We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Room with rainforest view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We loved chachagua!! It is a little off the beaten path (about 15 mins from the center of town) but we loved that it was not as touristy. The rooms (cabins) were lovely but our hot water was not very hot. We went on a rainforest hike with Christian and it was incredible!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katfwhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Very secluded, quite spectacular and lovely. The hotel isn't necessarily the best base for exploring the Arenal region because it is fairly south of La Fortuna and the volcano (and the 2 km rock road from the main road is truly abysmal!) but when you are there, it is truly heavenly. Good restaurant, wonderful nature walks on the property (including toucan and hummingbird sightings) - you really feel like you are away from it all. Yet the bungalows are quite comfortable and fairly luxurious, considering the seclusion. It was a great way to start our vacation to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. If you require all of the latest technology at your fingertips in order to enjoy your stay, this is NOT the hotel for you. On the other hand, if you appreciate incredible landscaping, toucans overhead, and quiet serenity, you will LOVE this hotel. The room (and bath) are huge, and the additional covered porch makes it feel even larger. The pool area is gorgeous, and the onsite restaurant is open-air, making it an especially unique and lovely setting.

The entire staff was warm, friendly, and professional. Anything we needed, it was taken care of within just a few minutes. As an added bonus, this hotel is part of a working ranch, so if you love animals/gardens, you'll be in absolute heaven. While there, we visited baby piglets, chickens, horses, ponds, banana orchards, riverbeds, and even petted the resident farm dog.

Of all the places we visited, this is the one we would absolutely come back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow near the creek/ponds. They offer an unobstructed view of incredible gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

my husband and I are here right now in cabin 203 looking over jungle. So peaceful and beautiful. We haven't had time to explore property yet but will tomorrow. The road in is an adventure on its own! The sounds from the jungle sitting here on porch with a bottle of wine is PERFECT! The resort is not full at all and the cabins on either side if us are empty which only adds to the peace and quite. If you're looking for lots of people to hang out with this is not the place. If you're looking for nature and relaxation it's perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our stay at the Chachagua Rainforest Hotel was amazing. My boyfriend and I visited in November of 2013. As soon as we arrived we noticed it was going to be a pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment of our arrival to the day we left. The hotel is well maintained and beautiful. We stayed in the deluxe bungalow with a jacuzzi and hammock on the porch. The deluxe bungalow also includes a TV which was rarely needed but helpful on those rainy days. Waking up to pure air and the sounds of birds is breathless. The hotel scenic was unforgettable. The best part of our days were going to dinner and chatting with the server name Potoy and cook Nela. They are amazing and humble people. Their service is wonderful and they went that extra mile to make sure we were fully satisfied. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You must stay in the deluxe bungalow!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This resort is off the road, and it is a pretty bad dirt/gravel road to get to - if you get the right road. There is another entrance, that gets you into the forest with some serious off-roading needs, if you take that (which comes up before the 'official' entrance and hence the GPS picks that up).

However, the resort was awesome! Set in the rainforest - you had to drive across a stream to get to your accommodation - that good! There were hiking trails, and wildlife - toucans, iguanas, etc, that visit the property.

The rooms were pretty basic. The bathroom in our quarter was good, but our friends stayed in a room where the bathroom did not have ventilation (Room 401), so you better be very close to who you are staying with! The AC was quite erratic.

The service staff were extremely friendly and helpful. And very patient in answering all our questions. Was really a pleasure.

The restaurant on the premise is nice. Breakfast is included - which was great. But the actual food was ok. Nothing great, not bad either.

Definitely, something we would consider if we ever go back there again.

Room Tip: Room 401 - no ventilation in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Easy_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Definitely spring for a bungalow. They are big and have a great porch. The food was the best! We took a sustainability tour with Christian and he is so passionate about the rainforest and all of its qualities. The staff was very helpful when we arrived with no plans and wanted their help booking everything. They fixed us up with some great activities! Also, we saw the most tropical birds while eating breakfast here. Toucans and other birds make a regular appearance in the mornings. A couple things to know: if you plan to do activities near Arenal Volcano, this hotel is not terribly close. It's about 15-20 minute cab ride. Cabs are $30 (US) each way into La Fortuna. So it will cost $60 to leave the hotel grounds. Also, no fridges in the rooms/bungalows. This wasn't a real problem for us because it wasn't terribly hot during our visit. But on those hot days, it would have been nice to drink a cold beverage on our cool deck instead of at the restaurant/bar.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WendyHoltvluwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chachagua
1.9 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#16 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
252 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
9.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Address: | La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano National Park., Chachagua 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range: £63 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing