We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal”

Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pennan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Moray, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Just been here for my birthday meal, lovely restaurant, great service and food was fresh and tasty with generous portions. Very good value for money, we had 3 courses with wine for under £55. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I ate here with a friend on Sunday evening, love it there and try to go as often as I can. The menu is small but varied, fish, Thai curry, steaks, and specials. This time we both had a stir fry chicken dish with cashews, crunchy vegetables and fresh herbs, which was delicious and beautifully presented, followed by equally good desserts. It was also excellent value.

The owners and staff are charming and welcoming, the setting is beautiful and the restaurant ambience is relaxing.

The Inn is closed on Mondays, and usually for a couple of months in midwinter, so probably best to book first if you're coming from a distance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxiebaby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent simple food at a amazing price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had heard of this lovely small Inn and finally tried it for the girlfriends birthday.

We had an amazing time.

Lovely quiet table for 2. Attentive waitresses that got the mix right between making sure you have all you need and not getting in the way all the time.

As for the food, well, im still amazed at the final bill. We both had 3 fantastic courses (I had to share her starter it was so big), we both had a drink, and the bill still didnt make £50.

Great atmosphere, great food, good drink selection, excellent staff, and the whole evening was topped off by an amazing sunset as we walked out the door. I couldnt have picked better as the girlfriend thought I was amazing for finding the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitmedden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great food , lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Popped into the Pennan Inn while doing some geocaching in the area and was pleasantly surprised by the service, speed and quality of the food , we both had the haddock and chips and enjoyed every bite,dining room was small but clean and the service was quick and professional, will definitely call back when next in the area

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torkm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed fresh food .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

First time to this small charming wee pub and found it very good . Warm welcome by staff who took us to a nice cosy dining room . Great to find a pub that cooks fresh food , unlike a lot that are just glorified chip shops with a freezer , a tesco salad bag and a microwave . This was fifty times better , everything home made . Even was asked what strength I would like my curry ( which was made to order with fresh chillies ) . Food presentation , service , quality of food all very good . Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samsam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire
Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire
 
Rosehearty, Fraserburgh
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing