We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
daegu, south korea
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon with the insane Living Social deal. We had a private cottage facing the rainforest. The porch had a hammock, couch, chair and bar. It was fantastic. Christian, our guide, took us on a private tour of the rainforest and grounds. When m husband wasn't feeling well, he made some tea for us, then drove us into town to the pharmacy. The food was to die for. Bloody Marys were fresh from the garden. The staff knew I was interested in seeing a sloth, so when there were some in the trees, they came and got me to show me. The insects were minimal, we didn't have any problems with them. Monkeys woke us up and when it rained, (it did everyday), the toucans would hang out on our porch. Insanely great time!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a private cabin. It's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlblank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
More than a resort, Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda is your home away home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    114
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
149
265
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Found this secret hide-away through Living Social and went with another couple. We all had such a great time. Peaceful surroundings, great staff, including the on-site naturalist who took us on a night hike. The restaurant staff were charming and did their best at fulling our every need even with a slight language barrier. Rented a 4x4 (thank gosh) from Vamoos (who were also great) and off we went. Beautiful drive from airport. We went Memorial wknd which is part of their rainy season and even though we did experience some HARD rain, it didn't interfere with any plans.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Lovely words!
We hope to see back really soon, to show what we do the best: Smile and provide the best experience ever!
Thank you a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel with two other couples. We got a little nervous when we first turned off the main road and had to navigate the 2 miles of bumps to get to our hotel. Once we entered the gate the attitude of the group went from hesitance to instant praise for the beauty.

Carol checked us in greeting us with cool towels and fresh fruit drinks. She was so kind and really made us feel like we were entering her home and genuinely concerned that we were comfortable and welcome. Throughout the stay she continued to give us the same level of treatment and even helped us call local businesses to set up reservations for tours.

We spent three nights here and I think all six of us fell in love with the grounds. There are great hikes on the property that take you into a beautiful rain forest setting. They even provide you with free boots to ensure you don't get to muddy.

The food was very good in the restaurant and we especially appreciated the service that Brian provided to us.

I would agree that this is not for the traveler that wants a cold "Chain Hotel" type of experience as it does feel more like a family you are joining. The accommodations are beautiful with wood floors and great wooden furniture, but the bathroom floor is slated to the ground (which we found enjoyable" but might be interesting if you are petrified of bugs.

We have stayed at other much more expensive locations in La Fortuna and this will be the one place we will always come back to!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyBoy32725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
You are absolutely right.
We are not a cold chain hotel. We are your home away home!
Every day our staff give their best in order to get you totally happy, because, if you are happy, we are happier!
Thanks for taking a minute of your precious time to review us.
We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Got a LivingSocial deal to visit Chachagua Hacienda and have been pleased by the entire experience. Grounds are immaculately kept, cute creek runs through the venue, wonderful food. On CR Independence Day, had an amazing meal. Every morning, my husband and I have gone to check on the chickens and hogs. One of the hogs gave birth to piglets while we were here. Have also made friends with the puppies -- we named one of the "bumpy" for his bump on his head.
MUST KNOW: If driving from San Jose, you will travel through the cloud forest. Not sure if this is year round, but at least while we were here the cloud forest gets thick as early as early-mid afternoon. Can be a treacherous drive, even for locals as we saw one flip their car over. Definitely don't recommend driving here at night from SJO. Because our flight is so early we are cutting our stay one night short and moving into Alajuela. Otherwise, great stay.

MUST DO's of the area: Naranjo Coffee Tour, Arenal 1968 hike and Baldi Springs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylmontg703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you very much!
We are far enough of noisy towns just to make sure that our guest will get what they come to see here: nature as it's best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

WOW, a friend of mine told me about the this hotel and boy she was right! Once you find the place (2 miles of very bumpy, back roads) you feel like you reached heaven. It's very lush with tons of flowers and green. You can stay here for a few days and not leave. There are plenty of areas to hike around, goats, ducks, puppies, pigs (which make methane gas that they cook with). You can take a night hike(or day) with the on staff naturalist. We were upgraded to a nicer cabin which was appreciated. Many of the American guests we talked to were very friendly.
Our cabin was nice and spacious. I was worried that we might need ac, but it was fine.
Where else can you take a shower and see tanagers outside your window? The staff overall was fine but felt that they needed someone in the dining room who spoke better English since I have food allergies. You need to get used to the island time for dining. Dinner is served at least 30 min later than posted, so don't show up on time. Also, because we stayed in a slightly slower period, we were served buffets for dinner. Salads were good, desserts not, main courses ok. Early am boxed breakfasts were adequate.

Room Tip: Spend a few more dollars to get a cabin that has a porch and hammock, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Yes, we are HEAVEN.
And you are the angels who make this place so special.
Thank you very much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abq
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

If you want to see the rainforest up close, be surrounded by friendly and knowledgeable people who know the area, have your own delightful cabin, and be centrally located in Costa Rica, this is the place for you. (If you want a Marriott, with a homogenized experience you could get anywhere, go there- but then why go to beautiful Costa Rica?).
You get a great Costa RIcan experience, with all the luxury anyone should ever need. Great food, incredible scenery, great property to wander around. Costa Rica is an outdoors place, and Chachagua Rainforest Hotel let's you enjoy that. The pool fills itself with clear natural water. The grounds tame the Rainforest enough to see what people can do with nature, without destroying it. Yep, the occasional bug will wander by, but any slight inconvenience is more than made up by the immaculate cleanliness the staff provide even in the mud of the rainy season (no air conditioning needed, just turn on the overhead fan over the bed to enjoy a great sleep). If you are picky, and want a classic indoors American experience, you won't get it here- which is what makes the place fabulous. Take day trips, and even overnight trips to other areas of CR- Chachagua is a great "base of operations- and after a few days, feels like coming to one's new Costa Rican home.

Room Tip: Definitely get a bungalow- a great personal experience, having your own place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnknAbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I really wanted to like Chachagua. I read all of the positive reviews, friended them on facebook and took in all of the beautiful photos, and I was certain I wanted to honeymoon at Chachagua. I am a biology major, so I was expecting to enjoy being in the rainforest, while still having comfortable amenities.

The Cons: My first problems were with the cabin (deluxe bungalow). I paid for this upgrade specifically for the use of the jacuzzi tub. The water smelled horrid (nothing I wanted to take a dip in) and the jets were not working. In addition, the shower temperature was impossible to regulate. I reported this to the front desk. The employees are very friendly, but unfortunately that was not enough for me to enjoy my short stay there. They offered to transfer me to another cabin, but this one would not have television (I was informed that they usually do, this one was just broken and would be available as soon as possible). Another problem that I had with the bungalow was no air conditioning.

The temperature was not comfortable at all in August, even at night. The humidity is sticky and unpleasant. In addition, there was an infestation of ants and spiders due to the space between the floorboards in the bathroom. Despite the use of bug repellent, we received many bites. I had a package booked with Chachagua to do all of the sightseeing tours (my main purpose for coming to Costa Rica), so at this point I was still hesitant to terminate my stay.

I thought that I would give the bar and dinner a try, since the pool was in the process of filling up. Yet another "amenity" that I could not enjoy. The bar was out of half of the drinks on the menu, and the drinks my husband and I ordered were not fit for consumption. The bartender was not wearing gloves and scooped the ice out with his hands. Dinner did not start until the cooks were done (which was an hour later than the posted time). After a 4 hour flight and 3 hour drive from the airport I was very hungry, so this was another disappointment for me. No other stores or restaurants are nearby Chachagua so you are at the mercy of their dining options. The dining is all open air (the seating is nice and romantic, but expect to be bothered by bugs). We were given two choices for the dinner included with our package: watery spaghetti or chicken and rice. The chicken and rice was not bad, but we found it difficult to eat with all of the bugs swarming the food which sits out in the open on the buffet line. My husband and I took a few bites, but bugs were swimming in our food, and we had to leave most of our dinner on the plate. At this point I decided to find other accommodations.

I approached the manager and let him know the situation. He was very friendly and apologetic, but explained the tours had already been booked so I could not terminate my stay with any sort of refund, and since it was already so late, I had no choice but to stay that night. Some of the tours were able to be canceled, another was not, but Chachagua arranged for me to take that tour the next morning at 7am. Breakfast was supposed to still be included (to go). I had to remind the staff and walk out to the kitchen to get my breakfast (fresh fruit). The fruit was tasty, but it was not a filling option for a day hike and hotsprings trip (which I did thoroughly enjoy). When I returned, I had transportation booked for a 3 hour drive back to the San Jose Marriott where I finished off my honeymoon stay very pleasantly.

I wound up paying for the one night stay in the deluxe bungalow (despite that I did not even get to use the jacuzzi), two dinner buffets (which I did not eat more than a few bites from one plate), and the tour. This was an expensive mistake and a headache of a start to my honeymoon.

The Pros: Chachagua is a beautiful setting. The creek running through the property is beautiful, the plants and flowers are beautiful, and it was great to take in the scenery. I got to see plenty of birds and lizards, and the place is amazing for taking photographs. The fresh fruit tastes much better than here in the States. The tour they set up went wonderfully-- I definitely recommend the Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs tour. Also, the staff was very nice and helpful.

Overall: I would recommend Chachagua to someone who expects an element of roughing it or if you are looking for an adventure trip, but not if you are looking for upgraded amenities for a honeymoon. The Marriott offered us a great deal to finish out our stay there, including a dining and massage package that kept me from going over my original budget for the trip. I was able to book additional tours through them, so I did at least enjoy the remainder of my honeymoon. I accept partial responsibility for the bad experience (not asking about cancellation policies in advance if I was unhappy with my stay, not asking about air conditioning in the deluxe bungalow, etc), but I wanted to post my experience to just let others know what they are getting into, because I was personally surprised at all of the positive reviews for Chachagua written without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmbrookshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natguide, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to review us.
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel is a serious and respectable company, and it's truly important for us to know and care what our costumers think about the place.
In your case, we offered you all the options available, and they were given to you by our Manager, who explained the Hotel's cancellations policies, and, you were not charged for the whole stay, even when you decided to cancel it at the last moment, when you were already here.
We gave our best in order to satisfy you, but unffortunately, we couldn't get your expectations, since, this is not a city hotel, like the one you have mentioned, and, we are in the middle of the jungle...that's why our name: Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda.
That means, our accomodations are designed to fit people who really want to get an experience in the Rain Forest, and, some bugs, lots of different animal noices, rain, some humidity and sun are part of it.
Every year, hundreds of people from all over the world enjoy the meals at our open-air restaurant, where you can listen and see the birds, or Sloths and even monkeys hanging around once in a while.
Hundreds of satisfied costumers go back home so happy, since they made their dream come true, that is, to be part of an authentic Tropical Forest.
We hope to have you here some day, to show you the best of us!
Again, thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chachagua
1.9 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
244 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
9.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
5.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Property: Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Address: | La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano National Park., Chachagua 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing