We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Bliss!”
Review of Le Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Camp
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just got back from 11 wonderful nights at Le Camp, rested and very much ready for more glamping! This is the first time that we have camped with our two children (8 and 11) and it was perfect! By the end of day two my 11 year old was already begging for re-assurance that we would book Le Camp for next year's holiday. Please note that my children are discerning and this enthusiastic request was not to be taken lightly!

Where to begin; it was simply just lovely! Magical surroundings, beautiful tents, tasteful eating areas, fun outdoor kitchen, gorgeous pool, a whole host of activities for children to do on the site in a safe environment, great excursions and beautiful villages in the immediate vicinity and above all perfect hosts who assisted in every way possible to make our holiday easy, memorable and thoroughly enjoyable.

Le Camp felt like a little slice of paradise to be enjoyed by everyone, children and adults alike. I loved the fresh air, the simplicity of cooking outside, of enjoying the great outdoors, sipping a glass of lovely wine, buying gorgeous produce at the local markets, swimming in a beautiful natural pool, smelling the wafts of lavender, spotting the amazing wildlife and watching the children run around in a safe environment without a care in the world.

It was truly a magical holiday where the days felt long and lazy and time drifted without a care in the world. We will definitely be back, the only question is how soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickandjen_ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Le Camp is a fantastic and unique place.

This was our fourth visit and we have a young son (aged four), who loves it. The site is surrounded by woodland on all sites, and the tents at the top of the hill have fantastic views. One morning we opened the tent door and there was a deer right outside.

The tents are spacious and extremely well maintained. They are spacious and widely spaced, so there are no problems with noise from neighbours. Washrooms are lovely too - built entirely from timber with a canvas roof, they give a lovely sense of 'indoors outdoors'. Beds are huge and very comfortable.

Owners Sally and Steve work extraordinarily hard to make everyone feel welcome and to make it a great experience.

Kids can easily amuse themselves around the site and there are plenty of things to see nearby including some beautiful towns and villages. The natural swimming pool is lovely and has a great beach area for younger children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nozzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just got back from our fifth week at Le Camp. Our children are now 7 and 10 and we have been coming since my wife found Le Camp on the Internet and said it sounded like a great place to go on holiday. I agreed until I saw the price of the tents and yurts. This is no cheap camping option but that is not the point and it is pretty clear from the moment that you arrive that this is not a campsite. In fact, we have found it's actually great value - our experiences of holidays in France have involved finding gites arriving at them and being disappointed by something or other and then spending a lot of time driving to places to keep the children entertained. As a family we would rather spend a week at Le Camp than two weeks somewhere else.

You could easily spend the entire time swimming in the incredible pool, bouncing on the trampoline, reading, playing badminton, fishing for trout in the stream at the bottom of the hill, contemplating the Milky Way and restrict yourself to a couple of forays to local markets for supplies. There are a heap of excellent things for children to do within 20 minutes drive or so including Kayaking, tree climbing at the French equivalent of Go Ape, caving (both in caves that you pay to have a tour and in ones that you can find in the surrounding hills if you know where to look (ask Stephen).

The accommodation is beautifully looked after, the tents and yurts an adventure in themselves, the showers are open kitchen area are a highlight - especially if you get a few families with children of similar ages.

Sally and Stephen are extraordinary people who have put their lives into creating a wonderful place that is hugely appreciated by everyone who comes to share their dream. The breakfast, as high class a continental breakfast as you could possibly imagine - local sausages, cheese, preserves, croissants and baguettes baked that morning, endless cappuccinos and the limitless patience of the hosts when it comes to booking things and giving advice about what to do, how to get there and the books in the library that they think you will enjoy.

It would be lovely to think that everyone could experience a Le Camp holiday but the reality is that while the location and the campsite are a big part of the package, without the incredible eye for detail and total dedication to making the whole thing work that Sally and Stephen put in, it wouldn't be the same. They remain committed to making Le Camp, small and special.

Room Tip: All the tents are great. Paying more gives you more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LateBookMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Don't think camping in the traditional sense, this place is a level up in comfort and how its all thought out but you still get a great camping experience, one even better than we had hoped.
We spent 3 wonderful nights at Le Camp and my wife and two young boys will be back for sure.
There are so many fantastic chateaux to visit on a drive through France that it's easy to omit an altogether different experience that Le Camp offers in spades. Within 30 mins of arriving after a long drive, our boys were catching tadpoles and swimming excitedly with the frogs in the glorious natural pond where time stands still and a small gathering of young families swim and discuss their plans for the day. There is so much to do within a 20 mins car ride. We went for a gentle yet fun morning kayak trip recommended by the lovely Sally and Stephen in stunning surroundings. Our boys spent endless hours trampolining, playing boules and grazing in the shallow water's edge, the highlight of our 2 week holiday through France. Ending the day with a barbie and toasting marshmallows in the eve was easy with the fab facilities on offer and great fun.
As others have said in reviews, St Antonin really is a glorious place to visit with a fantastic market, excellent outdoor dining and a wonderful French charm.
The massive effort Stephen puts into keeping Le Camp a real paradise yet rustic and natural along with Sally's passion and great personalised service is a testament to how much they love this place. We did too!

Simon, Nikki and 2 v happy boys.

Room Tip: Tent was perfect for us 4 but all accommodation very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simonfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family (wife and 3 boys aged 16,14 and 12) have just had a brilliant week staying at Le Camp.
The site is extremely well set out and everything is of the highest standard. Sally and Stephen are the best hosts I have ever stayed with and nothing is too much trouble. They have fantastic knowledge of the beautiful local region and were able to come up with excellent recommendations of things to do, although the natural pool is so beautiful and there is so much to do for the children on site that you could easily spend a whole week lazing there. There are loads of really nice local restaurants to go out to and we alternated between doing this and having BBQs at the site followed by toasted marshmallows in the expertly laid out fire pits. I would have no hesitation in recommending you stay in their care and make sure Sally tells you about the vineyard – we will be drinking that wine for years to come!

Room Tip: They were all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I booked to stay at Le Camp with my Husband and 2 children (9&2 years) at the beginning of the holidays and did experience a slight concern that there were no recent reviews on TA. I now know why . . . Everyone who finds this place just wants to keep it all to themselves! I was sorely tempted to do the same, but Sally and Steven are so fabulous and Le Camp is so great that they just deserve a review.
Everything about our stay was wonderful, the area is beautiful, there's so much for the children to do, if you can drag them away from the wonderful pool at the campsite and with only 6 tents the children all became really close over the week running free in the safety of Le Camps grounds, chasing chickens, catching tadpoles, toasting marshmallows and perfecting their dives into the pool.
The tents are huge and each set in their own secluded area, super comfy beds with a proper cot for my daughter and it's true about the breakfasts, hot drinks all round, fresh pastries, fruit and bread, boiled eggs, cereals, dried fruit, nuts, yogurts etc and the icing on the cake really is the owners who are so incredibly friendly and helpful - nothing is a trouble at all!

In short, go go go! :-) you'll have a fabulous time!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank hg-lil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at 'Le Camp' for a week in August and our only compliant was we wished we had booked for two! Sally and Stephen are the owners and run the camp-site in a very friendly and relaxed manner. There are only 6 tents (or Yurts) on a site that I believe use to have 45...this means there is plenty of space for each family. Each tent has its own kitchen area which is fully equiped; e.g. fridge, plates, cutlery, dishwasher, washing machine etc...
My children spent most of their time in the pool...it is more like a pond but wonderful nonetheless.
For families wishing to get away and spend some quality time together in a beautiful part of France I really recommed staying at this camp-site. I don't do camping (bit of a snob!!!) but I will definetly be returning to this place.
Many thanks to Sally and Stephen for a memorable weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the bigger Yurts as they have their own toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank s30csm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Camp

Address: Lieu Dit Pech Contal | Arnac, 82330 Varen, Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Saint-Antonin Noble Val > Varen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Varen
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With three safari tents and three yurts, Le Camp is a laid back glampsite with stunning views and a beautiful natural swimming pond. Open from Easter until the end of October, and then again at Christmas and New Year. Having spent over a decade running a luxury tented safari camp in Kenya, the Le Camp team are bringing the spirit of Africa to South West France. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing