We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect way to experience Moorea”
Review of Fenua Mata'i'oa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haapiti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 18 days touring the various islands, and started with 4 days/3 nights on Moorea. When the trip was over, we both felt that Moorea was our absolute favorite. Very laid back - we had a rental car, and spent a lot of our time just driving around and experiencing the island on our own. It didn't hurt at all that we had chosen to stay at Fenua Mata'i'oa. This is an amazing property if you are looking for something different than an overwater bungalow at a chain hotel (which we did later, in Bora Bora, to have that experience, too.)

We stayed in the Princess Lokelani suite, and it was absolutely lovely. Opened onto a private deck, and was very secluded, which was important to us. The furnishings are phenomenal - not only in the rooms, but also throughout the property and even through the gardens and deck areas. Everywhere you look there is something new and unique to see. Eileen was once a designer and collector, and her personal eclectic style is really right on the mark. We felt so 'at home' in this space immediately.

We arrived in Papeete on an early morning flight, so it was still only 9 am when we got to the hotel. We were able to check right in (thank goodness), and then Eileen whipped up a fantastic continental breakfast for us on the spot. We actually loved having breakfast there every morning - we had a beautiful little table in an alcove looking out over the water, and the amount of food was more than we could ever have eaten! We had dinner there one night as well, and the food was amazing. I don't eat seafood or duck, and Eileen was super helpful in whipping up a ginger chicken dish that was out of this world. We definitely never went hungry, and the setting was very romantic.

All in all, I highly recommend this property. It's a little farther from the dock than the major hotels (which is a huge bonus as far as we were concerned), so I also suggest renting a car so you can come and go as you please and explore the island. If you even want to leave, that is...

Room Tip: The Princess Lokelani Suite was very private, had its own deck, and a stunning private garden to wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank copperrosemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

On our previous stay in Moorea, we stayed at the Hilton in an overwater bungalow which was fabulous but this time we wanted to try something a little different than a large resort. After seeing the great reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided on Fenua Mataioa and we certainly weren't disappointed. We arrived on an early morning flight from LAX and took a taxi right to the ferry port. Eileen from Fenua Mataioa had already sent me the ferry times and we were supposed to have a driver pick us up at the ferry port in Moorea. Just a side note----all of the taxi drivers in Tahiti and Moorea want XPF....not dollars. Thankfully, we had gotten them at the airport. Upon our arrival in Moorea, we were unable to locate the driver so I called Eileen to find out what had happened. Evidently, there had been some type of problem and he wasn't there to pick us up. So we opted for a taxi which turned out very well as the driver was from a very old Moorea family which had come from Switzerland. We really enjoyed hearing about the history of the island. We stayed in a Junior Suite (Reva) and we loved it. It had a beautiful front porch and the room itself was beautifully furnished. There was plenty of room for us including a nice big bathroom and shower. At the time we were there, we were the only guests so we had the place to ourselves. I was a little worried about mosquitoes as there were warnings at the airport about dengue fever but I didn't see any even when we were on the porch of our room. Just a note about the cats....I am allergic to cats and at first, they came around trying to make friends with us but we ignored them and they went away. I didn't have any allergic reaction to them as they stayed outside. Also wanted to comment that our safe worked just fine and we felt very secure on the property. The first morning, we asked to have breakfast served and we were blown away when we saw our table which had been set with beautiful flowers in the gardens overlooking the water. It really was amazing. We also had dinner a couple of times and the first night was particularly enchanting as there was a full moon and our table was set on the deck on the side where we could see the moon. There was lovely Tahitian music playing softly in the background which added to the romantic ambiance. There were quite a few chaise lounges on the deck by the water along with umbrellas for shade. We used the kayak a couple of times to paddle out to the motus (islands) for some snorkeling. We were also able to take a nice long kayak ride to the bay where the cruise ships drop anchor. Although the snorkeling right in front of the dock wasn't good, we just swam across the canal next to the hotel and there was a reef with many beautiful fish. Although we had brought our own snorkeling gear, there was gear at the hotel for the guests to use. Each day we took walks along the road for a few miles in each direction. There is a little store at the corner of the hotel road and the main road where we were able to buy water and snacks. There is a shopping center with quite a few shops if you turn right when you come from the hotel to the main road. We totally loved our stay at Fenua Mataioa and would highly recommend it.....it's truly a little slice of heaven!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It is casual & romantic luxury.

The environment is private and privileged. Given the fact that French Polynesia is in the tropical zone, the landscape of this property stayed as natural as possible. From the local plants and trees, even the flowers and fruits come from its garden.

The interior design is understated and elegant, yet comfortable. As you enter the living room/seating area, you'll be amazed of the beauty of using traditional materials. It is open and bright. The living space is surrounded by garden and pontoon.

We stayed in Princess Lokelani. At the first glance, you'll be drawn into the authentic character of the design of the suite - Lots of wooden elements that characterize a true polynesian lodging. This suite has a terrace with a direct access to the lagoon. Most of the time, we stayed outdoor, lounging on the sun beds enjoying the peaceful and serene atmosphere.

The manner of service is unpretentious, friendly, forward, and empowered. Thanks to Eileen & her staff.

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Choose Princess Lokelani which has the direct access to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillCua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Indescribable!!! Eileen has created a heaven on earth. Now that the 'cutting-edge' resorts are all doing the same thing - she has stayed true to her passion and created her own heaven on earth. The tropical gardens, wooden statues, stone shrines, antiques and collectables, colourful flowers and polynesian lodgings create a haven where you can literally feel yourself changing, calming and slowing to its natural rhythm. Her husband Serge creates the most stunning individualised meals for you, which you can have in total privacy surrounded by a myriad of flowers looking out over the azure lagoon. Fish, duck and deserts better than Paris could provide. It is so private .... it is perfection!!! Thank you Eileen & Serge - we can't wait to come back and see you SOON! We do not want to leave xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Well, as many have said before me, this place is jam-packed in every corner and crevice with BEAUTIFUL objects de art, plants, and flowers. Truly, we really enjoyed our time here overall!!!!! We stayed in the Princess Lokelani room for four nights. It's truly beautiful, and the room charge is reflective of that fact. It (the fee) is also on par with the major resorts (38,000 CFP per night). As such, I feel a higher standard applies here, as opposed to most of the other pensions on the island, which are MUCH cheaper. If you ask for major cash, the AC should cool the room. Ours did not. The room is not very well closed off, and the winds just blow right in between the roof and the walls- BIG gap. The AC is present and working, but does NOT cool the room at all. If that's important to you, take note.

Also, the in-room safe worked, but was very finicky. My significant other had to play with it for about 3 minutes, every time we returned to the room, just to gain entry. The safe is not bolted down at all. The doors to the deck are made of thin plexiglass, which is broken almost all the way in half, in at least three places. This contributed to the major hot drafts as well. Also, there is a small garden that separates the actual room, and the bathroom. It is truly gorgeous (both the garden, and the bathroom). The restroom does NOT have an AC unit at all, as it is not attached to the main room. The bathroom was very warm.

The website states that there's a gate at the road that you have to have a code for. It's open all the time; no code needed. Also, the gate to the actual hotel is unlocked 100% of the time. That, along with the previously metioned broken plexiglass in the room, and safe issues, did not make us feel very secure.

The in room wi-fi was down during our stay. Eileen got us onto her personal wi-fi service for a very reasonable fee, but we were not so excited that we were unable to use our laptops/ tablets IN the actual room (ie- we had to go to the main house to get a signal).

Overall, this is a gorgeous property. There are numerous friendly cats around, which we enjoyed, but if you're allergic, beware. The snorkeling directly in front of the hotel is non-existent. No coral at all, just a bunch of sea cucumbers. We parked our car in front, with noone around within 100 ft., and yet there was a dent in the front passenger side fender when we came out the next morning. No clue what/ who caused it. Good thing we purchased the
insurance. I do not believe this is the hotels fault, just a heads up.

We did not eat here, as it was not in our budget (8900 CFP per person, per dinner), and all of the offerings were seafood (I would rather swim with the fishies- just a personal preference). Can't give an opinion on the food. Sorry.

Oh, and we were asked to vacate our room at 9am the day we were scheduled to check-out. Check-out is 11am. We had nowhere to go, and were not even packed up. We had just come to the main house to use the internet. Just thought that was odd is all.........

Beautiful property........ you will like it. Eileen is a beautiful and gracious hostess.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank SH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in the beginning of January.
This place is absolutely amazing. It cannot be described with words, it must be seen. Every single corner- the gardens, the restaurant, the paintings, the rooms carry its own atmosphere. And at the same time all together is in prefect harmony.
But what it makes this hotel really unique are Eileen, Serge and rest of the staff. They actually and truly care about their guests and that makes you feel special, relaxed and part of this paradise. I can write pages and pages about the hotel and the service, but this is not the purpose of this review. I will just advise you to have dinner in the restaurant and you will be amazed. And one more thing – the cocktails are unbelievable. None of the other resorts on Moorea, including Sofitel and Intercontinental and cannot even come near to the taste and the presentation of these cocktails.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank realtime-cheto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our final hotel for 3 nights on our ‘polynesia adventure’ of 14 nights.
In Yorkshire, UK, we have a charming and delightful restaurant that we visit most weekends after an hour drive, and this was the French polynesian version of our most favourite place, we couldn’t believe our luck. We couldn’t stop smiling for at least an hour after we arrived.
Eileen is front of house, with husband, Serge, in charge of the cooking and the food preparation.
We were warmly met on arrival with a beautiful hand made flower crown and necklace along with complimentary cocktail and canapés.
Our room, Princess Lokelani, is a double fronted bungalow. The bedroom (with 4 poster bed complete with drapes) is connected to the bathroom with a garden area complete with rocking chair. The suite has a private terrace with sun loungers and parasol with a beautiful view across the ocean. The bathroom is large, complete with double sinks, corner bath with rainshower over, the most beautiful vanilla scented complimentary hair/shower products. There is a hairdryer and plenty of white fluffy towels, replaced on a daily basis. There is a cable tv, dvd player, mini bar, safe and plenty of wardrobe space.
Décor in the numerous areas of the lounge/bar is amazing, a total treasure trove, with lots and lots of objects d’art. It is clear Eileen and Serge have an extremely artistic flair and the hotel is obviously a labour of love. It is enchanting and charming, a truly romantic place.
Your table for breakfast and dinner is adorned with petals and your food is presented with passion and creative flair, very tasty.
Now and again we had difficulty with communication but certainly Eileen’s command of English was greater than ours of French.
We took the half board option including breakfast and three course dinner. The food was wonderful and Eileen’s home made papaya chutney served with sesame coated tuna was amazing. One of the best dishes on our island hopping trip.
Dinner was usually taken at 7 and we had finished by 8, as the hotel was quiet whilst we were there, six guests at the most. After dinner it was fairly difficult to obtain a cocktail from the bar as the other guests had retired to their rooms for the evening and we often had to look for someone to serve a cocktail. When we did get service we felt we were an inconvenience. We did find that in all four properties visited, other guests had retired for the evening fairly early, and this would not suit everyone.
Would we return? With charming accommodation, beautifully cooked and presented food, why would we not? On our final night we were presented with a glass of champagne and a selection of toiletries from the beautiful island of Moorea.
This hotel is a much better choice than the chain hotels, with personal service and plenty of character.
Well done, Eileen and Serge, and the team for creating something beautiful and magical. A special thank you to Sindy, Mateata and Maheata who looked after us at breakfast and dinner and decorated our table and room beautifully. An extremely romantic place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenuaMoorea, Gérant at Fenua Mata'i'oa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. You were right to note that the bar service in the evening could be later . I think so and I 'll make sure that now the bar will be operational in the evening. But believe me, it was not an inconvenience for us to serve you cocktails in the evening and it really bothers me that you have had this feeling. Anyway, I'll make note to all staff . Your point is interesting and will improve the service. While it is true that in Polynesia, 8 pm is late hour .... we must take into account the fact that our visitors might want to better enjoy their evenings and especially not having the feeling that there is an inconvenient . We are here to serve you and we must to answer all your requests. Thank you again for choosing the Fenua Mata'i'oa for your stay in Moorea. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you and we are pleased to have contributed to the success of your stay in Polynesia. Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haapiti
6.3 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
707 reviews
20.3 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
722 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenua Mata'i'oa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenua Mata'i'oa

Address: Village Tiahura | PK 25.5 C/Mer, Haapiti 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Haapiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haapiti
Price Range: £196 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenua Mata'i'oa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at edge of a turquoise lagoon, in a garden tropical paradise, hotel Fenua Mata'i'oa is an unique place in Polynesia. Luxury and original suites, a fairy tale decor for a dream holiday ..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fenua Mata'i'oa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenua Mata'I'oa Moorea/Haapiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing