We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home.”
Review of Les Trois Chenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Trois Chenes
Ranked #1 of 2 Videix B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 July 2012

What a delight! Lovely hostess, lovely environment, lovely room and delicious food. Originally booked for 3 days and stayed for 5. Pretentious and stuffy it is not.

Barbara's food is good, fresh, home-made fare which we couldn't fault (the price included an aperitif and wine) and her breakfasts really set you up for the day; they're plentiful and include their home produced honey and preserves.

The garden's quiet and filled with birdsong, there are lovely walks and the surrounding area is well worth exploring.

Of all the places we have stayed in on this trip to France, this was by far the nicest and most welcoming. It's hard to write about without being 'gushy', so if going to this beautiful area do yourself a favour and stay at Les Trois Chenes and find out for yourselves.

We'll go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumbrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was a wonderful holiday in a very tranquil setting.Food and accommodation was excellent.
I was fully entertained visiting local chateau, lakes and an archeological site also met many of
Barbara friends.Drawing and Painting classes were very beneficial in a very relaxed setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The top quality care and attention that Barbara and Dursun have previously provided continues.

The only problem with staying at their accommodation is that it will spoil you for staying anywhere else since no where else will come up to scratch!

All this for a very good tariff, excellent value for money!

Completely agree with the previous reviews nothing new to add except "EXCELLENT"!!!.

Room Tip: All rooms have en-suite facilities and are quiet/restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

this is a fabulous place to stay - really peaceful and such a refreshing change , the house is traditional and french. The owners are pleasant and helpful. There are some interesting local attractions such as lakes and a chateau close by

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in Barbara and Dursun's bed and breakfast accommodation for a week and what a lovely time we had. First of all, the location (an area we'd never visited before) is so tranquil and pretty - lush green vegetation, beautiful villages and lots of peace and quiet. I was a bit concerned before our holiday that the children (aged 12 and 14) would be bored - but not at all. There's so much to do in the immediate vicinity...most popular was the horse-riding by Videix lake (great value), kayaking and, of course, swimming in the lake. The children particularly enjoyed their evening swims followed by crepes at the lakeside cafe! There are also many interesting towns to visit - our hosts were full of suggestions and useful information. We loved the busting market we visited (can't remember the name of the town!) and enjoyed looking round Rochechouart and St Junien. We also spent a day at Oradour sur Glane, a highly moving experience for us all - the village was completely destroyed by Nazis and has been preserved as a memorial with a very informative visitor centre.

Room Tip: Ours was a family room - very comfortable with en-suite shower room. We saw some of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Spent 2 weeks as guests in the newly converted gite - which is huge - lovely cool shady rooms, and a shady terrace to eat on. Our hosts Barbara and Dursun live in the house next door, and were friendly and charming. Peaceful location in the countryside, although within easy reach of Limoges (check out the tiny aquarium in the centre of town) and Angouleme ( cartoon museum was a big hit with the kids). nearest town, Rochechouart, has castle, old town, delicious boulangeries, and decent supermarkets. Just up the road are lakes with bathing and children's play area. A truly relaxing holiday!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank texasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We are in the process of renovating our cottage and fortunately found Les Trois Chenes. Located in Videix, ten minutes from Rochechouart, between Limoges (less than 40 minutes from airport) and Angouleme its location was ideal and only surpassed by the quality and value for money we obtained staying in either the chambres d'hotes or even better the gite. Can't wait until we have the opportunity to re-visit assuming there is still availability given word of this peaceful and hospitable haven is spreading fast.

Sue & Keith Johnston

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keithrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Trois Chenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Chenes

Address: Le Bourg, 87600 Videix, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Videix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Videix
Price Range: £60 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our stone farmhouse is situated in the Périgorde-Limousin Natural Park. We have four quiet guest rooms each with private bath or shower and wc and can welcome 11 guests in all. There are gardens, BBQ, animals, swings and private, enclosed parking. Nearby is Saint Junien, the medieval town of Rochechouart with its Castle and centre for modern art, Chassenon's Roman baths, Videix lake, beach, swimming, nautical centre, restaurants, riding stables, and Piegut market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Trois Chenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing