfortable we wanted to steal it and the bed was really comfy too . The heating was very efficient and the log burner lovely to snuggle up in front of.There was every thing we needed and a really convenient
co-op very close .We understand that dogs are allowed,you would never know that there has been dogs staying before the place was lovely and clean (the dog treats gave it away )
The cottage is well situated for walkers and car travelers. The North York moors are spectacular and the near by coast well worth a visit . We would love to visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
I am so pleased you love the sofa, it's my favourite too. Hope to see you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed an amazing stay at The Nest! It's small but perfectly formed with everything you need. We enjoyed some fantastic walks around the moors and took the train to Whitby one day (the train station is a ten minute walk from the cottage so great location) and would highly recommend it. In the evenings we lit the fire and read books and took a couple of trips to the nearby pubs - the pub opposite was closed for the most of the stay but the Eskdale was open for food - would also recommend The Duke of Wellington in the next village along. Annette was always on hand for any of our needs so thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
I'm so pleased you had a relaxing stay. I hope to have you return again in the future. Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed you're stay. I hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We escaped to The Nest for a honeymoon break, and what an escape. From the cosy, homely decor to the excellent location - a stone's throw from excellent pubs and easy access to Whitby and the Moors - we couldn't have asked for more.
Annette is a wonderful and attentive host, suggesting some excellent places to eat and activities to enjoy (the Mallyan Spout walk was very memorable and highly recommended). She responded immediately to any queries, not that we had many: the Nest is well equipped and as many more have said before me, like a home from home. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to any couple in need of a few days to clear their heads, stretch their legs and indulge in some Yorkshire pub grub. Missing Annette's beautiful little Nest already xx

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
To hear that you had such a wonderful time is music to my ears as this is what The Nest is all about. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future .congratulations on you're wedding and being the 5th couple to honeymoon at the Nest. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely wee place”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed at the Nest for a week at beginning of September. Loved the cottage, the village and the surrounding moors - perfect for walking the Esk Valley with our dog. We walked in stages using the train to return back to Castleton each day. Annette called to make sure we had settled in okay and to give suggestions for places to go, eating out etc - which was appreciated. Especially enjoyed the Ryedale Folk Museum at Hutton-le-hole and also the section of the walk between Lealholm and Grosmont. The tea room at the old church just across from the cottage is wonderful - friendly service, great views across the valley, spotlessly clean and all this along with a full breakfast for less than £5 ! The cottage is small but well equipped. We cooked and ate in most nights. Only small downside was that the cooker hood fan and light didn't work (causing us to trigger the smoke alarm on a couple of occasions) which we reported to Annette and she thanked us for letting her know and said she would get it sorted. Everything else was ticketyboo. As mentioned by another reviewer, we did look for a vacuum cleaner to try to leave the place close to how found it, but there wasn't one available. All in all, we had a great week, loved the Nest and definitely would like to return again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
I'm so glad you had a lovely time. October is decorate and repair month so hope to have everything spot on for you're next visit .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing